We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pool”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great pool”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

For some reason, I do not remember my room, probably because I spent most of the time at their magnificent pools! I know from my fellow travelers that the restaurant at the hotel was overpriced, and the food was not very good. However, pools make up for it. The hotel is very clean. I remember waking up to a chanting of the monks. Perhaps, the wind brought the recorded sounds from Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,135
    221
    37
    27
See reviews for
457
1,427
224
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our room was on the ground floor next to the exit which constantly had slamming doors, day and night. We had breakfasts and 2 lunches. The meals were great. The staff in the restaurant were lovely as per the doormen and porters. So polite and friendly. The staff at the front counter weren't so easy to get along with. Hardly smiled, didn't speak too much English. We had a tour which entailed swimming but the hotel would not allow us to take a towel with us which I have never come across before. Beds were bricks, I had a sore back every morning. Had a great spa package. Overall nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caryis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was arranged as part of a package. We were picked up from the airport by our tour guide and were treated like royalty as soon as we walked in the door. The staff are all very courteous and they carry themselves with such serenity you could feel yourself relaxing immediately.

We had a superior room which was lovely and the bathroom was also roomy. The shower was great. The air conditioning was perfect which was a lifesaver as our stay was during the rainy season and the humidity was tough.

The food at the hotel was varied and to a very good standard.

The outdoor poor was perfect and quiet anytime we used it. We also tried out the spa and experienced 3 hours of heaven!

The only down side to our stay was the pretty poor wi-fi connection

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We booked for a tour package that included 3 nights stay in this hotel, daily buffet breakfast, 1 dinner and lunch buffet (in this hotel) and a tour guide with car service.

Location: The hotel is very near the Angkor National Museum and some shops.; a few mins away from the temples. This is quiet location and about 10 mins away ($2) tuktuk away from the more busy Pub Street. So if you want a more convenient place or nearer the market and restaurants, then you may find this a bit out of the way. However, it does compensate for the fact that the it is in the quiet and cleaner part of the city.

It is best to pass by a convenience store before heading out to the hotel.

Service: Room service is not 24 hours but the staff are friendly and they do try their best to meet your demands.

Room: Small bathroom and not extremely clean. The housekeeping staff doesn't clean the bathroom as much.

We had problems with the aircon..but was too tired to complain about it. It is better to get a room that overlooks the swimming pool/courtyard.

Food: Breakfast was good but the first few days it was soooo crowded. Love the noodle/soup bar. Dinner buffet was a little scaled down with less choices as breakfast and lunch. The fruits were delicious

WI-FI- this is the worst part of the hotel. The Wi-fi in the rooms was sooo slow, if you can even connect. I was only able to really connect, upload, Skype and FaceTime when I am at the lobby. So if this is an important feature for you, then ask for a room at the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipoahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is one of the best hotel I ever stay with. Clean , very good located and modern.
Restaurants are very good ,pool it's amazing and really nice SPA with friendly staff ;)
Definetly I would love to stay there if I visit Cambodia again:)
............,................

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrzysioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I love the people of Cambodia most especially the staff of Tara Angkor. The hotel is just a tuktuk away from the temples, just 15 mins away from Angkor Wat. The museum is just a block away. Great restaurants are just a few steps away. The staff literally lives to serve the guest! Most of the staff speak very good english especially the doormen. My friend and I stayed at room 346 and until now we talk about our room because it was really our home away from home. The hotel is always pristinely clean! The buffet breakfast spread is impressive. They have continental, asian and Halal food. Make sure you email them before you arrive so they could arrange a complimentary shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Their restaurant closes at I think 10pm but one can easily go to Pub Street where restaurants and bars closes until the wee hours. Tuktuks are conveniently waiting outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and made it a great start. They had honored our honeymoon by giving us a cake and putting rose pedals throughout our room. They helped with any questions we had and anything we needed. The rooms are a great size and very clean. The resort has a nice pool and a relaxing spa. They have a great breakfast buffet which I could have eaten all day. It is located near Angor Wat which makes for a great trip to the temples.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#53 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 344 in Siem Reap
4,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#45 of 344 in Siem Reap
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 344 in Siem Reap
3,545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#57 of 344 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing