We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds”
Review of Yaganhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yaganhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The beds in this hostel were very comfy and the four bed dorms were fine except one of them that we stayed in didn't have any electric sockets. The staff were helpful, the only thing I'd say against them would be that when we arrived first two people had been put into the four bed dorm that we'd booked and we had to wait for them to come back and move their stuff so we could move in. We were given a free beer while we were waiting though. It happened again the second time we arrived that someone had been put into our dorm, luckily this time he was standing at reception and moved straight away when he was asked. Breakfast was good but the lady serving it was very slow and if you were in a rush to catch a bus that might be a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 277 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hostel was ok in that I stuck it out for the two nights I stayed there. There is really nothing to recommend itself. It's decently clean, the rooms are stuffy, the dog roams freely and pees freely, the security is non-existent (no lock on front door and often had to wait 15-20 minutes for a front desk person to appear). There are plenty of bathrooms but something was wrong/broken in each. Staff is too young and inexperienced- had to convince them that I could buy a one-way bus ticket to Torres. Also mentioned there was a BBQ but did not make it clear that it was open to guests/cost, etc. There is heat in the rooms but can get too hot. Good wifi, half decent breakfast, bad bed and horrible pillow, bad lighting in the room. If you're booking last minute in the high season, this will work, but otherwise, go somewhere else that feels less thrown together.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel with good breakfast.
Showers were nice and hot.
Everywhere was cleaned everyday.
WiFi was available in the dorm rooms and the kitchen area was well equipped.
The family dog provided entertainment chasing the mop!

Would stay here again...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynbraffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were here for a few nights before and after doing the W trail. Staff were helpful with info/tips about the trail and booking our bus tickets to the park and also out of Puerto Natales. The town itself is quite small so it was nice to have somewhere to hang out in the evenings. The fireplace and couches are perfect for the cold weather too!

One small downside though; we hired 2 sleeping mats from the hostel and while one of them was fine, the other had holes that we couldn't see on inspection and when it rained (absolutely poured) one night on the trail the water came up through the mat and I ended up cold and wet in my sleeping bag.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Sel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, 1 before and 1 after the W trek. The staff were really helpful and let us leave our baggage there for the 5 days we were trekking. There have brilliant communal areas with log burning stoves, lots of bathrooms with hot showers, lovely staff and great breakfasts.

The bathrooms are a little tired and our bed in room 4 was too soft for us, but that's just more of a personal preference.

Great little hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights before leaving for our trek. We left our bags with the owner to be put in the 'secure' luggage storage/ laundry room. We came back 5 days later with one of our bags missing - lost clothes and all our souvenirs from 4 countries of travel. We walked in the hostel a few times with no employee to be found at the front desk or anywhere else. Easy for someone to walk in and take what they please out of the laundry room. The owner shrugged it off and did not offer to do anything about the lost bag. We also had our laundry done before we left and am still missing some socks. Disappointing end to a nice trek.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Van121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Hostel has nice atmosphere and excellent breakfast but our stay was let down by a number of points:
- hairs on bed sheets even when replaced
- owner seemed over stretched
- we left our belongings whilst at TDP but they were confused with laundry and put in washing machine - including hair dryer, travel docs and CDs with photos on... All ruined. Owner apologised and replaced hair dryer and gave us chocolates, but we were very lucky our passports weren't in there. Washing all our stuff was unacceptable.
- we booked to stay after TDP but owner mixed up bookings so put us in a different hostel (and paid for taxi) but other hostel wasn't so nice.

We were sorry our stay was marred by these negatives...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstarburs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulina c, Propietario at Yaganhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo sucedido, la seguridad de sus pertenencias depende también de los pasajeros, recuerdo que su bolsa con objetos no tenia nombre, estaba abierta y ademas en el suelo, la mucama confundió su bolsa con lavandería y por eso fue lavada...el taxi lo pagué yo personalmente. lo siento nuevamente y les deseo muy buen viaje.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#9 of 107 in Puerto Natales
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#2 of 51 in Puerto Natales
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#4 of 51 in Puerto Natales
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domos House Patagonia
Domos House Patagonia
#12 of 107 in Puerto Natales
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaganhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaganhouse

Address: O'Higgins 584, Puerto Natales 6124141, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range: $55 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yaganhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hello and welcome to the end of the world' , we will be happy to help you in this adventure...The Yaganhouse property is located in Puerto Natales's downtown, Chile.This new property was opened to provide a safe cozy place for all types of travelers.Aconditioned and disigned for your best confort, relaxation and entertainment for cool travelers...We believe that a property is not just for sleeping but for having an unforgetable stay, for that we have comfy new beds, with new mattresses, sheets and blankets, new bathrooms, heating in the rooms, equipted kitchen our delicious breakfast will be the only reason you'll want to be out of bed in the morning.We have made a space for you to meet other travelers in our bar and cozy places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Yaganhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaganhouse Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing