We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
82
139
94
25
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
139
94
25
23
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 363 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We rented a little 'villa". We were steps from the beach and playground. Although a bit out of town we were able to find two great local restaurant within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was also nice. The view from the pool is outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paysages_pitoresques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed there for several nights. It is average in service and features but it is clean, the staff is friendly and if you dont have to be in the center of town it's perfect.

Room Tip: Romms # 400 are newer
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michal_yaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed two nights at Hotel Arica this June. Overall the hotel was adequate, but very dated and a ~8 min drive out of town. While taxis are cheap, it's a bit of a pain to have to find one and commute home after a night in town. Had two rooms, one ocean view suite and one single, suite was roomy with a mediocre ocean view (room 450), first single reeked of bleach but the front desk was accommodating with a switch. Bed comforter and bathroom were very dated and should have been replaced/updated years ago. Staff spoke zero English and they struggled with simple questions in spanish, such as "what is a good Peruvian restaurant in town for dinner and can you make us a reservation". Hotel has two pools, both of them were nice and the deck has a great view of the ocean.
Shower head had not been cleaned or replaced in a long time and sprayed water everywhere.

Overall a more than adequate hotel, clean, free spotty wifi, but very dated building, rooms, and facilities.

Room Tip: Lobby is loud at night
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obiwan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My girlfriend and I drove to Arica for a weekend getaway. She had stayed at the Panamericana several times before, and raved about its staff and the fun times she and her family had experienced before. However, the last time she was there was a few years before, and she remarked at how the place seems to have gone downhill. I would have to agree.

While the facilities are older and the rooms are small and showing their age, that wasn't my main complaint. Instead, we ran into a series of incidents showing us the management just wasn't very customer-friendly and (apparently) did not press their staff to be customer-friendly either. Some examples:

1. The tennis court, which looks magnificent on the website, looked like it had been ignored for weeks at least. It was crusty and dirty, and just basically unloved.
2. My girlfriend said she used to always get sandwiches delivered poolside, but both the bar and the management said they don't do that. ("Since when" she asked? "Since always," they answered!)
3. The food at night was styled as "fine dining" and priced as such, but the quality was low for both our meals.
4. The bedcover was very faded, the room small, and the tv not very new at all.
5. The pool is a bit small and homely.
6. We had to buy an adaptor for my computer, although they did refund the money at checkout.
7. At breakfast, we (and other guests) had to constantly ask if the juice would be refilled, if there would be more of this or that, etc. The waffles were like a plastic dog chew-toy and the eggs more like egg soup.
8. With hardly anyone else in the bar or at the pool, our order for two drinks took half an hour.

Most all of this could be taken care of by a more attentive management, but perhaps they don't care. With other locations to go to (at least in other cities if not in Arica), why settle for merely mediocre?

We had wanted to try Iquique - but the Hotel Terrado Suites were all booked. Perhaps it was by all the people fleeing Arica?

For the record, the place was clean, and it was not a nightmare situation. I loved being away with my girlfriend, and the hotel didn't really get in the way. I mean, it is on the beach, the food sustains you, the bed's ok, and the TV works and all. But we did find ourselves scratching our heads again and again as to why any management team would run a hotel like they seem to be doing at the Panamericana. This was supposed to be the best hotel in Arica, and it felt like they were going through the motions.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justhappytobehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

It's a comfortable hotel but, the website says it has hair dryers at the rooms and it has not.

There were people complaining about the noisy events arround the pool, fortunately we were in room 366 which was away from the party area, so we didn't hear anything.

Food is acceptably good, but I certainly have had better. You have to try "mango sour" is a delicious drink (but don't drink too much).

We were not at the private beach, so I have no opinion about it.
The pool was great, medium size and very clean.
The bathrooms had no tubs, just showers.

We spent most of our time in Valle de Azapa, Parque Nacional del Lauca, Lago Chungara, Playa El Laucho and shopping downtown.
We loved the tour to Lago Chungara, you can't lose it.

Summary: I loved the tours, but not very much the city itself. Hotel was fine, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vbarrazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews