We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Francis Drake
Ranked #19 of 48 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spend a week in Puerto Natales. We are so happy to spend our last day in Puerto Natales in the comfort of the Hostal Francis Drake.
Two days earlier we were staying in another hostal and it was not comfortable, to say the least.
Feeling exhausted and a little “under the weather” we decided to spend a bit more and check in to a nicer place. We seen this hostel and it looked quiet and cozy. When we arrived, we got the twin bed room, which we booked online, but I saw a lovely double bed room and requested for it. The staff said it was, “impossible” as the entire hostel was booked.
I must have looked dismay as the owner of the place notice it and he arranged and made it Possible. This is what I call 1st class service. The ability to be flexible and perceptive.
A lovely way to spend the entire day resting in our cozy, clean and spacious room with the big sunlit window. Compared to the two other hostels we stayed in this town this place is quiet like a sanctuary.
Kudos to Francis Drake Hostal, Puerto Natales

susan from Singapore

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan7si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
17
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I had a fine stay at the Francis Drake. The room was tiny with two twin beds somehow cramped into the room. There was a small closet for luggage, and a tiny bathroom as well. I do not need a lot of space, but it did feel cramped. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special. The hotel is close to the downtown area and it is easy to walk around town from the location, and it is very close to the waterfront. The price of the hotel is excellent. It is a very good value. They keep the rooms very clean. Noise carries well, so if you are a light sleeper take earplugs! Most guests were courteous however, and there was minimal noise late at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canuck in Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

Was really surprised by the price quality with this hostel which felt more like a hotel. The room was comfortable with private bath and cable TV which at $16.000 pesos very reasonably priced. They changed the sheets and towels every day which in my opinion is wasteful so I suggested they give that as an option for guests. The shower was nice and hot and they provided small bars of soap. The breakfast was nothing special but sufficient with warm breads, jam, cereal, yogurt coffee or tea. This is definitely not a back packers hostel; its better suited for 30+ crowd or anyone looking for a quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daweb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Nice small hotel that is easy to find and close to everything. Helpful staff. Not much parking. Close to the lake and main square. Good value for the price. Good restaurant suggestions. Try the fish place - Restaurant Manuel Marin - Ultima Esperanza at Eberhard 354. Very good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plantexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

The owner of this hotel has to be one of the most unbelievably rude and incompetent managers i have ever come across. He went out of his way to harass and annoy us jsut after a 5 day trek around the Torres del Paine - we were understandably tired. He was so rude we decided to simply leave and leave him to it. I would advice going around the corner to other similar hotels which you will find considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedalus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin Gusinde
Hotel Martin Gusinde
#11 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#17 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#5 of 48 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Francis Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Francis Drake

Property: Hostal Francis Drake
Address: Philippi 383, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location with excellent location, towel service in rooms, Also can help to make reservation of excursions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Francis Drake Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing