We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Hostel”
Review of Yaganhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yaganhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Hostel”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here way more than should have been allowed. Due to bad planning and a delayed Navimag ferry I stayed here about 6 nights. For me it was too cold to do any trekking in Torres del Paine so I just took advantage of some downtime as I have been moving around a lot for the past month. I had a recent bad luck streak of snorers in Hostel dorms so I took advantage of them actually having a single private room available with shared bath [for not that much more than a dorm] and booked that. It was super spacious and comfortable and I also stayed in the dorms for one night and they were very comfortable and had plenty of space so getting in and out of the lower bunk wasn't as dangerous as some of the other places I stayed at. Although, like most hostels some of the bathrooms could use some fixing up, they had plenty of hooks for hanging clothes while showering and had plenty of bathrooms so you were never waiting to use one. Their service is incredible and in my month of travelling so far they provided by far the best and most filling breakfast I have had in a hostel consisting of cereal, yogurt, bread, coffee, tea, and made on demand scrambled eggs! On top of all that they even wash your breakfast dished for you. The common areas are spacious and gorgeously designed and they have the most awesome hostel dog I have met yet, Mimi. They even helped me out when they were booked and I needed to stay another night in town due to a ferry delay. They made sure to book me at a nice, neighboring hostel. So whether you are trekking the W or staying to wait for the ferry or just taking it easy, do yourself a favor and stay at the Yaganhouse Ecohostel and say hi to Mimi for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadViajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    51
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
94
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Changwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night. Would have stayed longer if they had the space. The common areas are great. Large places to lounge around in and meet other travellers. The breakfast was very good, even had eggs! The bathrooms were large. I just think it was a bit pricey, but maybe in off season it will go down.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank snailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We've inadvertently had to stay in 3 hostels whilst in Puerto Natales and this has been the best of them. The common areas are lovely and in the evening a fire is lit in the wood burning stove in the "conservatory" area. I've loved my stay here and would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lollers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very friendly and clean and our bathroom (in the downstairs double room) was absolutely massive. The lounge area is also really attractive and cosy - we were only there one night so didn't use it much but it had a really nice feel. We're not into party hostels any more, but this one had an older crowd (perhaps that's because Patagonia is so expensive!) with the vibe being quite friendly and relaxed. As other people have pointed out, the noise is a bit of an issue - as it's an eco hostel and all made out of wood, there is not a lot of sound proofing so you can hear people upstairs and clomping down the stairs etc. We went to bed late and had an early bus so the hostel was pretty quiet when we were trying to sleep but probably not a good place if you want a sleep-in or are a light sleeper (bring earplugs). It's not super super central but it's a small town so only 5-10 mins walk from everything anyway, and it's on the bus station side of town (8 blocks away / 10 mins walk).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was so so friendly! The staff were able to advise us really well on questions about the w trek (camping/route/food etc) as well as where to eat! They were flexible with our booking & sorted buses for us very easily! Would very much recommend! Only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is because of the building....the window of our room wouldn't shut properly & showers were good but could have been finished to a better standard.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was one of my favorite hostels of all time (which is a lot given that I am traveling to all seven continents!). The facilities are very clean, spacious and have a nice communal area to meet people. The crowd it attracts is a very social, yet respectable crowd. And most of all, the employees bend over backwards to help you with everything from booking activities and bus tickets to lending you a hairdryer so you can dry your socks.

Room Tip: single rooms are extra spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I really liked this hostel. It was the second one that we stayed in while visiting Puerto Natales (the first wasn't that good). The whole layout of the hostel is open yet quiet, with lots of windows and natural light. The beds are comfortable with down comforters. The whole place is spotlessly clean. After hiking Torres del Paine, we chose to come back here to stay another 3 days. Great Place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pire Mapu Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#10 of 90 in Puerto Natales
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#4 of 47 in Puerto Natales
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaganhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaganhouse

Property: Yaganhouse
Address: O'Higgins 584, Puerto Natales 6124141, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yaganhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hello and welcome to the end of the world' , we will be happy to help you in this adventure...The Yaganhouse property is located in Puerto Natales's downtown, Chile.This new property was opened to provide a safe cozy place for all types of travelers.Aconditioned and disigned for your best confort, relaxation and entertainment for cool travelers...We believe that a property is not just for sleeping but for having an unforgetable stay, for that we have comfy new beds, with new mattresses, sheets and blankets, new bathrooms, heating in the rooms, equipted kitchen our delicious breakfast will be the only reason you'll want to be out of bed in the morning.We have made a space for you to meet other travelers in our bar and cozy places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Yaganhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaganhouse Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing