We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired but still good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panamericana Hotel Arica
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's easy to miss the hotel sinec it doesn't say "Panamerica" on the sign, just Hotel Arica. Once inside, it's perfectly acceptable, just looking a bit dated. There was a large wedding on one of the nights we were there but the staff coped with dinner well. It's nice to sit by the pool and watch the sea. Three swimming pools including a kids' one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Panamericana Hotel Arica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I spent here 2 days, went for business. Service is very well, rooms are a few steps from the beach which is nice, since you hear the sea all the time. Food is very good, people from the city come to the restaurant often. As other travelers say, decoration is old and for sure looks old fashioned. Over all, it is a good option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo_Olguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very old fashionned hotel in front of the beach. Needs a renovation, breakfast ok, Nice pool, free wifi. Room ok but wet and smelly air condition, all turists of the region come here when coming from Putre.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Flavien2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arica is a small town in Northern Chile, close to the border to Peru. It has a nice pedestrian area in the city with a beautiful small church. Just 2 km far from the city to the south you find the Hotel Arica which is one of the two better ones you can find here. The hotel is in good condition compared to the local standard. Rooms are nice and clean. Mine had a beautiful view to the sea, opening the window during night i could enjoy listening to the waves. The breakfast is very good with fresh fruits, cereals, toast and more. For those who like walking or running in the morning the street passing the hotel to the town is very nice with its broad beach promenade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Panamericana and was probably the best option available. Great location near the sea, nice pools and service. If you are a family of 4, suggest one of the villas as opposed to a double room. The service was excellent due to holidays as they had kids activities in the morning and afternoons. It gets quite cool with the sea breeze, but there are some shelters around the pool and bar area. Breakfast was included and was so-so as they served the same thing every day, but lunches varied from BBQ to fixed to al lacarte. The bar was convenient and had a nice selection of cocktails. Beach is very close and a few other restaurants within walking distance - actually, only about 20mins walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Seaside or Villas
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlitos1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had booked a cabana for four, thinking it would come with two rooms. Unfortunately upon arrival I found the cabana was one big room with four beds. I wasn't at all pleased. Thankful the staff was willing to change our rental to a suit with two rooms and a shared bathroom, thus making with week a very nice one.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and restaurants are better. There were often parties at night out by the p...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuemchiNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Coming with an overnight flight from Europe we stayed our first 2 nights in South America in Arica. The lobby was a little dark, some building acitivty was going on right next to the entrance. We brought our suitcases up to the first floor by ourselfs - NO elevator. The room was basic and smelled "wet", the airconditioner made the smell even worse, so we opened the window to the ocean and a nice brise came in. We decided to leave it open (in March no problem).
The bathroom was clean, but could stand a renovation.
Next day we went into town and looked at other hotels and decided that our hotel was ok after all!
In the afternoon we took a swim in the pool, which has a ledge that makes you think that you swim in the ocean - outstanding!! We tried to get pool-towels, that took two trips walking to the reception to get them.
The coctails at the bar were also VERY tasty at reasonable prices, the dark KUNSTMANN beer is also really good- it was a great night :-), dinner was good and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arica hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apacheta
Hotel Apacheta
#2 of 23 in Arica
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aruma
Hotel Aruma
#1 of 23 in Arica
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#5 of 23 in Arica
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Beltran
Hotel Casa Beltran
#4 of 23 in Arica
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Samana
Hotel Samana
#6 of 23 in Arica
98 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chinchorro Suite
Chinchorro Suite
#8 of 23 in Arica
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hotel Arica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hotel Arica

Address: Avenida Comandante San Martin 599, Arica 1001708, Chile
Location: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Price Range: $95 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panamericana Hotel Arica 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panamericana Hotel Arica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arica Panamericana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing