We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb”

Solocarnes y Aquarium
Ranked #10 of 295 Restaurants in Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Osorno, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as lamb”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nothing wrong as such, just a bit tackily over done.
Prices on the high side. I orded Cannelonis al Jaiba which was fine, but nothing special. Swimming in a too thin Bechamel, and not too strong on flavour.
Waitress also attended with cutlery and bread wearing latex gloves, which is fine in a deli, but clashed a bit with the restaurant experience, and I found it a bit sterile.

Service and decor great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fanninrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    113
    68
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashdod, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

One of the best restaurants i have ever been. The meat is so good and tasty. I had the 600gram stake and ate it comletely in 5 minutes because it was so good. defenetly will come back.

Helpful?
Thank Yosi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PALCE TO DINE”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was in Concepción for a week in November and ended up eating dinner at this restaurant 4 times. It was located behind my hotel (Holiday Inn) and I ate there not for the convenience (I had a car) but for the quality of the food, very good. The meat and the pasta were excellent (did not have the seafood) and for those, who like me, like assado de tira, it was fantastic (I had it twice). Well trained and professional staff. Highly Recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Solo Carnes Y Aquarium is a great restaurant in Concepcion and it is well located (near Trebol Mall, surrounding hotels an airport). Service is ok but the food is amazing, from meat to pasta. Nice garden to enjoy in summertime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meveab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excelent meat!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

First of all the meat is excelent!
Service is good, but not outstanding.
Location is great, because is 10 minutes away from the airport, so I use this restaurant to have lunch and then as Lounge before going to take the flights. It has free WIFI connection.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solocarnes y Aquarium also viewed

Concepcion, Biobio Region
Concepcion, Biobio Region
 
Concepcion, Biobio Region
Concepcion, Biobio Region
 
Concepcion, Biobio Region
Concepcion, Biobio Region
 

Been to Solocarnes y Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing