We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baguales Brewery + Restaurant

Baguales Brewery + Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Fast Food, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Inspired by the natural beauty of Patagonia and the strong craft ales of California, Baguales embodies two worlds in one glass. Brewed in a true "artisanal" style per the strict Reinheitzgebot Purity Law, our unfiltered and unpasteurized ales are brewed with local malted barley, hops imported from the Pacific Northwest, yeast, and some of the best water on the planet. This strong and natural ale, worthy of the wild surroundings that inspired its creation, soon caught on and was the first true draft beer offered throughout Torres del Paine National Park.
Bullhead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has unrealised potential. It seems to be popular with homesick North Americans willing to settle for average food that looks familiar. Even by local standards, which are low but improving, the food here is not ready for prime time. Good but not great. Interesting atmosphere but a bit dark in places. The beer selection is limited and may or may not include a flavour that suits your style. Their website is absolutely useless when it comes to the most basic elements such as location and hours of operation so it was obviously constructed by a local chileno unversed in the rudiments of utility. When the live music is playing you can forget about attempting a conversation. When the television is on, you can probably shout to the person next to you to carry on rudimentary conversation. If you are under 40 and from North America then you are likely to find this place attractive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thedelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary0987, Manager at Baguales Brewery + Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to apologize for when you've been in Baguales and the TV was loud, must have been a game day, which happens just a few times a year for the major games and you know how important football is to our local fans! Our TV is always on mute with sports videos and ambient music, and we try pretty hard to keep the volume at a reasonable level, since we know how important this is and we want people to enjoy their conversations. When we do have live music, we try to have sound check before we open and the band starts late at night. and we advertise those nights on the sign out front, since we know not everyone likes live music, that is loud.
And about the web page, thank you so much for the comment, we were actually working on it since we knew it lacked a lot of info, so we invite you to visit the new one that is already on air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    266
    73
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid comfort food in Puerto Natales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We went here for dinner after returning from 5 days trekking in Torres del Paines. We were cold, hungry, and looking for some good food and drinks to celebrate our adventures. Baguales delIvered on all counts. Hot wings and braised ribs hit the spot, and the house beer was great (the dark one). Recommended for your post-trek recharge.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noahvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice cosy, friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped at Baguales for after dinner drinks at the suggestion of the restaurant waitress. We were not disappointed as the place has an unassuming warm and friendly feel the minute you walk in. The staff was courteous and fast. Reminded me of some of the places you find in and around Seattle, Washington!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KayHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

While I was living in Puerto Natales, I used to have a good time there drinking some beer (microbrew) and also have dinner. Not only 'Baguales' is a place to have fun, it also was really helpful for my workmates and I to ease the tiredness of 11 days of exhausting work in Torres del Paine. When we went there at 6 p.m. to got together, the waitress was a very nice and friendly girl. Once, we had had a hard working day but then we had a day off and went there walking because the location of the restaurant was central.So, all the staff received us kindly and they knew our tastes in order to making us feel at home - to all customers-. The speciality of the restaurant is a mixture of delicious mexican food and huge range of french fries. Moreover, they have veggie options, which I really appreciated it. Besides that, they have a reasonable price for the dishes and serving to share.
Furthermore, in 'Baguales' they have a central courtyard for smoking round a bonfire, which is perfect for no-smoking people and I'm saying it as a smoker.
I thought I would spend a few hours at Baguales, but there I was at 2.00 am when they ring the bell... closing time! I really hope to enjoy another season in Baguales.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best beer and hamburgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great food and brew, wi-fi and friendly atmosphere. Home away from home.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieB140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguales Brewery + Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Baguales Brewery + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing