We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lemongrass scented lobby, good brekkie selection and great service”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Tara Angkor Hotel is one of the many reasons why our Siem Reap experience was quite memorable. Energizing lemongrass scent and their friendly staff greeted us as soon as we entered. Rooms are spotless and spacious, breakfast is delicious and varied. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank GK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to review us on this website.

We are proud to learn that you're happy with our services and facilities during your stay.

All valued comment which is such big motivation and staffs were happy after shared them a valued.
Look forward to welcoming you back in next visit.

At your services.

Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Staff friendly, occasionaly over the top but thats just down to training and experience. Facilities ok, they could probably make better use of bar/eating options - i was not really tempted to stay in.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking time to review us on this website.

We happy to learn that you're happy of our staffs while they're always trying to serve every guest with the best.

Appreciating of your valued comment of training and this is the priority mission of our training and development department as now already ahead by our schedule.

In your services

Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My travel agent booked me 3 nights in Tara Angkor Hotel. I find the location is little far from the busy downtown, a few minutes walk to the museum. The most which impressed me is its swimming pool. Room is little dark, but clean with comfortable bed. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug660824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to write your experience during your stay in our property.

We're happy to learn that you're impressed in our pool and the services each area included cleanliness.

Appreciating of valued comment of bathroom as we are heading to review for all rooms for further adjustment.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Amazing service, all staff were very friendly & helpful, they went out of there way for you.
The food was brilliant, breakfasts were lovely had large selection for the picky eaters, I ate in hotel quite a few times over my stay & can honestly say I never had a meal I didn't think was fanatic, everything was so tasty & really great value for money!! The prices in the hotel for food was same & maybe even a bit cheaper than pub street & so much more tastier!
Hotel staff even surprised me during my stay, it was my birthday, I wasn't sure how they found out but they did, I was sitting on bed on web when there was knock at door answered it & there was 3members of staff at my room door singing happy birthday, holding a personalised cake with candles, I was so shocked it was such a lovely surprise, then when down to the restaurant that night for dinner & the girl in the restaurant was a bit upset she hadn't been able to give me my cake so she asked if she could bring cake down to restaurant so she could serve it, so we did, she & 2 other staff brought the cake over singing happy birthday, I think she had been practising all day & had been looking forward to it, it was such a lovely memory & the cake tasted amazing

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Valued Client,



Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during stay in our property.

All valued comment has been shared among the team as such a big motivation for further or better improvement.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the next visit.

In your services.

Tara Angkor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

wonderful experience at the hotel. good amenities, food and service. the rooms were nice and clean and food very good. they have a small pool though. they charge you for the laundry bags if you plan to take home that with you. the location is very good close to the Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Valued Cleint,

Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Thank you for your time to review us on this site and happy to learn that our facilities and services was reached your satisfaction.

Hope will have chance to welcome you again in the next visit.

In your services

Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Tara Angkor for 3 nights. Upon arrival it appeared clean and modern with a friendly staff. Checking in took about 20 minutes which was annoying but in the end our room seemed fine, if a bit dated. The bed was fairly uncomfortable but we didn't mind too much.

We had booked travel by speed boat from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh for the end of our stay. This was really the only interaction we had with the hotel after checking in and it was a disaster. We asked why we needed to be in the lobby at 6AM for a 7:30 ferry that was only a few kilometers away and were told it was because the ride would take a long time. When we pressed more saying we'd like to leave later we were told firmly that we'd be welcome to book our own transportation but that we'd lose the $16 we'd paid for the transfer so we gave up. The next morning we were picked up late by a small pickup truck and were forced to sit in the bed with our bags and two other travelers. The driver spoke no English and just started driving through town. He stopped to pick others up and then asked us to get out and into a seemingly random Tuk Tuk in some alley. The Tuk Tuk driver also spoke no English and just started driving us away. It was cramped with two of us and our bags but we stopped twice and ended up with eight people and their bags, which were on our laps and hanging off the Tuk Tuk. The ride was extremely uncomfortable and took far longer than it should have.

The point is that we trusted Tara Angkor to book our transfer to the ferry. For $16 in Siem Reap you can get a private car to go just about anywhere. Instead they pawned us off on some random guy and his pickup truck with no explanation. Really disappointing service and in line with a number of other reviews here.

There are plenty of good hotels nearby in the same price range as Tara Angkor. I would chose one of them if I were going back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Warmest greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap Cambodia

Firstly, I would like to express my sincerely thank you for your chosen us to stay during your visit World Heritage Angkor Wat

It was embarrassed to learn that our hospitality was not reached a commitment as our goal and objective and we have no excuse for those value complaint from you regarding Ticket and speed boat included pick up services for this company as we also forward them detail accordingly.

We are taking appropriate action seriously to improve our services standard and to ensure with our staffs are well train of customer services and working procedure.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to above issue, At Tara Angkor, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction.


We deeply value your relationship with Tara Angkor and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me anytime.

Yours in service,
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very good standard of hotel. Chosen as part of an addition to a tour of nearby Vietnam and stayed for 3nights. Close to all temples and tourist sights and nearby market and restaurants. Restaurant had a small but pleasant selection of western dishes which was welcome after several days of Vietnamese options. Staff were very helpful and tried very hard to communicate in English. At times it was difficult to understand but I would urge patience, after all, I can't speak a word of Cambodian! very picturesque pool area and outside dining area as per their website if you have time to use when not not visiting temples. Unsure of what to expect on our first visit to the country but we were very pleasantly surprised. Try it and enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose room overlooking courtyard - quiet and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobetrotterTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Warmest Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap Cambodia

Thank you very much for your time to write an experience in our property and City.

Look forward to welcoming you back for next opportunity of Angkor Wat Visit.

In your services

Tara Angkor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#92 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $53 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing