We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel”

Backpackers Kawashkar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Kawashkar
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Omar runs a tight operation and is very helpful (although occasionally a bit surly), especially about trekking in Torres del Paine. Comfy beds (with a power outlet next to each bed, very handy!), large lockers, great breakfast, fast Internet. The downstairs male dorm room can be noisy as it's close to the common room and right opposite the kitchen; better to get a bed upstairs if you can. I stayed there twice, before and after the W trek and would def stay there again, if in P. Natales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is simple, clean, and everything you need before and after trekking in Torres de Paine NP. Omar is probably the most available and helpful hostel owner you could come across. You can hire all the gear you need from him (besides a gas tank, which you can get from just around the corner). And he will talk you through the walking options, and his recommendations, if you are disorganized like we were and have no idea how it all works. We arrived the night before we did the five day W trek, and we hired all our gear from Omar. 

The dorms are simple but clean, the beds are comfy, and each one has a feather doona! Omar gives you a really great breakfast every morning (included), which is perfect pre- and post-hike. Omar really went out of his way to help us with a bus up to Pucon after our hike too. I definitely recommend his hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseViajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazca, Peru
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Omar is the best hostelowner I ever met in my life! That guy is doing everything for his guests, and runs the whole hostel on its own! Incredible! Beds good, GREAT kitchen, even better breakfast with peanutbutter, nutella and ofcourse omar is there to make scrambled eggs. Everything is spotless clean, great showers with a lot of pressure. New computers, got all my photos on Facebook in a few minutes in stead of a few hours. He rents equipment (rents, sleeping bags, stoves, etc) you need for hiking in torres del paine. Gives you all info you need for thatas well. Brought our backpacks upstairs after the hike. Washed our clothes. No words for. Best hostal in south america so far after three months. By far! Really don't understand this place is not on number One....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Owner - Omar - of Backpackers Kawashkar hostel is very very helpful. Can arrange tickets and provide you with all needed information about trekking in Torres del Paine.
Rooms are clean, and the breakfast is really great.
You can rent hiking anc camping stuff there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you`re in Puerto Natales and looking for a hostel, definitely try this place. The owner, Omar, is very knowledgable and so helpful. He will go out of his way to make your stay a good one. You can leaves your bags there while you trek, book your bus tickets, and get a nice hot shower before and after. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleburkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you're in Puerto Natales, you need to stay in this hostel. During two months in South America, I think it's the best place I stayed. The owner, Omar, is a great guy - an experienced climber and trekker who seems to know every trail in Patagonia - whatever you're planning, he can advise you. Very laid back guy. The hostel has a lovely kitchen (open to guests) - kept nice and cosy by a vast old-fashioned gas cooker - and two lounges which are great to chill in. You also get a really decent breakfast (no attempt here to pass off a couple of bits of stale bread as 'breakfast'!). Seems to attract a very friendly bunch of guests, too. One twin room and three dorms, all of which are warm and clean. For the price, it's a bargain - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights before and after going to Torres Del Paine. The owner Omar is a great guy with a lot of hiking experience. He can help you with everything you need. In the short time we stayed there, he built a personal bond with us, got to know us a bit, showed us some things that we might like, ...
The kitchen is big and clean. It has all the pots, pans and utensils you need, which is not a given in South America. The rooms are very good, the common areas are big. All in all a great experience, and maybe the best hostel we stayed in in, in whole South America.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_Peeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Agustin
Hostal San Agustin
#22 of 91 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 48 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#26 of 91 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Kawashkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Kawashkar

Property: Backpackers Kawashkar
Address: Blanco Encalada 754, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Kawashkar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Kawashkar Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing