We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated room, but I was grateful for it...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Akwa Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Akwa Palace
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated room, but I was grateful for it...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

"Well, our problem has returned and we need to dump fuel and head back to Douala" said the pilot on night-time Air France flight from Douala to Paris. That freaked me out a bit. I was on my way back to the States from Malabo, EG and was ready to get home. I had no visa for Cameroon - and getting dumped into a third-world airport in the middle of the night wasn't my idea of a fun time. Air France didn't help much - they provided very little information about what our next steps would be. But after a bit of chaos in baggage claim, I signed onto a voucher with three Brits and we all piled into an over-stuffed bus that took us to the Akwa Palace in downtown Douala.

It was obvious from the outside that this place was much nicer than the flea-infested version in my worst-case scenario mental state. The staff was friendly and checked us all in very quickly. Rooms were clean and spacious. WiFi was glacial in the rooms, but decent in the lobby.

In the morning, I found my way to the restaurant for breakfast which was very nice. Food was great. Many professional people - not all guests of the hotel - were there as well. The hotel has a really nice pool and pool-side bar/restaurant. Later on during the day I had lunch in the pool-side bar - lamb with fries - which was terrific. The gift shop was loaded with dusty, vastly overpriced junk... no reason to buy anything there. I wasn't brave enough to venture too far out into the city, but there isn't a lot around this hotel. Others who know Douala better may have a different opinion - but I erred towards the side of caution, not knowing when we'd be called on to head back to the airport.

All in all, my experience was positive. The manager was super friendly and very interested in improvement ideas. Apparently the rooms are being updated - that will be helpful. The public spaces could be brought up to date as well. In any case, while you may be able to do better in Douala than the Akwa Palace, I was grateful to have had the experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms will be noisy - Doualans have discovered the horn and use it copiously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Brian,

We thank you very much for the positive feedback you have posted on your recent stay at Hotel Akwa Palace on Trip Advisor. We have indeed passed on your comments to our members of staff at the Reception as well as to our restaurant and Kitchen staff. We have certainly made note of your comment on the Gift Shop which is a rented space in our property and have shared it with the tenant in order to bring in some improvements on the display and variety of items.

I have the pleasure to confirm that the hotel is indeed about to undergo a soft reburbishment programme starting early 2014.

We are conveniently located in the central business district of Douala close to shops, banks and the cultural centre. It is very safe to venture out in the streets during the day but not so advisable on your own at night.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Gerard Schraven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    71
    60
    27
    13
See reviews for
9
4
12
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ideally located in the heart of Douala, the Hotel Akwa Palace combines the charm of the colonial tradition and the most modern comforts in a warm and refined setting. Close both of the tourist and cultural centre, the Akwa Palace is located in the heart of the business center of the Cameroonian economic capital.

Room Tip: Its is near to Airport n has Shuttle Service for Pick n Drop from Airport. But the tariff is too hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachinIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard_Schraven, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear SachinInd.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your previous visit on Trip Advisor!
We value your feedback which will be shared with our staff members and trust you will be back with us on your next trip to Douala.

Kindest regards,
Gerard Schraven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for two weeks this month and it is definetely not a four star hotel it claims to be. On arrival i was checked into a smelly and moudly room. As i couldnt stand the smell, i requested for another room and this i got only after some insults from the fair skinned receptionist. The new room was not any better. I was eventuall moved to a better room (in another wing of the hotel) on my fourth night. Another shocker is that Wi-Fi is only available at the reception area; Every occupant in need of this service is expected to come and hang around the reception to use it! The swiming pool is good thou , i also enjoyed the two meals i had in the smaller restaurant of the hotel (the hotel has two restaurants). Overall Akwa Palace is just an average hotel NOT a four star!!

Room Tip: If you must stay in Akwa Palace, inisist on having a room at the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

too expensive and so much noises. it was hard for me to fall asleep. I would not recommend it to anyone. had better for less price. the staff was rude and disrespectful. the food was almost cold and the Wi-Fi was the slowest I ever experience. I had to wait over 2hours to have my food serve. the room was clearly missing decoration

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douala hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Douala, Cameroon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I visited Douala, Cameroon, stayed in Akwa Palce hotel a very neat and clean place, very friendly staff, nice swimming pool, too good Bar with live music in wk ends,. But if you move around in Douala city you have to be very careful specially if you are white skin it;s not safe place to walk, very few place you can walk Bonopriso, Bononojo, if you don;t speak French you are in more trouble to move around.

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool is very nica
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineshTiwariHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visit Douala, Cameroon for business once or twice a year. It is always challenging to find clean nice accommodations in this busy city. The Akwa Palace is centrally located and has good clean rooms, acceptable service, and a nice pool. I would say it is equivalent to a good 3 or 4 star hotel in Europe.

Room Tip: There is a refurbished section so ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
276 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends ate here this weekend and found the setting very clean and tidy especially the lovely pool area. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Seemed very busy as there was a Mother's Day meal going on . Gifts for guests was a nice touch. Did not see the rooms but the rest of the hotel looked well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dalesman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douala hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Douala
Ibis Douala
#1 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
1.7 mi away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 31 in Douala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#6 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#5 of 31 in Douala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sawa
Hotel Sawa
#16 of 31 in Douala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akwa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akwa Palace

Property: Hotel Akwa Palace
Address: Boulevard de la Liberte 920, Douala 4007, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Akwa Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Douala, the Akwa Palace Hotel combines the charm of the colonial tradition with the most modern comfort within a refined and warm atmosphere. The Akwa Palace Hotel is close to the vibrant cultural and tourist centers and is situated in the middle business district of Douala, the economic capital of Cameroon. The Akwa Palace is made of 2 buildings, the Akwa 1, 3*** and the Akwa 2, 4**** Deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Akwa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing