We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #84 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I were not that impressed. We got a better overall package at a little place we stayed at that cost 1/3 the price of this hotel.

Positives:
-Beautiful water feature in the courtyard.
-Very clean.
-Large bed (two beds pushed together. You could see and feel the gap in between)
-Free weights in the gym.

Negatives:
-Rock hard bed and very uncomfortable.
-Light switch to the main room was in the middle of the headboard. (Who wants to climb into bed all dirty just to turn on the light?)
-Air conditioner would stop blowing out cold air randomly making the room stuffy and hot.
-No one knew what we were talking about when we asked about the poster in the elevator advertising the seafood dinner they have on weekends.
-The “grillers” dinner that we paid $20 for was absolutely the worst food we ate in Cambodia. The meat was rock hard and I’m talking about the beef, pork, AND chicken. I often times overcook chicken breast and steak but this was on another level. You needed a jackhammer to get through the meat. It was so bad, geez.
-Staff was the least friendly in this hotel. (We stayed at two hotels before checking into this one.)
-Hotel is on the way to the temples but a little out of the way from the main areas of Siem Reap. Tuk Tuk was only $2 though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel on this website.

I was so very disappointed to read that, on this occasion, we were unable to meet your expectations, and that your time with us was not what you were hoping for.

I am sorry that we were unable to assist with a negative issue during stay while some issue we can do something better such bed while we also provide another thick bed pad to support of softener preference and others issued has been brought up to share with all head department to aggressive on the training detail while technical site will be report to project concerned.

Please accept my apologies of those cause you inconvenience. I was extremely concerned to read that whilst you tried to speak to a member of our management team, you were unable to do so. We have a representative of management on duty 24 hours a day, to assist with any enquiries, and I was very disappointed that you were not able to make contact with them. Please be assured that I have taken your feedback and shared it with the relevant individuals, so that this situation does not recur for any future guests.

I can only apologise that your time with us was not the memorable experience both you and indeed we as a hotel were hoping it might be. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in us, and be able to welcome you back once more.

Kind regards,

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    1,118
    217
    36
    27
See reviews for
453
1,396
223
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Soulless. Awful breakfast. Dominated by large tour groups. Uncomfortable bed. Unable to leave as Siem Reap was full for the Cambodian New Year. Nice pool but insufficient sun beds. Very clean. Not recommended unless you get a very good room rate indeed. Some staff were lovely, reception and doormen especially. Breakfast service poor and surly on occasion.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel on this website.

I was so very disappointed to read that, on this occasion, we were unable to meet your expectations, and that your time with us was not what you were hoping for.

Since we are in the services industry and of course it will be open to welcome for all of the client both individual or group guest under standard per commitment.

I can only apologise that your time with us was not the memorable experience both you and indeed we as a hotel were hoping it might be. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in us, and be able to welcome you back once more.

Kind regards,

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel which is well located, but tainted for me by an extremely uncomfortable mattress! The staff were friendly and helpful, and added a second mattress topper to the bed, which slightly improved it's comfort, however I still woke with a bad back 3 out of the 4 nights that we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to write us on this website.

We are happy to learn that you found our hotel was fantastic and disappoint only point of bed but I would like to clarify that all of requirement can be talk to our manage on duty while supporting of softener bed pad also available.
I can only apologise that your time with us was not the memorable experience both you and indeed we as a hotel were hoping it might be. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in us, and be able to welcome you back once more.

Best Regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. Service is quite good, all the staff is polite and will greet you every time you pass by them. The hotel food isn't bad and well-priced. The hotel's location is one of its strong points being about 10 minutes away from Angkor Wat and 10 minutes from the Night Market/Pub Street (by Tuk-tuk). What makes this hotel so great is its value for what you pay per night. My only regret is that their pool isn't very big, and pools are very important especially in the heat of Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was good and the pool area was relaxing and well appointed.

It is a good walk into the centre of Siem Reap but there are plenty of tuk tuks just outside and it only takes about 5 mins.

I would definitely return to this hotel if I was lucky enough to go back to Siem Reap.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in early April 2014. Rooms well- decorated for price range, clean, neat and very well-maintained. Staff extremely polite and attentive. Location : 5 minutes away from Night Market, yet secluded enough (no traffic noise, no yahoos!) food great and very reasonably priced. Even the mini- bar prices are reasonable . Very good guide services through hotel- again, solid value, no attempts to extort! Only lost 1 star - on account of the pool which could be just a tad cleaner . Overall: strong recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing into the interior courtyard, 2nd or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Tara Angkor is well positioned between the Angkor temples and the main tourist part of the town. Therefore it is nice and quiet yet within 5 minutes of the mayhem that is Siem Reap.
The hotel staff are really excellent and the rooms are OK, and if you are using this as a base for temple exploration it fits the bill really well.
The only minor criticisms are that there are no balconies to dry your clothes after what is often a dusty, sweaty and tiring day, and the clothes line that pulls out over the bath won't get your clothes dry overnight. Most day trips to the temples seem to end between four and five, and the cool pool thoughts dominate your mind. However, the pool is small a d getting a sunbed impossible, so the shower awaits.
Breakfasts are OK but the juice quality is not good and there is little choice of bread, though again it is a minor criticism. Service in the breakfast restaurant was excellent, as was the coffee!
If you are looking for a comfortable temple base, this will do a good job.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#50 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#34 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,711 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#40 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#14 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#63 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing