We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in douala”
Review of Ibis Douala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Douala
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Douala
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i have stayed at the Ibis during every visit to Douala over the last 17 years and know it well, no complaints at all, the rooms are a bit on the small side and the airconditioning used to be stuck on the "cook" level but this seems to have finally been sorted. What really make it are the staff, they understand service which is rare in West Central Africa, they do go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The Hotel is a short taxi ride away from central Douala but far enough away to be considered quiet. One outstanding feature is the showers, they are the best i have experienced anywhere and feel they are connected to a rig rated dupluex pump- top marks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 379 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

My second business trip to Douala in two months.After a very dispapointing stay at the Meridian previously we choose the Ibis hoping for something better and was not diapointed.Although not as luxurious is some areas as the Merdian,with smaller bedrooms my collegue and I had no complaints. Clean rooms, peaceful location,friendly staff, good resturant and great braekfasts and over 30% cheaper all round than the Meridian.We used their meeting room for a presentation to some of our customers and received great support from the staff in hosting the event. at short notice.We actually had one meal out back at the Meridian as my collegue had not stayed there to be confronted once again with our priced,poor quality food, (despite the manager assuring us to try their new fusion menu resturant after my last review) no atmosphere,two other perople in teh returant and no one in teh bar. The ibis bar is great,lively (not rowdy),music most nights,sataliete TV so us expats can watch teh fottball and great place to meet like minded soles on business.Highkly recommended and we shall stay again, bonus now is taht the rooms are being refurbished so looking forward to seeing these in october.For a safe,friendly envirorment we were most impressed.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool,much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Small but well appointed rooms, no room service, no tea/coffee maker in the room, extremely safe and in the heart of the city so convenient. Lovely bar and in house restaurant apart from a few good ones in the vicinity.
Average pool but its really relaxing since there are limited entertainment options as such.
Restaurant needs more variety on the menu.... you have to go to the bar for drinks as the restaurant does not serve on the table so you have to switch between places if you want both

Room Tip: Ask for the poolside room as thats more relaxing to see than the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Ibis Douala is simply put a very nice, low budget hotel. Friendly service, minimalistic but efficient rooms. Clean and simple.

I enjoyed the daily live music and Live showing of the EURO football games in the main bar. Nice athmosphere that welcomed interaction with other guests.

The restaurant is simple but good. The variety of food and daily specials are of the normal Ibis standards.

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and apart from the non functioning safe and the perculiar free condoms I have nothing to complain about.

Most defenatly the best budget option in Douala.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabi_Abidjan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Was on a business trip. Arrived to find the receptionist complaining that she was hungry and tired and overworked. It was nt personal, but we faced the brunt of her complaints. The bar and television room reeked of smoke - stale smoke. Yet everyone else was friendly. And for some reason, we felt safe.
From stories we have heard of the insecurity to be out on the streets alone in Douala, we felt quite safe in the IBIS.
Would I stay there again, I guess so.
I must admit on the following day, thogh the receptionist was still matronly, she was much friendlier.
But the Accor groups adverts within the hotel suggesting that they have prompt and top service response falls way below expectations.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed only one night on business in this crime ridden, backwater of a city. Was advised repeatedly not to go wandering out on the town by locals so I did not.

Reception was friendly and brisk. The room was small with a firm mattress (supported by wooden boards, not box springs). Shower/bathroom reminded me of those on a cruise ship they were so small but everything was clean and functional. Sleep was occasionally disturbed by poor acoustics in the noisy hallway.

The 1st floor bar was nice with good cold draft beer and the restaurant food was decent quality for Africa. Plenty of TV's playing, of course, soccer (boring!) to appease the largely European clientele. English use and comprehension by staff was pretty good if your Francais is a little rusty (or nonexistant). Breakfast "buffet" was passable with fruit, coldcuts, good juice selections and quality pastries and breads. Service altogether friendly and competent.

The big attratcion to me was the nice leafy outside area with a long pool surrounded by fences and razor wire. Bill for one night was $146 USD- Seems like alot for such a poor country but my company was paying anyway.

Altogether I can recommend the Ibis as a practical, no frills place to eat and sleep in a place with very, very few luxury options.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douala hotels
1.1 mi away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#3 of 32 in Douala
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
1.4 mi away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#8 of 32 in Douala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#6 of 32 in Douala
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akwa Palace
Hotel Akwa Palace
#9 of 32 in Douala
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence La Falaise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Douala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Douala

Address: Rue Pierre Loti, Bonanjo 184, Douala BP 12086, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Douala
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Douala 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Douala hotel is located in the centre of the Bonanjo business centre and 5 km from the Akwa theatre district. Free shuttle service between the hotel and the airport 7 km away. Offering all the amenities of a higher class of establishment, the hotel has 160 air-conditioned rooms and a meeting room for organising seminars and conferences. You will also find a restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace with a swimming pool and closed parking, free and guarded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Douala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Douala Hotel Douala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing