We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lamb dishes”
Review of Afrigonia

Afrigonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: African, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brussels
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful lamb dishes”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

One of our best meals in Chile. The restaurant is a relatively simple place. The lamb dishes were outstanding (no less than 8 cotelettes). A must try. Service was very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    144
    43
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had in South America!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went there based on the positive tripadivsor reviews and it surely didnt disappoint us. Seafood was amazingly fresh, the lamb chop was heavenly. Staff were extremely attentive and professional. Our waiter brought us a bowl of water to wash our hands before we even asked! Wine selection was excellent too. Definitely value for money and a great fine dinning option in PTO Natales!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant on our trip”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent two months traveling in Chile & Argentina. I had stayed in Puerto Natalies two times before and never been very impressed by the food there. I found Afrigonia through the reviews. It was impossible to call as none of their phone numbers posted online seemed to be working. But going there was able to squeezed in as the last couple of the night w/o a reservation. We saw many people turned away after we got it. Now the main thing: the food is fantastic! We had the steak and salmon dishes. Both were really good. The steak was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Creative food in a artsy setting”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The menu is very eclectic. We loved the combination of items. The miniature breads they serve with accompanying hummus was excellent. The fritters, were a bit doughy for our liking. Main courses were excellent, and very sizable. Desert was delish, wine selection was excellent and service was top notch-you can tell the servers really took pride in their jobs! Would definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food of the trip!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow. If you are in Puerto Natales, you must go here! It's not cheap, but worth the splurge. My bf and I went for Christmas dinner and I am trying to remember a meal I enjoyed more. We ordered two dishes to share--the chicken stuffed with pine nuts, spinach and spicy curry sauce as well as the Patagonian lamb with apricot and port sauce. The server warned us that the chicken dish was spicy--and it was compared to most of the food in the region, but it was just the right kick and not too spicy at all for our liking. The lamb with apricot and port sauce was the perfect combination of salty and sweet. I wanted to lick the plate this was so good.

We made a reservation because it was Christmas and were saved a table by the window which they reserved with santa hats--a great touch.

The servings are not huge, so I would suggest not going the day you return from trekking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrigonia also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Afrigonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing