We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and the Right Price”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and the Right Price”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had several days at this hotel to visit Angkor Wat and the other temples. We found the rooms to be very comfortable, neat and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't strike the angling for tips from staff but often had children begging for money in the streets. Wi-Fi is free but mostly unable to use due to poor signal. Otherwise, a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lead-up to the pool and not near the roster who makes a noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your first stay with us.


Our comfortable and spacious guest rooms are indeed some of the largest in the city, and I am delighted that you were able to benefit from this.

Apology for WiFi low signal, as now we are working out with provider to improve its seriously and kindly note that the desk top are also available in good signal for all guest.

Thank you once again for your chosen Tara to be one of your memorable place during visit of World heritage Angkor Wat

Kind regards,

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    1,151
    230
    37
    27
See reviews for
468
1,451
223
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days whilst visiting the temples.

The good - the rooms were comfortable, clean, functional and well presented. We had everything we wanted in the room and complementary bottles of water every day. The staff were friendly and happy to help. The pool facilities were great and very popular, sun loungers and umbrella provided, towels are provided and you can order food and drink to the poolside if you want to. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and catering to all tastes. The hotel is close enough to town that you can get a tuc tuc in and out for $2 each way.

The bad - The only niggle I had with this hotel is that some of the staff were angling for tips when they hadn't really done anything. I don't mind rewarding a good job but I don't tip people for opening a door for example. From what I've read this is a cultural thing in Cambodia and is to be expected but it did grate on me.

Overall a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

Needless to say I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel so much, and that our team were able to make your time here that bit more memorable. I

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tara Angkor in the near future.

Best Regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very attractive public areas, the outdoor restaurant is particularly lovely at night with lanterns lit and the waterfall illuminated. Our 3rd floor room was spacious and the bed was massive! A few quibbles, such as only one bedside table (but there was another small,occasional table that we moved to beside the bed). No armchairs, just one upright chair. But all the necessities are there - bathrobe and slippers, the usual toiletries, tea and coffee making, etc. all the staff were smiling, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

The hotel is a pleasant and peaceful refuge from the centre of Siem Reap, known as Old Market which we found absolutely hellish with scores of mediocre restaurants, tons of tourist tat for sale, flashing neon signs and loud, booming, thumping "music". Can't imagine anything less complementary to the sublimely beautiful Angkor temples!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

Needless to say I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel so much, and that our team were able to make your time here that bit more memorable. I

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tara Angkor in the near future.

Best Regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay! Nice staff, nice room, awesome swimming pool!

The hotel staff were very helpful with responsive service. I loved their cute attitude to assist my stay. Can't say highly enough about their customer service! I do recommend this hotel for anyone who want to visit Siem Reap!

Thank you Tara Angkor Hotel team! Will definately come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndochinaPioneerTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

Needless to say I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel so much, and that our team were able to make your time here that bit more memorable. I

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tara Angkor in the near future.

Best Regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service including bellboys opening doors and the staff bowing in greeting in the hallways. Great breakfast, nice pool, good rooms. We paid around $40 on agoda. Commute to pub street is $2 and takes 5 mins on tuck tuk. Great hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zeddexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

Needless to say I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel so much, and that our team were able to make your time here that bit more memorable. I

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tara Angkor in the near future.

Best Regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel staff were wonderful, from the moment we arrived helping with our bags, bringing us a drink and refreshing flannel and allowing us to sit relaxed whilst they dealt with the check in! The assistant manager deserves a special mention for how well he explained the trip to the temples that we then booked! Even the door men were extremely friendly, always smiling and asking how our trip out had been whilst welcoming us back.

The rooms were very spacious and very clean. This is where they missed out on an 'excellent', the air con worked perfectly all day then in the night stopped working, it got very hot and woke us at 1:30am, we called to reception but despite the speedy response the issue was not resolved until the next day, they apologise profusely and offered us a room change if the problem persisted throughout the next day, it didn't but they rang to check that evening which was a nice touch.

The breakfast was very good. Lots of choice, from pancakes to fried eggs to cereal to more asian tastes catering for every bodies needs.

The pool area was very relaxing, the strawberry and orange smoothie is a great treat in the heat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRIPMCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for leaving your comments to share your experience with world travellers.

I am so pleased that you're enjoyed and happy with our breakfast menus,friendly services and helpful services as per core services concept.

Apologise concerning of Air Con while Maintenance department was instructed seriously to maintain their services schedule.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights here before moving on to Penang. Breakfast slightly disappointing as limited healthy options such as fresh fruit, yogurt and juice. Hotel rather dark and room a bit gloomy with dark wood everywhere - even the entrance door. Found the room clean but not spotless. The wooden furniture, surrounds and trimmings were grooved and, although wiped over, the furrows were dusty and grimy. The bathroom had very dark brown wall and floor tiling with grouting of the same colour so it was hard to see how clean it actually was. Toilet was clean on first glance but there was a lip visible when the lid was up that was filthy. I could not wait to move on from this hotel as the bed was so uncomfortably hard that it made my bones ache. Pool and outside areas pleasant and well maintained but rather small and overcrowded. Not a relaxing experience and when children play in the pool there is no escape to a quiet area with no room for a splashless swim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

I was sorry to read that our unique room character was not reached your expectation while we focus of " a different" from others.

Thank you for your comments regarding bed and also pool area included inconveniences caused with overcrowded as per our peak period.

we have taken a more transparent approach to breakfast menus while found that something might misunderstood as our varieties of breakfast are including Season fresh fruit,yogurt,milk, bread counter especially healthy menu such salad counter and vegetarian dishes ( our main course is included western dishes and asian dishes)

However, we do take on board your comments concerning with all raised up.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore you faith in our hotel, and welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 356 in Siem Reap
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#56 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,087 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#60 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing