We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the road to the end of the world...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Singular Patagonia
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A day's journey south from Santiago via plane and transit van, this one of a kind hotel and location is worth the effort. A ten year renovation programme saw a 19th century brick meat processing factory turned into a design triumph of low level lighting, distressed wood screens and decorative decking, subtle rooms with full wall views over water, hills and the weather rolling up from even more southern Patagonia. service is discrete but friendly. The combined bar/restaurant is comfortable in an old wood, gentleman's club kind of way and the food on offer is a sophisticated take on local, seasonal ingredients. Optional excursions into the neighbouring stunning scenery are easy to arrange. This is a special occasion hotel but the journey of discovery is just the start to the joy if being here. A true delight. Only one drawback - you are isolated 5km out of town...

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Wow - this review sounds like it is straight out of Conde Nast Traveler. Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough analysis of The Singular experience.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 688 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, they did an amazing job renovating it. It wasn't very busy when we were there, which may have contributed to some of the service issues we encountered. The excursions were not as good as those you can get at hotels in the park like Tierra Patagonia, due in large part to the fact they are further from the park. That said, the guides we had were excellent and we definitely enjoyed the excursions we took.

Our main issue with the hotel was the service surrounding excursions as well as the selection. The excursions were were most excited about were those to the glacier from the hotel's boats. Yet we were told they weren't running those excursions due to the weather. After doing a days worth of excursions, we were told by the front desk the following day they were running only the same excursions we just did, and that they were too busy the following day to do anyhthing else as they had a lot of new guests checking in. Naturally this upset us since it wasn't really relevant to us and we'd paid full fare to be here. After we pushed back on this they ultimately arranged another trip for us which we loved, but they should have been much more accommodating up front. It also made us very suspicious that the reason they weren't running the boats to the glaciers had much more to do with the number of guests in the hotel than the weather.

The food here was very good, though the menu never changes. Luckily we were there only a few day so that wasn't an issue. They have a lot of very interesting game choices on the menu which were fantastic. The bar and wait staff were very friendly and excellent. The wine and bar selection were top notch.

Our main service issues had to do with the booking of the excursions (and the significant lack of choices in excursions), but not at all with the wait staff or guides, all of whom were excellent.

Perhaps the main issue with The Singular is there are simply much better hotels to launch out of to do excursions, noticeable Tierra Patagonia. If you are landing in Puenta Arenas and driving to the other hotels in the park, then The Singular is definitely worth a stop for a day or two on the way to or from the other hotels to break up the 4 hour drive. However, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here due to the location if your goal is to access the Torres del Paine area.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the rooms appeared the same, and were quite spacious and clean with grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildcat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Unfortunately, weather plays a huge role in Patagonia. As you likely experienced it can change at the drop of a hat and the winds can and do get very fierce at times. Although disappointing that we cannot always run our Fjord / Glacier navigation, the safety of our guests is of course paramount and when the winds and weather are challenging we don't take any chances. Apologies, If that was not communicated well by the team. At The Singular there are nearly 20 different excursions on offer, several of which are indeed in and around Torres del Paine while some others are on private reserves only accessible by Singular guests. We will be sure to review the process with our management team to ensure if there are any future problems guests are informed correctly.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We landed at Punta Arenas and took a hotel shuttle to the Singular. We were lucky to be seated with the owners of the hotel who were extremely hospitable.
The hotel service, ambience and rooms were simply outstanding. We had rooms on the third (top) floor with a splendid view of the water (called Last Hope, or Esperanza Ultima). The rooms were spacious, well appointed and ultra clean. All the rooms are located in a new building.
Connecting the new building to the hotel restaurants is a wonderful corridor that is a museum with steam engines.
The restaurant has an open concept with gigantic roof to floor windows. It has a huge fireplace in the bar. The menu is fascinating with Patagonian dishes like lamp, beef and Alaskan king crab along with different types of fish. All the meals were delicious, yummy and esthetically pleasing. There is a nice wine menu featuring some really fine Chilean wine. Even the breakfasts are very tasty with crispy croissants, various baked items and savory smoked salmon.
My family and I have traveled to many parts of the world and we have stayed at many 5-star hotels. The Singular in Patagonia is certainly one we would like to return. It is worth every dollar!!
I don't know how they managed to build such a wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere! It is a treat to return to such luxury after a day of hiking or trekking with nature, especially when one could be exposed to some very wild weather in April!

Room Tip: A room on the top floor (third) is an asset. All rooms have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel. It was a long arduous process to create such a special hotel and it makes it all worth it with feedback like that.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights on a trip to Chile with my 8 year old daughter. This was our only time in the patagonian "deep south". I would say this is a truly "singular" hotel. The architecture is fascinating, with the hotel built around an industrial archaeology site, of warehouses, wharves and 19th century machinery. The outdoors continues this theme, with old buildings, an entire shipwreck, a pebble beach and black neck swans gliding in the icy waters just minutes from the hotel. My 8 year old was entranced by the setting and so was I.

The rooms are very large and each one has a spectacular view of the water. . The spa is welcoming with a small but perfect heated pool that is part in doors, part outside. We had an all inclusive tariff and I was happy I had done this. The food in the restaurant is well prepared and very expensive. It is possible to get a taxi into Puerto Natales where there are lots of value for money restaurants, however this could be tiring or inconvenient at the end of a long day.

My disappointment really focused on the excursions. There are a couple of issues that are really only clear from having actually visited the area. One very obvious one is that you are not really near Punta Arenas airport (2.5 hours away) or Torres Del Paine Park (2 hours away but closer to 3 to see the spectacular mountains or the wildlife). So a lot of time will be spent on transfers, driving across the bleak featureless pampa. If you have more time than we did , it would be good to spend a few days sleeping inside the park and a few days at the Singular. Another factor is the weather. There are very flashy looking excursion boats at the dock for day trips on the water to see glaciers. These are included in the all inclusive tariff. When we were there in March (defined as one of the best times to visit in terms of weather), it was too windy in the fjords on all 4 days to take a boat trip, so we never saw one much vaunted aspect of the area.

All of this is my stuff: bad luck with the weather and not having enough time. However I didn't think the all day trip to Torres Del Paine that we did take, worked.

It was like staying at an A+ hotel and having a B grade safari. We were packed into a mini bus, 3 abreast, which felt cramped (again at 6 ft 2 inches again maybe more my issue). There was too long in the minibus, for too little reward. We shot past some remarkable view points, spent a long time at lunch and would have appreciated more time to walk somewhere sheltered. Much better would be to pay more for a bespoke trip, hire a jeep and driver, where you can individualise how much time you want to walk, where you want to stop and maybe pack a picnic lunch. Maybe when you are planning the trip, see if this is now an option. If you are doing a longer Patagonian trip and will stay at one of the lodges inside the park, this won't be an issue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. First and foremost, we are glad to hear you and your daughter so thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and spa. We are sorry however to hear you were disappointed with the expeditions. Our team of guides has spent countless time training for and planning excursions that are in line with the rest of the Singular experience. Torres del Paine should only take a little more than an hour to get to from the hotel but depending on how often the group stops along the way it can of course take longer. Punta Arenas is unfortunately quite a distance indeed, but please note that Sky airlines flies right into Puerto Natales and hopefully in the next year or two LAN will follow suit. Until that time, driving from Punta Arenas is one of those necessary evils. We do however take to heart your suggestion of bespoke, private expedition options while on property and it is indeed something we will be discussing for situations like this. We hope you have the opportunity to come back in the future and know we will take every step possible to customize your experience!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Architecturally, this was the most fascinating hotel I have ever visited. It used to be a cold storage facility in the 1800s, which used steam for power. They have beautifully preserved all the old elements of the hotel and incorporated them into an extremely modern and beautiful facility, with gorgeous views of the water and mountains. The spa and indoor/outdoor pool are also great. The only downside is that it is two hours outside of the park so that we had to drive back and forth on all the days we wanted to visit the park, which is the main attraction there. The food was great and the bar was even better!

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the 3rd (top) floor for the view, and ask for a room sort of in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel. Hopefully while you were at The Singular you had a chance to explore the parts of Southern Patagonia outside of the Park to which a stay with us gives you great access. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As part of our tour of the glaciers of Patagonia with Skorpios III, we were put up in this hotel for the first night. When you first arrive you are looking at old warehouses and thinking, "what the ....(insert your own expletive)!? Then the kindly staff leads you to the funicular taking you down to the Patagonian version of the hotel in the 2nd new James Bond film, "Quantum Solace." The staff is great, kind, speak quite good English and the dining room was a great experience. I would love to go back and use the spa facilities. All the rooms have a wonderful view of the incredible scenery in those parts. My engineer husband thought he had died and gone to heaven as they kept most of the big machinery, all cleaned up and for the most part behind glass windows, from its previous life as a huge refrigeration factory for the lamb produced in the area. We had a set menu through the cruise for dinner and breakfast which was very good as it included the local specialties of king crab and lamb. Breakfast was anything you could possibly want, including good omlettes. We were on the particular cruise with Skorpios III to the glacier fields and a tour with the same company to Torre del Paine. We really lucked out on the weather as that day the Torre were clear and sunny and that included the 3 day cruise that followed. We went around mid March if that is any help.

Room Tip: Not a problem. All rooms to my knowledge face the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonore1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your energetic feedback. Just like in a good movie we have the lead in, a good backstory, the exciting climax and when it's all over you wish it hadn't ended. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced the best of The Singular!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Singular last November, and we had a terrific experience. The hotel space is beautiful and unique, and the preservation of the historic machinery is fascinating. The restaurant and bar space is gorgeous, and we loved sitting in front of the fireplace at night with drinks and sharing our experiences with our fellow guests. The staff were very thoughtful and pleasant and attended to our needs very well. The full board option, while expensive, is an excellent value and made our trip seamless from pickup to drop-off at Punta Arenas airport. I would especially recommend the Torres del Paine outing that takes you on three separate hikes. We had a blast and it was a terrific way to see several different diverse and beautiful areas of the park. We saw tons of wildlife, and I thought it was particularly interesting to see the area of the park that is recovering from the forest fire. We also took the boat trip, but be forewarned that you may not have success getting to the glacier due to winds. We had to turn back, but I thought our guides did a nice job salvaging the trip by taking us to a nearby private estancia for a hike to a viewpoint and lunch. It was clear that they were concerned with safety first (always appreciated) as well as ensuring that we were able to make the most out of our day.

As for the food and wine, it was absolutely terrific. The remote location of Puerto Natales does not allow for limitless variety, but we enjoyed everything that was available and tasted our way through the entire menu. Dinner was high quality with excellent service, and we really enjoyed trying local guanaco, lamb, and hare.

I highly recommend the Singular and hope we will be able to return someday.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and the view facing the water was very nice. I don't think there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eca5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your glowing feedback. You described what we consider to be an almost perfect Singular experience. We are thrilled you had such a great time during your stay!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.8 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Remota
Remota
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
30 reviews
2.5 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Singular Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singular Patagonia

Address: Kilometro Cinco | and Medio Norte, Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: $409 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Singular Patagonia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the surroundings of Puerto Natales, The Singular Patagonia affords guests the opportunity to experience all Chilean Patagonia has to offer - the true Patagonia. From expeditions to nearby glaciers and horseback riding on private ranches to walking tours of historic Puerto Natales and adventurous treks through famed Torres del Paine, The Singular provides guests the full spectrum of extraordinary and beautiful terrain that is Patagonia. Luxury at the end of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Singular Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Singular Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
The Singular Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing