We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Décor, Eclectic Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divinus

Divinus
Ranked #13 of 151 Restaurants in Antofagasta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Décor, Eclectic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Divinus is one of few restaurants open on Monday, that was one of the reasons we chose it. You can’t miss the place when you walk down the street, it’s the unique red building with the gold trimming. The décor inside is even more unique. The waiter did not speak English but we managed with the limited Spanish we know. The menu includes dishes from around the world with local interpretation and all the dishes we’ve tried were very good. For desert I tried the tiramisu with chestnut cream and it was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Top Restaurants in Antofagasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to celebrate a special occasion or important guests meet, this is one of the best options.

My wife and I went to celebrate Valentine's Day for excellent food and service. They had a special menu for that day so we had no option to choose.

The service could be a little slow when it is full and certainly should change the paper napkins for fabric ones, otherwise excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rehtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Facing rather quiet sideroad by a little park, but still the facade part of the terrace is made as a set of glazed doors - looked like that to me, at least. At the same time roof there is made of thin mats - bamboo perhaps. The whole arrangements cuts off the street noise, but lets in fresh air. Pleasant interior.
English menu, not sure about English speaking waiter, since I have been there with a Spanish speaker.
Very good food, very good selection of vines and alcoholic beverages in general, GOOD COFFEE - which is not always the case in Antofagasta. No noisy music of any kind. Good service - and the bill was lighter than I expected.
Not sure about delivery and brunch, therefore lest that open

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are few restaurants in Antofagasta that have well-prepared dishes and an international menu that's well put together. Dishes in this restaurant are flavoursome and serves are generous. The service is attentive and knowledgeable. The ambience is also quite nice, very nicely decorated and mood lighting makes this restaurant stand-out from others in the city.

Loved the Chicken Panang and the dessert degustation (lots of sweets!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fancy interior, fancy food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The atmosphere of this place is very nice, parts of the inside feel as though you are dining outside (except in a cleaner/quainter version of this city) and the food is presented very nicely by attentive wait-staff. The food on it's own wasn't any great shakes however, but it was decent. I cannot comment on the prices however, as I have only eaten here when my teaching program covered the costs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesatamette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divinus also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Divinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing