We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Singular Patagonia
Nearby Hotels
Natalino Hotel Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(Puerto Natales)(Great Value!)
$80
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Martin Gusinde(Puerto Natales)
$98
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costaustralis(Puerto Natales)
$147
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simple Patagonia Hotel(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Muelle Hotel Boutique(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel HD Natales(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel IF Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Milodon(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
709
64
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
64
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeat packingcold storageprocessing plantamazing hotelhorseback ridingluxury hotelfull board optionindustrial museumunique experienceindoor outdoor poolentire wallpunta arenasboat triphot soupchillicity tourfood and wine
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 790 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although my stay here was unfortunately short, this certainly was a hotel experience that I will never forget. I doubt if there is an traveler in the world that would find this hotel to be anything short of memorable, for many reasons. The old factory is still preserved in a way that defines its history and yet endears it to visitors of the hotel in the most interesting contrast of new and old world. The services are impeccable, the rooms magnificent and the food was the best I had in an entire month-long stay in Chile. I travel most of the year every year and this property would truly be on my top-3 list anywhere for uniqueness.

Still though, I found just a few small reasons to complain a little, and probably the biggest on of these is simply the prevailing darkness about the place. In fact, the hallway was so poorly lit through the old factory to the dining room I at first turned around and went back to ask directions, thinking I must have gotten turned around. There's definitely a few corridors inside that are dim and even a bit spooky, but I've noticed this as a trend in Chilean accommodations and won't harp on it any further. Secondly, I wish they would at least pave the driveway here, even though I don't believe this part of Chile has a single paved driveway.....you'd think it would cut down on the mud in this wet region.

Trust me, I had to really think about reasons to complain though.

Overall guests here are going to get exactly what they pay for and never forget it. It's one of those rare hotels that might leave as much an impression as anything else you do on your trip.

Room Tip: Visit at the end of the season. I recommend March and April especially.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildlandphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your passionatte and positive feedback. We wish you could have stayed longer but of course now there is a good reason to come back! We will be sure to check on the lighting in the corridor leading to the restaurant. Thank you again and safe travels!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Singular Patagonia was the best place we have stayed in a long time. So unique, warm and welcoming from the first minute we stepped onto the property until we sadly left to return to the US. Although expensive, it is definitely worth the money! The restaurant/bar was outstanding - the food was so delicious and the drinks just kept on coming! The day trips offered were terrific and so informative. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Seemed that all of the rooms faced the water - our only complaint was that the windows don't open very far, so at times, it was warm, but other than that, our room was great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol42306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the terrific feedback. We are thrilled to hear you indeed enjoyed a "Singular" experience!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A day's journey south from Santiago via plane and transit van, this one of a kind hotel and location is worth the effort. A ten year renovation programme saw a 19th century brick meat processing factory turned into a design triumph of low level lighting, distressed wood screens and decorative decking, subtle rooms with full wall views over water, hills and the weather rolling up from even more southern Patagonia. service is discrete but friendly. The combined bar/restaurant is comfortable in an old wood, gentleman's club kind of way and the food on offer is a sophisticated take on local, seasonal ingredients. Optional excursions into the neighbouring stunning scenery are easy to arrange. This is a special occasion hotel but the journey of discovery is just the start to the joy if being here. A true delight. Only one drawback - you are isolated 5km out of town...

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Wow - this review sounds like it is straight out of Conde Nast Traveler. Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough analysis of The Singular experience.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, they did an amazing job renovating it. It wasn't very busy when we were there, which may have contributed to some of the service issues we encountered. The excursions were not as good as those you can get at hotels in the park like Tierra Patagonia, due in large part to the fact they are further from the park. That said, the guides we had were excellent and we definitely enjoyed the excursions we took.

Our main issue with the hotel was the service surrounding excursions as well as the selection. The excursions were were most excited about were those to the glacier from the hotel's boats. Yet we were told they weren't running those excursions due to the weather. After doing a days worth of excursions, we were told by the front desk the following day they were running only the same excursions we just did, and that they were too busy the following day to do anyhthing else as they had a lot of new guests checking in. Naturally this upset us since it wasn't really relevant to us and we'd paid full fare to be here. After we pushed back on this they ultimately arranged another trip for us which we loved, but they should have been much more accommodating up front. It also made us very suspicious that the reason they weren't running the boats to the glaciers had much more to do with the number of guests in the hotel than the weather.

The food here was very good, though the menu never changes. Luckily we were there only a few day so that wasn't an issue. They have a lot of very interesting game choices on the menu which were fantastic. The bar and wait staff were very friendly and excellent. The wine and bar selection were top notch.

Our main service issues had to do with the booking of the excursions (and the significant lack of choices in excursions), but not at all with the wait staff or guides, all of whom were excellent.

Perhaps the main issue with The Singular is there are simply much better hotels to launch out of to do excursions, noticeable Tierra Patagonia. If you are landing in Puenta Arenas and driving to the other hotels in the park, then The Singular is definitely worth a stop for a day or two on the way to or from the other hotels to break up the 4 hour drive. However, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here due to the location if your goal is to access the Torres del Paine area.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the rooms appeared the same, and were quite spacious and clean with great views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildcat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Unfortunately, weather plays a huge role in Patagonia. As you likely experienced it can change at the drop of a hat and the winds can and do get very fierce at times. Although disappointing that we cannot always run our Fjord / Glacier navigation, the safety of our guests is of course paramount and when the winds and weather are challenging we don't take any chances. Apologies, If that was not communicated well by the team. At The Singular there are nearly 20 different excursions on offer, several of which are indeed in and around Torres del Paine while some others are on private reserves only accessible by Singular guests. We will be sure to review the process with our management team to ensure if there are any future problems guests are informed correctly.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We landed at Punta Arenas and took a hotel shuttle to the Singular. We were lucky to be seated with the owners of the hotel who were extremely hospitable.
The hotel service, ambience and rooms were simply outstanding. We had rooms on the third (top) floor with a splendid view of the water (called Last Hope, or Esperanza Ultima). The rooms were spacious, well appointed and ultra clean. All the rooms are located in a new building.
Connecting the new building to the hotel restaurants is a wonderful corridor that is a museum with steam engines.
The restaurant has an open concept with gigantic roof to floor windows. It has a huge fireplace in the bar. The menu is fascinating with Patagonian dishes like lamp, beef and Alaskan king crab along with different types of fish. All the meals were delicious, yummy and esthetically pleasing. There is a nice wine menu featuring some really fine Chilean wine. Even the breakfasts are very tasty with crispy croissants, various baked items and savory smoked salmon.
My family and I have traveled to many parts of the world and we have stayed at many 5-star hotels. The Singular in Patagonia is certainly one we would like to return. It is worth every dollar!!
I don't know how they managed to build such a wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere! It is a treat to return to such luxury after a day of hiking or trekking with nature, especially when one could be exposed to some very wild weather in April!

Room Tip: A room on the top floor (third) is an asset. All rooms have a view of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel. It was a long arduous process to create such a special hotel and it makes it all worth it with feedback like that.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews