We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and comfortable hotel”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel was pre-booked for us with our travel company, however we were not disappointed. The room was lovely and comfortable (and we were upgraded as we were on honeymoon). We found the bar at the hotel a little expensive compared to those bars out in Siem Reap itself- however nothing too unusual.

The pool was lovely - although it did get busy at the end of the day when people return from temple viewing.

The breakfast was excellent - especially the fresh eggs in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to review us in this website.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel, and I am so pleased to see that you were able to make good use of our variety of breakfast and facilities throughout your stay. Your encounter with our team and their attentiveness seem to have made an impression, which is lovely to read.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the next visit.

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,135
    221
    37
    27
See reviews for
457
1,427
224
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

There are a lot of high-quality hotels in Siem Reap. Tara Angkor is a good one and is well located. From a sample of one, it is impossible to position it against the myriad competitors.
Check-in was unnecessarily tedious and complicated by staff trying to manage the process with personal service in the lounge over a complimentary green-tea, rather than require the guest to go to a reception counter. It didn't really work.
Luggage service was super-efficient: two bell-boys in search a tip each!
Bedroom and bathroom were spacious well laid-out with Welcome Tray and high-class toiletries. linen and towels are of exceptionally high-quality too. Excellent guest laundry service.
Annoying door lock design. From the corridor, the bedroom door could only be closed by slamming it noisily. A/C and heating efficient easy to use.
Large, quiet and pleasant level-deck swimming pool at rear of hotel. Changing facilities and poolside service excellent.
Dinner with local Khmer specialities was good but not as as a local restaurant visited on the previous evening.
Fiasco at check-out when client was proposing appropriate additions to the bill, initially rejected by the cashier!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued client,

Thank you for your time to review us on tripadvisor.

All the comment both positive and negative are always important for our further improve and grasp for better stand and apologies for some behaviour or character of staffs which was not made you satisfied anyway, it is brought up to their head area to look into and take action appropriately.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Although booked by our travel agent (it is popular with tour groups) this turned out to be a great place to stay. Just a 5 minute, $2 tuk-tuk ride away from the small centre of town. It was not at all noisy - previous TA reviews indicated this might be a problem - and the service and attitude of the staff was OUTSTANDING. Our large 2nd floor room was well provisioned (fresh fruit, free wi-fi) and the pool was great. We dined in several times and were impressed with the quality and freshness of the food and at a reasonable price. The breakfast selection was a bit average because it catered to so many different nationalities. The attitude and friendliness of all members of staff was what made this special - I needed change of a US $100 note at 10.30pm to pay a driver and this was no problem, despite them being in the middle of the finance close off for the night. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms would be OK in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you and your enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that we were able to create a home away from home feeling for you all whilst in London. I am pleased that you were able to make good use of our wide range of facilities, and in particular our Spa and Health Club.

It is always a pleasure for me to read about the memorable experiences our team members are creating for our guests, so thank you once again for sharing your thoughts.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Moderately priced hotel on the edge of Siem Reap. Modern amenities,large room with king size bed. Internet,pool good breakfast buffet.Walking distance to downtown ,National Museum and short ride to Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to review us of your recent stay.

Along with the rest of our team, I was delighted to read such positive comments about your experience here with us. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the luxury of our comfortable and spacious rooms.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Our room was a good size, well equipped and we were greeted with a cake and rose petals on the bed celebrating our honeymoon. We ate in the hotel the first night, the food was good, but timing of it coming out could be better, my starter and my wife's main came out at the same time, which wasn't a problem, but a bit of a school boy error when it comes to serving dinner. The food was good, if not a little pricey, as it normally is in a hotel.

There is a nice bar, but it wasn't very busy so it was generally just the two of us in there having a nightcap :) There is an outdoor pool and I think a gym, not that we made it to it!

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection of european and eastern dishes to choose from.

All in all I'd recommend staying here if you come to see the temples (which are a short car journey away)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking time to review us on this website.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience on your honeymoon trip in our hotel , and I am so pleased to see that you were able to make good use of our variety of restaurants and facilities throughout your stay. Your encounter with our team and their attentiveness seem to have made an impression, which is lovely to read.

Apologies for food timing while chef has been instructed and alert of his team.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 5 nights ant the Tara and found it to be excellent after the hustle of Cambodia.Nice newer hotel with large pool and everything you expect in a modern hotel. I had only one small complaint is that the bed was a bit hard for my liking but if I was in Siem Reap would definitely go back

Room Tip: courtyard room and don't expect to see many Taxis in Cambodia but cheap TukTuks everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this website.

Needless to say, I was absolutely delighted to read that once again, our team were able to exceed your expectations and that your stay with us truly was a pleasurable one. It is our aim to ensure our guests feel at home away from home, and it is wonderful to read that we were able to do just that for you.

Sorry for mattress issue while will bring up to Board committee and find out for further solution.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Tara Angkor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very unfortunate if you happen to forget any valuables in the room they will surely disappear !!! And to top it all if you are 2 or more sharing the room , instead of actually interrogating the staff, that have the audacity to put the blame on one of you !!!! Unheard of ! The extent someone will stoop to, save their own skin .Shame on you Tara Angkor -- not at all expected from a hotel like you. SHAME !!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kavitabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Sadness to hear that you're still not satisfied on the action which was done by fully investigation beside of police file report as you're mentioned with police that it's lost somewhere not in the hotel and I would like to repeat again that staff who entered your for her duty is our royalty staffs who working with us by long term and clean of profile.

We also fail once seeing your negative comment on this website.

So far our security system also strictly with confident to make all client safe during stay such CCTV, key card reader record also file record from all security officer who working along with room maid on the floor.

We are not ignorant on the case as you also seen our action how our Guest Services manager who done fully investigation with team and also escorted you to file in the police.

Anyway, if there is anything we did not made you satisfy during stay, please feel free to contact direct via email: gm@taraangkorhotel.com.

Best regards

Tara Angkor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#53 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 344 in Siem Reap
4,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#45 of 344 in Siem Reap
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 344 in Siem Reap
3,545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#57 of 344 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing