We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very cool place to base yourself before Torres Del Paine”
Review of Erratic Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erratic Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very, very cool place to base yourself before Torres Del Paine”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ok, where do I start with this place. First of all it's very central. Everything you could possibly need is within walking distance.
It's your home away from home with friendly staff, comfortable beds, chill out areas and a shelf full of VCR's offering the creme de la creme of 90's films!
The breakfast is AMAZING and the beds are some of the most comfy I've come across in a hostel (very important after 5 days of hiking) the thing I liked most about this place is how warm and cosy it is. The fires are always burning and it's the perfect place to base yourself before and after conquering Torres del Paine. The daily talks they give about the possible treks are invaluble. They cover everything and anything you may require. Equipment hire was reasonable and suitable.
Would recommend to anyone making a stop in Puerto Natales.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
53
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I would consider myself well traveled after visiting 33 countries and must say this place is amongst the best. My Girlfriend and I stayed here both before and after our TDP Circuit (which I did through them) and I must say t was the best! Julie and the rest of the staff are amazing. The place feels like a warm and cozy lodge. Great relaxing/preparing area for your hike out in TDP. The fresh homemade breakfest is wonderful! I highly recommend heading next door to see Paul at base camp for a cold beer and a pizza that is top notch. Then settle in at 3 for the daily talk about the park which provides you with everything you need to know. Thanks Julie, Rusty, Paul and everyone else for a awesome stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianópolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at erratic rock with a few of my friends before heading out to Torres Del Paine. It was my first time staying in a hostel, but my friends have assured me it was better than any hostel experience they have had in the past. The entire staff was really friendly, accommodating, and willing to help out in any way to make my trip easier. Every morning we received an excellent breakfast which included omelets cooked by the staff. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and there was a large common room area outside the room with couches, a computer and internet connection. There is also a great bar next door, owned by the hostel, where guests and many locals can be found every night. I would strongly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Puerto Natales.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Though I'm usually pessimistic about hotels/hostels, Erratic Rock blew me away. The staff does a great job of creating a really positive vibe about the place--everyone, including the patrons, is extraordinarily friendly. When our bus to TDP left without picking us up, Bill (the owner and breakfast maker!) got on the phone with the bus service and got them to come back and pick us up. Small things like these mean the world when on a tight schedule in Patagonia.

The beds are warm, the breakfast (with omelet!) is delicious, and they have a great movie selection if you're taking a rest day. Would hole-heartedly recommend to any traveler in PN!

Room Tip: I enjoyed sleeping in the multi-bed rooms and it is much cheaper as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We didn't stay at Erratic Rock but we went to the Base Camp bar several times - the bar is run by the other brother who makes a mean pizza and serves good frosty beer using jam jars for glasses. We also attended one of the daily talks on hiking the W which was really informative and highly recommended if you're thinking of hiking in Torres del Paine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in the single room on the first night which was nice. Comfy warm bed. The upstairs showers take some work to get the right temperature but the downstairs showers were great. Buy your ticket to Calafate through the travel agent they recommend down the street. There's lots of departures. The second night I was in a dorm room which was a pretty typical hostel dorm.

Pluses:
- Breakfast w/ Bill is fun and there's almond butter if you look for it
- Free camping fuel next door in the 1/2 used pile
- Upstairs heater has hooks above it if you need to dry clothes / wet stuff
- Strong wifi
- People are awesome
- They store your baggage for you while trekking (1st bag free, 1k for each additional bag)
- If you visit Erratic Rock on another trip, the first night is free!

Room Tip: Paying up for the single is worth it if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musubi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Easy to meet fellow hikers and share stories, get advice here. Bill and the team are fun, friendly and easy going, always willing to help you plan your Torres del Paine hike and advise on other activities around Puerto Natales. They have all the local knowledge so just ask!

The hostel is warm and cosy, has a TV and lots of videos to watch. The kitchen is amazingly well equipped to store food and share left overs and a good place to meet people.

Breakfast is hearty and delicious.

The floorboards are creaky so it can get a little noisy when groups of people are coming and going late or early.

the hostel is an easy walk to three grocery stores, the laundrette and bus stop. The bus from Torres del Paine drops you off right at the hostel after the hike.

Room Tip: There is only one double room. Book in advance in high season (December-March).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#10 of 90 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erratic Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock

Property: Erratic Rock
Address: Baquedano 719, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing