We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuk Tuk ride away from Angkor wat”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #101 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2009

The Tara Angkor Resort is located about 6 kilometers (15 minutes by tuk-tuk) from the ruins of Angkor Wat and about 4 kilometers (10 minutes) from the center of Siem Reap. We stayed there for 3 nights in February. We were on the top floor in a Deluxe category room. Our price of $105/night included daily buffet breakfast, transportation to and from the Siem Reap airport, and a free dinner at a local restaurant with an Apsara cultural show. We booked on line and were able to get a “Hot Deal” promotion. The hotel is very new having just opened in the past 2 years. All of the furnishings and floorings are in very good condition. The rooms are clean and well maintained if a bit Spartan (no art work). The rooms have very good air conditioning, a walk in shower in addition to a tub, a separate dressing area, a mini fridge and include free bottled water daily which you will want to use- not even the locals drink the tap water! There are 2 computers in the lobby for internet use which costs $3/hour – they run slow. The style of the entire hotel is oriental-minimalist and very comfortable. Upon arrival the airport driver met us on time and helped with luggage- he also brought cool towels and bottled water for us. The restaurant at the hotel was an extremely good value and provided high-quality meals. There is a $4US dinner special daily featuring local and Asian specialties. The buffet breakfast offered a fair variety of foods that were fresh. The pool is about 30 feet by 15 feet (good for laps) and was always clean. It is difficult to get pool side service and you will need to go in to the restaurant to get something to eat or drink pool-side even though there is an outside pool bar. Otherwise, the service at the hotel was excellent. The hotel will not provide transportation to Angkor Wat or into town, however, they will call you a tuk-tuk to take you to the Angkor Wat site because there are no taxi cabs. This is better anyway, as the tuk-tuk driver will wait at each site for you then drive you to the next one. A driver should cost $15 for the entire day (agree in advance). We also hired a guide for one day (through the driver) which cost us $25. His English was very good (check before hiring). The drivers start to get a bit anxious in the afternoons and try to get you to go back from the site early, so be firm and let them know you are hiring them until sunset (when the park closes). The humidity is very oppressive (even in the cool season) so you will need to bring several liters of water to the park per person per day. As a side note- bring us$2 bills, the locals consider them good luck and this will earn you good will.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. This hotel simply exceeded all our expectations. If you like impeccably clean hotels, good service, friendly staff and a great location you’ll love this place. For shear value for money it would take some beating. Our holiday consisted of stays at 9 different hotels and the Tara Angkor was easily the best in terms of overall excellence.
I have been travelling globally for more than 30 years on both business and leisure and I would find it difficult to name a hotel which offers better value for money than this one. Our only regret was that our schedule did not allow us to stay longer. We are already talking about returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikestevens2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

This is a hotel that is aspiring to be a 4-star hotel, but hasn't quite made it yet. With a spare facade (at least compared to some other hotels on the road), comfortable lobby, and adequate pool area, it's a nice hotel to return to in the heat of midday. The restaurant is pretty reasonable, and they have dance shows about 2 or 3 times a week during dinner. They usually want you to have dinner while watching the show, but there were so few people when we stayed here, that they let us just sit with a drink and watch.

They do behave like an upper class hotel in that they charge extravagantly for services - stamps, phone calls, internet use, airport taxi, laundry, etc. There's a number of tuktuks right outside the hotel, and you can take a short ride into town and accomplish all these things at half the price or less. Also, they offer free shoe-shines, but I was disappointed when my shoes came back, and the white stitching highlights had been blackened over by shoe polish.

The reception and concierge tried to be helpful, but several of them had trouble understanding spoken English. However, we were always able to find a member of the staff who did understand, or we were able to write down our questions, which was easier for them to read and understand. I left a letter with them to mail internationally, but now , several weeks later it still hasn't arrived. It may be the Cambodian mail system's fault rather than the hotel.

We were welcomed with beautiful flower decorations in our room because of a special occasion. That was very thoughtful and welcoming of them. The deluxe room was large and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The cheap furniture detracted a little bit from the ambience of the room.

The breakfast was very good. A large selection with pretty good quality, and several tastes were catered .

Overall it was a very good place to stay. However, next time, I'd probably try another place, just to see if I can find something of better value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights so my partner and i could go see the wonders of Angkor, which are only a 10 minute drive away. After a long, exhausting journey from Thailand, we were a bit dead on our feet but the reception staff sat us on comfy sofas, handed us cool drinks and checked us in swiftly and with ease.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the room we stayed in had everything we needed (comfy beds, A/C, clean bathroom, nice toiletries and a tv) although for some reason they checked us into a twin room rather than a double as originally requested. The staff were friendly and if they couldn't answer one of our questions, they went to check and called us right back. They also gave us an internet card that allowed us an hour's usage on the business centre's computers, which was very handy.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant the first night, the food was lovely and reasonably priced for hotel fare, the cocktails were pretty good too! The buffet breakfast was wonderful with a massive array of tasty fresh food to get you ready for a day of sight-seeing. You can also pick something off the menu to be packed up as a picnic if you wish to eat on the fly while exploring the temples.

Overall i had a wonderful stay at the hotel and in my opinion it was really good value for money but i agree with the previous reviewer about the phone charges being pricey. My call bill did seem very high for the amount of time i spent on the phone so go careful! Despite this i would definitely return for another stay should i visit Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonCou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

As a whole, we had very positive impressions of our staying at Tara Angkor, most of the staff were very helpful and friendly and did everything to make us feel like home. Service is decent and properties of the hotel look amazing.

But one sad accident has spoiled everything - it is their charging of IDD phone calls. During our check in, their receptionist girl has informed us of the price formula of these calls: $ 5 for the first minute and $ 0,50 for each subsequent minute, whatever the country. During check out it was made clear that actual flat price of IDD calls is $ 5,50 per minute. We had a strong impression that this misunderstanding was made intentionally due to the following reasons: a/ nothing would be easier than just explain us the flat rate of $ 5,50 per minute and not divide this amount by two components ($ 5 and $ 0,50); b/ during our initial meeting she has made a statement of our poor knowledge of English ("you speak english very slowly, looks like it is not your native tongue"), most likely it was done to make sure that we did not understand her correctly just in case. But it is absolutely clear that she separated two prices: $ 5 and $ 0,50 instead of giving us flat rate of $ 5,50.

In our expectations, the price of our IDD calls should be $ 64,50 but in fact they charged us $ 363 only for phone calls, so we had to pay $ 298,50 extra, which exceeded the amount of our whole stay at Tara Angkor. After explanations with manager, she promised to punish the receptionist, but not a single word about returning the money. So if you stay at this hotel, avoid calling home!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Websurfer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoWtara, Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2009

Dear Valued guests,

On behalf of the Tara Team we would like to apologize for the incident and miss-communication that was caused during your visit.

Siem reap's telephone prices are still very high as there are very few companies providing this service. Our rates are similar to other hotels in the area, in our case we charge as it was mentioned 5.50$ per minute.

We deeply apologize for the communication mistake that our employee has performed.
Firstly it was not her place to comment on your English and after discussing your review with her she sends her deepest apologies and said that in no case it was her intention to judge you.
Secondly, we apologize for the miss-communication with the telephone charges. We are currently taking the time to start our yearly training with all our employees in regards to standards, hotel services, area information, communication skills, languages (English and French) and much more.

Once more, on behalf of the Tara Team we would like to express our sincerest apologies and please know that in no case our aim was to take advantage of you during your stay with us.

The Tara Team thanks you for pointing out this incident as we are constantly trying to improve our services and property, thus we take guests comments very seriously.

Very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Hotel exceeded expectations at $289 for 3 nights including breakfast, one dinner at hotel, free wifi card, airport transfers.

Greeted warmly by staff everyday. Clean and new hotel rooms. Excellent service by front desk and concierge. Adaptor and nokia phone charger provided within 5 mins after our request at 1130PM.

Trip went well except for one incident. Beware of tourist thieves!

We booked a car and driver for the day tour and 3 tourist theives from another car stormed into our car while we were sightseeing. Our driver stopped them and only to find out later that our postcards and books in the car were stolen. We were lucky to get our things back as our driver knew the other driver and requested our things to be returned.

We saw the 3 thieves and took photos of them. Other than that, all cambodians we met are friendly.

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank tipHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights from 18/01/09.Really good.Pool area clean,water warm.Rooms clean,bed ok,shower worked.
Breakfast came with the usual hotel choices,which was fine.We had a couple of dinners and tried the Cambodian dishes.They were great.
A tuktuk ride to bars and nightlife,but as we were so tired from the sightseeing that was no problem to us.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#58 of 384 in Siem Reap
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 384 in Siem Reap
5,495 reviews
1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#46 of 384 in Siem Reap
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#78 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $37 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand stylish 4 stars hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing