We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodel Isn't There Yet, and Nor is the Staff Training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Iquique
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Iquique
Certificate of Excellence
Comptche, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Remodel Isn't There Yet, and Nor is the Staff Training”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel on a business trip. The first room I was given was a
disaster. The hotel was in the latter stages of a remodel and there were many rough edges
as a result. To be clear though, the wifi was free and worked well. When I went to call
the desk to report the problems, I found my phone wasn't working! I had to roam the
corridors searching for help. There was no hot water at first, but an unfortunate member
of staff I had cornered was able to turn it on. However, the door still didn't work. The
handle had been replaced and not adequately secured, so it went around and around without
opening or closing anything. I had to leave it propped open when I went on help hunting
excursions. My Spanish wasn't up to explaining why I was running around frantically
accosting hotel staff instead of just calling reception. After a frustrating hour or so
trying to get past my poor welcome, the front desk told me what I knew all along: I had to
change rooms. Duh! The replacement I was given was fine, surprisingly. I was on the front
of the building with a nice view of the beach. It turned out that this was also lucky
because there's a small market of some kind behind the hotel, which was noise central
during my stay. This was close to the Chilean National Day, and parties were going on
everywhere late into the night. But this small market seemed to have the loudest events
around. Consider this if you're staying at a holiday time. My second room was fine, but as
usual I would like to comment on its energy efficiency. There was no card controlled
electricity switch. The lamps were standard compact fluorescents, and the windows were
mediocre. But, the pool does have solar thermal heating. Not bad, but given the remodel
underway, they could perhaps have aimed a little lower in the carbon footprint department.
Since this in the middle of the incredibly dry Atacama desert, just about the driest place
on earth, it's not surprising that water conservation measures were excellent. The
breakfasts were reasonable. Scrambled eggs and cocktail sausages were the only hard core
options, but there was fruit, yoghurt, etc. My biggest problem came at the end of my stay.
Because I was leaving late in the evening for a very arduous trip home, I requested a late
evening departure. The desk clerk enthusiastically agreed, and I thought at first there
would be no extra charge. Well, at least he hadn't mentioned one, which I thought was
generous in the extreme. And sure enough, I was delusional. When I went to check out, I
was billed for three nights at the full rate, US$160/night. I complained. No one had said
there's any charge, let along a full nightly rate. Slowly notch by notch, I was able to
wear the clerk down to a 50% charge, which is what I might have expected. The experience
left a very nasty taste though, as I was swept by taxi to the Iquique airport. This was an
OK hotel and I believe reasonably priced for Chile near September 18, but there were some
strong negatives. I would be wary of taking a room near the market, check out your room
carefully as soon as you get in, and definitely be clear on the rate when you check-in.

Room Tip: Avoid the rear of the building, which is the party side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIsWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and the time that you take to write them, they help us to improve every day. We apologize for all the inconvenience you had during your stay product of the process of remodeling. Finally all the areas are finished and we have a brand new hotel, that will allow us to provide to all our guests first class facilities, the most modern and comfortable in the city.
Once again we would like to offer our apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay, and we remain at your disposal for any requirement or need in the future.

Best Regards

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    222
    79
    16
    5
See reviews for
136
153
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santiago, chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Holiday Inn Express in Iquique is what you need and expect for a short business trip: comfortable and clean room, nice breakfast, quietness. The beach (Playa Brava) is just in front of the hotel but not too near to the pubs or restaurants to be noisy, like others hotels in the area. The staff is friendly and the WiFi works. Given that iquiquenos are cheerful people and do not like to go to bed early, if you want a good night sleep, it is a good choice in the city.

Some tips: these days the hotel in under renovation, but if you ask for a room in the third floor and far from the lobby, no problem. I did so. And the way to the airport could be a problem: a new freeway is under construction, so if you have a flight during office hours, ask for a taxi in advance, because they just stop the traffic and you could miss your flight. Rooms with a seaview are more expensive, but do you really need one the the beach is right there, crossing the road?

Room Tip: rooms with a garden view are quieter and ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, thank you very much, They help us Improve every day, and motivate us to keep making things better and better!!

Kind Regards

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our room was reasonably large & well-equipped, but bland (still, you don't normally choose a hotel room for the aesthetic experience). The bed was comfortable, and the view (an 'ocean view' room) wonderful. Breakfast was OK - one of the few hotels we stayed in which had at least some hot options, and the coffee was marginally better than the nescafe instant which seems to be de rigeur throughout Chile. Downtown is a shortish drive or taxi ride away, but there is at least one decent restaurant within walking distance (Club Nautico).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnaeropuerto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments; they will help us improve our services. I hope we can have you back with us soon.
Best regards!

Holiday Inn Chile & Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Österreich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The rooms are nice and middle clean (under the beds they don't clean).
The stuff isn't very helpful or freindly, for check-in they needed a half an hour (with small kids this is really long, and we were alone at the reception). We've forgotten on one day our swinsuits at the pool and at the next day we din't find it, so I asked at the reception, and the woman just looked in the lost and found book and told me nothing is inside. She din't walked or called the cleaning stuff. I walked around alone and asked the cleaning stuff 2 minutes later I got our swimsuits... So the woman at the reception just din't wanted to help us.
Free very fast wifi.
Breakfast good, coninental breakfast (Eggs, sausages, jam, queso, sweet cakes....), the TV during breakfast disturbing.
You can heat your meal on the day at the microwave at the breakfast room.
The price is a little bit high for that class of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with window to the pool are quiet (the sea side is the street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaAustria4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear EvaAustria4,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied, as such, I am sorry if the level of service provided by our staff negatively affected your stay with us. We always try our best to fulfill our guest needs and we regret that we did not exceed your expectations.

Your feedback will be reviewed and will be used to reconsider improvements. We hope that you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We pulled into town and looked high and low for a hotel room, must have checked a dozen hotels, all full. Stopped by here and they had one room left at over $200, just your standard middle of the road, american hotel room. Kept looking, still no luck. Went back, room still available, thank goodness, as it was a looong way to the next town. Had a view of the ocean and could enjoy the pounding of the surf, nice. Smelled like the ocean though, not in a good way. Jellyfish all over the beach. Town was packed because it was high summer season, but not my idea of a nice beach town. Small pool in the courtyard. Nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Room would have been overpriced at half the cost, but we had since found out this was the norm in Chile.

Room Tip: Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to have you on your next visit to Iquique.

Kind Regards

Matias S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I think this is a good hotel for short stays and probably for families. Everything was clean, bed comfy, shower ok though the vinyl shower curtain was a bit smelly. No room service though I was told about a good sushi place nearby that delivered. Free wi fi which is a bonus especially considering I've paid $29 a day for it in 5 star hotels. Very nice service which to be honest is unusual in the north of Chile

Room Tip: Make sure you check your request for non smoking is confirmed in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate your comments, it's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be waiting for you on your next visit to Iquique.

Best Regards

Matias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Remember it is a Holiday Inn Express. Excellent location. Cross the street and you are in a great beach. Spacious room with sea view. Very good service. FREE Internet in rooms. Breakfast could have more variety of goods.

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards

Matias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquique hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Iquique
2.3 mi away
NH Iquique
NH Iquique
#6 of 22 in Iquique
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Terrado Arturo Prat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iquique Express
Hotel Iquique Express
#9 of 22 in Iquique
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spark Iquique
Hotel Spark Iquique
#10 of 22 in Iquique
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#13 of 22 in Iquique
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Iquique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Iquique

Property: Holiday Inn Express Iquique
Address: Avenida Arturo Prat 1690, Iquique 1110437, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Tarapaca Region > Iquique
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Iquique
#5 Business Hotel in Iquique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Iquique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for a hotel in Iquique, Chile, stay at the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Iquique. Excellence in service and high quality standards. With the best location in town the Holiday Inn Express Iquique is in front of the Playa Brava Beach and near the most lively, entertaining , dinning, nightlife area of Iquique. Downtown is only 5 minutes by car. Only a few minutes walking is the Casino of Iquique and 10 minutes by car is the famous Duty Free - Zona Franca area where you can shop & buy at more than 100 shops with tax-free up to USD$ 1.000. The Hotel is in direct access from the Airport (30 minutes). The Holiday Inn Express Iquique offers 100% Free WiFi access as well as free Buffet Breakfast, local Calls (not cellphones) and use of Business Center. We highly recommend to book the Ocean View Room in order to enjoy a wonderful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Iquique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iquique Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing