We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel delivered much more than what I paid for”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wasn't expecting this hotel to be this good based on the price I paid for. It was like a mini five star hotel with a serviced apartment price tag. The rooms are spacious with 2 queen sized beds. The bedsheets are hotel standard and the bathroom is complete with a tub and water pressure was good. Breakfast buffet was complete with the usual bacon, eggs, a variety of breads , cereals, fruits and a whole lot of other food choices. I was stuffed! Service was courteous and they accommodated all our requests and they helped us with our trip to Angkor Wat and our land trip to Bangkok. This hotel delivered much more than what I paid for:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank setsusteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on this site following your recent weekend with us.

I could not be more delighted that you chose to spend your holiday with us, to take time to relax and recharge the batteries. I am so pleased that the team were able to help you enjoy your stay, and that you enjoyed your comfortable ,I will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

Your kind words are very gladly received, and whilst I appreciate it may not be in the near future, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner, and indeed your children, back to Tara Angkor

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Large, clean, bright rooms, with air condition.
Very nice breakfast room, pool area and lobby. Staff was very helpful in giving us directions and arranging for rides and making dinner reservations. We went to all the Temples and also to watch a traditional Cambodian dance performance.
I really enjoyed our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zizi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on this site following your recent weekend with us.


Your kind words are very gladly received, and whilst I appreciate it may not be in the near future, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner, and indeed your children, back to Tara Angkor

Best Regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Room size is more than adequate with two queen size doubles! Air conditioning effective. Bath room clean and very functional though dark brown is odd colour choice. Breakfast is good and wasn't crowded eating in our out on the terrace. Pool adequate but not for lap addicts more or leisure. Staff all attentive and helpful. Good choice in my view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during stay in our property and happy to learn that you're satisfied in our facilities and services.

look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with nice rooms with everything you could want for a stay. Breakfast is a bit of a scrum, but can be avoided by going to the outside terrace. The restaurant, which has a lot of competition from the town, serves a variety of western and Asian food and is reasonably priced – although a $3 tuk-tuk ride will take you anywhere in town. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were certainly NOT made to wait at check-out until the mini-bar had been checked.
Enjoyed our 3-nights here and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTurfBurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued client,

Thank you very much for your taking time to share your experience of Tara Angkor Hotel and kindly note that your comment is valued and highly motivate us and it has been shared with all member of Tara.

look forward to welcoming you back in the future plan.

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a good hotel with a fantastic location. I would not say that it's an excellent hotel but it's good enough. The thing which lets it down a bit are the rooms. They are quite small and basic. They are, however, very clean and I don't think that the hotel advertises its rooms as anything much more.

The pool is very nice, although it can be difficult to get sunbeds together in the afternoon. The poolside menu is good and we really enjoyed the burgers. It would be helpful if staff took orders at the pool as opposed to the gym but another reviewer has mentioned this already and I think the management are considering this possibility.

The breakfast is excellent. Lots of choice and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Breakfast really lifted the hotel in our estimations. It would be helpful if it served until 10.30am instead of 10am for those of us having a day off from sight seeing but we may be in the minority in this respect. We got there at 9.55am one morning and it seemed to put the staff out as they were rushing to move onto lunch preparation. They seemed surprised that we were eating so late which made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

All in all, if you're looking for a solid, safe and clean hotel for a few days from which to base yourself to see the sights then this hotel is a good choice. It has all that you need and you will start the day with some excellent food. If you want luxury then I probably wouldn't come here but it's not advertised as a luxury hotel and isn't priced as such.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the hotel's facade. Otherwise, you will be overlooking other rooms (i.e. concr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Regarding your comment concerning with Pool & GYM , we are look into and working out how to make its by reasonable, sorry about breakfast time actually, offer opened until late of 10:30 whilst F&B manager was instructed to brief staff to made them clear of operation hour.

The valued comment from yours, please be assured that I will address it with the relevant teams.


I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the next Asia Trip in the future.

Best Regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I don't believe all the positive reviews on here. Having stayed myself something doesn't seem right about the number of really enthusiastic reviews.

I may be wrong, people may adore the place but their expectations must be low - this is an average hotel with a number of flaws. Think basic three star and you may be happy.

This hotel is targeted firmly at the Asian family market or elderly western tour groups. Let me put that in perspective, you know the coach tours they do in the UK? This is the equivalent for Cambodia, the hotel the coach company put you in to save a few pounds....

The room - cheap basic uncomfortable
This is the only hotel I've walked into a room and then tried to immediately upgrade - the entry level rooms are very basic. Bathrooms are small and dark, but shower is actually good, but the furnishing just cheap - no proper bed, a mattress placed on a wooden platform. No armchair to sit in but they do provide a solitary upright dining room chair.

Before doing anything take a good look around the room. Check everything is as you would expect - two glasses, towels, mattresses make sure the mini bar is well stocked and nothing missing, maybe do a list noting any scratches to furniture .... Sounds bonkers doesn't it? But wait till check out and you will see why....

The balcony is not useable you won't be sitting outside having a drink - a chair wouldn't fit never mind a table. Note they advertise balconies....oh and remember you are paying for a four star hotel....

Breakfast
The breakfast buffet is a bit of a free for all and you may find something you like if you are a fan of asian food. I went and got my own table and coffee as frankly the chance of getting any service is nil. The staff are simply overwhelmed. The only thing I could find to eat was a fried egg and some brown bread.

Pool
Now lets turn to the pool. If you can get a sun bed the saltwater pool is adequate. Amazing how official pictures make it look big. The reality is its a lot smaller than you expect. The pool bar staff don't take your order at the pool you go to them !

Food & service
Staff are on the whole trying their best. Some of the younger people working here are really keen but let down by some of the others who wouldn't for example exert themselves to come and serve us in the bar.

Food was ok. But if your course is ready before your partners they serve it and you could wait like we did for 20mins for the other main course to arrive.

Check out
Check out is a nightmare. They send staff to your room to make sure you haven't damaged things and tick off an inventory. In all my years of staying in hotels I have NEVER seen anything quite like it. Only when they are happy do they "let you go" one elderly woman was getting visibly anxious she would miss her flight. But they were insistent she provide the plastic card room key. She said she had been given one card they said two. They wanted the card or money.

We were chased across the lobby with the words "sit down till we check your room" it was said as an instruction not a request....

Overall
All in all a disappointment. Much better choice is available at this price point but hotels around here fill quickly - so book somewhere else early. I regretted my decision and I suspect if you are looking for four star luxury, after a day doing the fabulous temples, you will to.

The manager should get out and see the customer experience for themselves.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcdocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Valued client,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, please allow me to addressed the point of view as below:

1 Target Market as per hospitality industry we are welcome any nationality to accommodate in our hotel and during your period of stay there was Chinese New year which around 15 % were asian guests and rest 're mixed European and American and others.
2 Room uncomfortable, apologise if our superior room size 30 Sqm as your original booked was not fulfils your satisfaction and room upgrade must be base on supplement charge.
3 Check out procedure, we would like to ensure with you that staffer's done their duty and room check must be ahead after guest processing check out but not over 5 minutes as per standard.
more over, to secure guest left valuable or items behind.
4 Breakfast, since we are welcoming all nationality A varieties of buffet breakfast are provide matching with needs or daily of average nationality while Western dishes, Bread, Egg counter, Yogurt,fruit salad counter, Fruit counter, Asian dishes, boiled rice , vegetarian are also completely preparation for all guest more over if guest feel like not special, they are also can asking addition via our services staffs.
5. Pool, our pool size is reasonable by average guest per peak time so deepest apology if we missed on this mission included fail of pool attendant services.
6 Food and beverage services, Sequence of standard services will be retrained staffs according your valued comment.

kindly noted that all comment has been shared with our employee and board of directors.We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.


Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here in January over 8 nights in total. thought this hotel was really good value and the rooms were very well serviced. Seemed to be offered fresh towels and bottled water more than once a day.
Our room was very comfortable but we had the cockerel that never sleeps outside so not the quietist!
The pool area was always peaceful with good poolside drinks and lunch service.
breakfast fantastic although very busy at peak times.
Would definitely stay here again despite being a bit out of the town centre.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank whaddayaknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize if there was something did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed cockerel issue, and or, spoken with the employee in question. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

Best Regards
Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#91 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $53 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing