We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff & comfortable beds”
Review of Erratic Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erratic Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome staff & comfortable beds”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Awesome place to stay Bill and the gang are amazing and are extremely helpful. VHS collection is great after doing Torres del Paine. Seems to attract a great crowd staying as well which makes it even better.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nate415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    17
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
53
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Super friendly place and very helpfull. Make sure you stop for info talk about Torres del Paine in "Base Camp". Great breakfast, safe place to leave the stuff, you do not want to take to the park,in the deposit and overall great atmosphere. Bill even helped us getting reservation for hostel in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudySzymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in Erratic Rock before going to Torres del Paine in December, and we are so glad that we did. Honestly, I can guarantee that our time in the park couldn't have been the same without them. Not only do they know everything about the park, but they do everything they can to make sure you are prepared. They will set you up the bus into the park (which comes to the door of the hostel), they can rent whatever equipment you need (and it is very high quality), they give a 2 hour talk everyday at 3 on everything you would ever need to know before entering the park, and they even serve a large breakfast with real coffee and eggs the morning before you go.

Erratic rock is also a very comfortable place with an incredibly friendly owner, lots of hot water, everyone speaks English, and they have a formidable collection of DVDs. If you are going to be in Puerto Natales, don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a2matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed a night on the way to Torres Del Paine NP. We stayed in one of the double rooms. After settling in we attended the daily talk next door at the "Base Camp". It was very informative and well delivered by Paul. We also really liked the green approach to the environment adopted by Erratic Rock. Everything is recycled.

We didn't like the fact that showers are only avaialble from 7am-10pm. Almost everyone is a backpacker on their way to Torres del Paine on the morning bus. They have tried to schedule the breakfasts into 2 shifts. It's a real pain the morning just to use a bathroom as everyone tries to rush to get on the bus. Maybe they need to look into bathroom shifts as well.......

Breakfast was also pretty ordinary.

On the way back from our trek we decided to move to another hostel which was much nicer and much better value. We definitely preferred it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliyah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have stayed in Erratic Rock before and after trekking in Torres Del Paine. The guys were very helpful with info about th trek, tips about equipment and just about anything. The environment in the hostel is one of the coolest I have ever had. The people are great, the breakfast was delicious (home made bread,omelet and cereal in Chile are a nice surprise) and the guys keep the place as ecologically friendly as it can get, which is important to me. I definitely recommended the place and would be glad to stay there if I have the chance. Thank you Bill and Korey!

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leo_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The accommodations are good enough for a hostel but the best part about Erratic Rock is the staff, particularly Bill. Not only did they set us up for a great visit to Torres del Paine, they were also incredibly helpful when the region was evacuated due to the gas protests. Once the region is friendly to tourists again, I would highly recommend staying Erratic Rock.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhd121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

First, remember that this is a hostel. If you're looking for the Four Seasons, you're not going to be staying there for 20 bucks a night or whatever--this is a hostel. The reason you stay at a hostel is that it's cheap and you get to meet people.

What was so great about Erratic Rock was not just that I met some cool people, but the staff are all seasoned hikers of Torres Del Paine and can help you get the best out of your trip--they will plan it and equip you at a reasonable rate.

They'll also serve as your local fixers. If you need something, they will get on the phone and try to find it for you. That type of service, for so little, is what blew me away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#3 of 90 in Puerto Natales
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erratic Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock

Property: Erratic Rock
Address: Baquedano 719, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing