We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was OK food and indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Living

El Living
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Testing out the tastebuds after 10 years with a wide range of exciting vegetarian dishes served all day.deckchairs in garden
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Food was OK food and indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went here for coffee and cakes after reading the review from Tripadvisor and guidebook and have to say that it did not come close to meeting our expectations. The food was certainly NOT spectactular (just average) but the service was very poor. The guy never smiled once and gave us the impression that we are a huge inconvenience when we went to the bar to order. The same treatment when he sent our stuff over to our table.

The service was bad enough to give this place a 'Poor' overall rating but the cozy interior deco, ambiance and the fact that the food wasn't bad saved it.

We still would not come back though as we feel we can get better value elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    90
    31
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bizarre unwelcoming atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I dropped in for a coffee and snack one evening. We were both shocked and pretty appalled at the bad service we received; completely ignored for the 15 minutes (we didn't even get a hello), only grunts audible when taking our order and pretty frankly rude when paying. Average food, terrible terrible service. A bad day....perhaps?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Warm, Cozy, Friendly Haven with Good Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely, bright surroundings, friendly service. Relaxed atmosphere with newspapers and magazines to browse as well as a book exchange. The menu is inventive and the soups and salads are fresh and tasty. Open earlier for lunch than most restaurants in P. Natales, this became our favorite place to eat even though we are carnivores!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Attentive service in a comfortable space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A brilliant vegetarian restaurant/cafe serving exceptional daily special dishes alongside a fine selection of home made cakes. An especially relaxed atmosphere in which you could happily spend all day drinking, eating and enjoying some of the large selection of newspapers, magazines and books available.

Huge thanks to owner Jeremy for his conversation, sharing his favourite design magazines, tips for Santiago and generally making us feel very welcome in Natales.

Ben & Katrina

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAmBenJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food and selection of wines !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Awesome food! The menu is really well done, and it offers such a yummy food that I only ended up eating there the whole time I was in Puerto Natales, from salads to soups to lentils to awesome deserts ... One word HAPPY! The wine list is also very nice offering organic Chilean wines. The owner Sarah is really lovely and will answer any questions u might have about the area etc. My Fav place in Natales!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Living also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to El Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing