We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omar knows what is important!”

Backpackers Kawashkar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Kawashkar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Omar knows what is important!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Kaweskar for 2 nights prior to embarking on the 8 day Paine circuit and for 2 nights after

Omar has trekked the full circuit 27 times and because of that he absolutely knows what is important for both before and after the trek

Highlights (so many it is easier to write bullets!):

Before the trek:
- fabulous abundant breakfast - Omar makes everyone egg omelettes individually, there is toast with Nutella, dulce de leche, jam, butter etc, cereal, yoghurt, peaches, coffee, tea and orange - just the fuel you need
- Omar gets good prices on bus tickets and organises this for you (not just to the park but to other destinations, as well as the Navimag)
- you can rent equipment - I initially rented a sleeping bag from the main place in town (no names) although it was old and smelly so I took it back and took one of Omar's instead - he washes them after every use and they are relatively new and very warm - very important!
- you can hire a locker to store your stuff when you are away
- scales to weigh your pack before you set out

After the trek:
- chocolates in reception to boost energy when you arrive exhausted!
- hot hot showers with good pressure
- Feather down duvets - just what you need after several nights in a cold tent!
- fast and efficient laundry service
- reliable Internet!

Other bonuses:
- TV with films
- nice social atmosphere

Omar is a fabulous host - he clearly enjoys what he does and goes out of his way to do a good job. He is sometimes run off his feet trying to cater for everyone but always delivers and never forgets a request

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJo_JoJo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Omar is the best. He is very kind and helpful. The hostel is well located and very clean. In the hostel you can meet backpackers from all over the world.
It's for sure the best hostel in Puerto Natales!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Omar, the owner of the hostel, is a legend - a real character who run a very tight ship and despite his Parsian mannerism is actually Chilean! :)

The hostel is a short 5 min walk to all the shops/restaurants, is spotless and Omar couldn't be more helpful. He also provides a hearty and plentiful breakfast each morning - the perfect start for a hard day's trekking!

It also has the best equipped kitchen I've seen...ever (even has an Arga oven!!) and like the rest of the place is spotless.

It really is the owner's care, attention and pride in the place that makes this hostel stand out from most others you will visit.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Omar runs a tight operation and is very helpful (although occasionally a bit surly), especially about trekking in Torres del Paine. Comfy beds (with a power outlet next to each bed, very handy!), large lockers, great breakfast, fast Internet. The downstairs male dorm room can be noisy as it's close to the common room and right opposite the kitchen; better to get a bed upstairs if you can. I stayed there twice, before and after the W trek and would def stay there again, if in P. Natales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is simple, clean, and everything you need before and after trekking in Torres de Paine NP. Omar is probably the most available and helpful hostel owner you could come across. You can hire all the gear you need from him (besides a gas tank, which you can get from just around the corner). And he will talk you through the walking options, and his recommendations, if you are disorganized like we were and have no idea how it all works. We arrived the night before we did the five day W trek, and we hired all our gear from Omar. 

The dorms are simple but clean, the beds are comfy, and each one has a feather doona! Omar gives you a really great breakfast every morning (included), which is perfect pre- and post-hike. Omar really went out of his way to help us with a bus up to Pucon after our hike too. I definitely recommend his hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseViajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazca, Peru
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Omar is the best hostelowner I ever met in my life! That guy is doing everything for his guests, and runs the whole hostel on its own! Incredible! Beds good, GREAT kitchen, even better breakfast with peanutbutter, nutella and ofcourse omar is there to make scrambled eggs. Everything is spotless clean, great showers with a lot of pressure. New computers, got all my photos on Facebook in a few minutes in stead of a few hours. He rents equipment (rents, sleeping bags, stoves, etc) you need for hiking in torres del paine. Gives you all info you need for thatas well. Brought our backpacks upstairs after the hike. Washed our clothes. No words for. Best hostal in south america so far after three months. By far! Really don't understand this place is not on number One....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Owner - Omar - of Backpackers Kawashkar hostel is very very helpful. Can arrange tickets and provide you with all needed information about trekking in Torres del Paine.
Rooms are clean, and the breakfast is really great.
You can rent hiking anc camping stuff there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.7 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 47 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#24 of 90 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Arkya
Hostal Arkya
#13 of 47 in Puerto Natales
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Kawashkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Kawashkar

Property: Backpackers Kawashkar
Address: Blanco Encalada 754, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Kawashkar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Kawashkar Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing