We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Jardin del Sol
Ranked #1 of 28 Arica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were given a warm welcome and a great overview of main sites/attractions. The small lounge area has comfortable seats and was great for a quiet read in the evenings. Breakfast in the courtyard was a pleasant setting, but we found the food less palatable than other places we have stayed in Chile, and they only serve instant coffee. The kitchen was quite good, but really, given the price of the rooms I don't understand why the gas is extra. Accommodation in Arica seems expensive compared with Santiago, for example. Our room was simple but comfortable, spacious enough, with comfy beds, it was very clean and the shower and bathroom was fine. We had a very enjoyable stay. We can recommend this hostal without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 293 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is awesome! It is very clean, breakfast was great - cereal, yogurt, sandwich with ham and cheese, coffee, tea, juice - not very common in South America. Rooms are spacious with a lot of closet space, TV, Wi-fi working in the rooms, but bathroom is a little small. The place has a really nice terrace and the people staying there are very respectful - no crazy young hostel kids. The location is 5-6 blocks to the center and it is in a safe area. The owners and Cecilia (who also works there) are amazing - they are operating better than the tourist office, not only have a lot og useful information about Arikla but also about all the surrounding areas, bus schedules, anything you might think of! Very helpful and attentive! You can leave your baggage and even use their showers after checkout. Thank you all!

Room Tip: The bathrooms can be a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni3x17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Jardin del Sol has pleasant rooms and nice patios to relax in. Like Arica, it is a pleasant place to relax and recharge your batteries. The staff are so nice and very helpful. They provide detailed information of everything to do in the region and help you organise trips that suit you. The written information is in both Spanish and English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hostal is located in an quiet area of Arica. The main street is about 10 minutes away, the ocean front 20 minutes. A taxi to the bus terminal is recommended and safer. There is a lobby with TV room and book exchange (although we had a small TV in our room), a patio with tables for breakfast, a computer room with 4 computers and one printer for guest use. A kitchen with fridge and lots of cooking utensils are provided, gas for cooking cost extra. The second floor comes with a terrace. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly, they can organize tours which is advertised on big posters. Our matrimonial room was very small, you could hardly walk around the bed. The sink is in the same room, warm shower and toilet is in the bath. The window goes to the patio, windows are not soundproof, the walls either. For the price absolute ok, would stay there again. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

In one word: FANTASTIC!
Good hotel, good price and the staff is so friendly and helpfull.
They can arrenge a rental car for a good price.
The patio is a nice hangout.
They respect nightime and close the patio at 11pm so you can have a good sleep

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillende_bizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hostel. Located 6 blocks from the central plaza (Colón). Nice, comfortable rooms in a very attractive atmosphere. The staff was great, especially Sandra, a real sweetheart. You are treated like a long time friend. Breakfast is solid and fresh, no extravagances. Not the cheapest place (especially if returning from Perú and Bolivia, as I was), but certainly a good value. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hostal Jardin del Sol has been recognised by many as a comfortable, efficient and welcoming hostel.
The rooms are small, but so well-designed that this presents no problem. The hostel has clearly been purpose-built with excellent design.
Breakfast is adequate, served promptly and with a smile on the delightful outside breakfast terrace which includes umbrellas, the leafy branches of a mature tree and a 26-year old tortoise. The upstairs kitchen is clean and well-equipped. There a 2 spacious lounge areas; one upstairs, the other in the foyer (the latter presumably predominantly for winter use). There's also a small, quiet business centre with several computers and a printer.
The staff - all female - are friendly, positive, practical and attentive.
Highly-recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arica hotels
2.1 mi away
Chinchorro Suite
Chinchorro Suite
#10 of 23 in Arica
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Arica
2.2 mi away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#5 of 23 in Arica
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sol de Arica
Hotel Sol de Arica
#20 of 23 in Arica
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#14 of 23 in Arica
3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apacheta
Hotel Apacheta
#2 of 23 in Arica
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jardin del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jardin del Sol

Address: Avenida Rafael Sotomayor 848, Arica 1000968, Chile
Location: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Arica
Price Range: $44 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Jardin del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing