We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bill, the ultimate trekking guidance counselor”
Review of Erratic Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erratic Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

If you need to be guided to this flabergasting national park that is Torrès del Paine (3 hours drive from here!), Bill is ZE man able to give you the best *professionnal* tips to go in the park by yourself or accompanied by a guide. He has conmections with tour operators or guides and can even rent you *ALL* of the equipement you need to go trek this ultimate trekking park, even in winter time conditions ! Merci pour tout Bill :-)

p.s. i did not stayed at Erratik Rock, but this wont keep Bill from receiving you with a cup if tea and take all the time you need to get the trekking info you need.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Érick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

I cannot say enough about Erratic Rock. It has such a cozy, welcoming feel you almost want to skip the TDP trek and hang out with the crew.

Two of us stayed two nights in the dormer. Was fairly cheap and easy to find. Easy walk from the bus station (~10 mins). Also, an easy walk to the grocery store (Unimarc). There are a handful of little spots that sell dried fruits, nuts and snacks if you are stocking up for a trek.

Next door at Base Camp they rent out gear and sell tanks of white gas (kind of a big deal).

Did I mention the homemade peanut butter for breakfast?

I would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time so you get a bed. Some people are allowed to sleep on couches if it gets too full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here before and after our Torres trek. It was fantastic, warm and cosy with a really welcoming atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and the luggage storage while we were in the park was very handy. The talk next door at Basecamp also answered a heap of questions. The highlight would probably be Bill's breakfast, tasty bread with his famous peanut butter and a really good omelette helped prepare you for the cold days ahead. We really liked this place and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dansymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is perfect to stay in if you are going on the W trek or Circuit as they are very informative and have everything close to you to prepare you for camping and hiking. Every day at 3pm the hostel next door, Base camp, has a talk to help you on your Torres experience and they also rent out equipment.
The breakfast is fantastic and is all home made and yummy. The hostel gives you your own towel which is luxury for any hostel goer and especially before or after camping for days.
It's so cosy and they have lots of movies to watch to chill out or go next door to the bar and watch a band etc.
I would happily live there for a while it's that cosy.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChloeMaySideserf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When I entered I was struck by the friendly and relaxed attitude. The breakfast was amazing - a good start to hike the Torres. The hostel isn't the cheapest you can find in Puerto Natales, but is well worth the money. Furthermore is a perfect place to make friends for the hike or get some advice from people coming back. Don't miss the bar and the talk!!! The only bad things are unreliable hot water and slow wifi.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Freijaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Through my work we used this hostel for a group of 16-18year olds from Canada in March. They loved the hostal atmosphere and vibe. We had a problem on the return after trekking Torres del Paine as the hostal had made an error on dates and double booked the group (despite us having paid in advance) so they didnt have space for us, but the owner Bill dealt with it well and tried to find the best solution possible as quickly as possible. Eventually our group was put into a hotel nearby at no extra cost and the group were happy as this was actually an upgrade. Despite this inconvenience, I would definately work with Erratic Rock again and recomend it if you are looking for a chilled out and friendly hostal vibe, oh and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieReddingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in Erratic rock for 3 nights in total - 2 nights in a dorm before doing the W trek and one night in the mini double afterwards.
Pros - really really friendly staff.
- fantastic breakfast - eggs, yoghurt, homemade bread and real coffee
- the free trek info talk at the adjoining and associated Base Camp
- free luggage storage while you go into the park
- nice sociable areas to meet other travellers

Cons - the bathrooms got really dirty and horrible; while we were there there was only 1 toilet for a floor of around 20 people, which I'm sure didn't help, but once daily cleaning just wasn't enough
- the showers were terrible - no water pressure and no temperature control
- the mini 'double', is absolutely tiny, the bed is slightly larger than a single and it was the worst night sleep we'd both had during our whole trip. The larger double looked great but the room we stayed in shouldn't even be advertised for two people

Room Tip: Avoid the mini double unless travelling alone. There is also a dorm room nicknamed 'the cave'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGnJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.2 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#2 of 108 in Puerto Natales
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#8 of 108 in Puerto Natales
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 51 in Puerto Natales
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Lili-Patagonico
Hostal Lili-Patagonico
#3 of 51 in Puerto Natales
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domos House Patagonia
Domos House Patagonia
#13 of 108 in Puerto Natales
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erratic Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock

Address: Baquedano 719, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing