We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is an absolute JOKE, and the absolute WORST ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angkor Voyage Villa
Ranked #115 of 502 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2009

So nice and charming when they want your money but if you complain they just laugh at you and demand payment. Since there were NO positives about this place, the following list will obviously contain only negative points:

- air conditioner broke down and leaked all night but no one would fix it...Legionnaire's anyone?
- we had to ask for toilet paper, towels and for the water to be turned on in our room everyday
- they offered to take us to the temples on a moto for a ridiculous price, we ended up getting a tuktuk for so much cheaper by bargaining in the streets
- took them two days to do our laundry which they wanted to charge us for (we refused when we checked out)
- we asked for our room to be serviced and all they did was change the beds, never mind the fact that they were dirty
- their child screams till all hours of the night, then starts again at 6am. They do nothing stop it, in fact it seems as though they encourage it...because everyone just loves sleep deprivation!!
- every time we complained they acted like they had no idea what we were talking about
- when we checked out we complained one last time and they laughed at us and demanded their money

This place is seriously ridiculous. We ended up leaving and finding a great hotel called Neth Socheata Angkor Guest House (near the old market), it was so much better in every possible way.

If and only if you hate your holiday and yourself then stay at this hotel....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 22bssm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Angkor Voyage Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and even though at first, I was not really into the idea of staying there, eventually the charm of this little guest house won. The staff there were really nice and tried their best to accommodate us. The room's okay, we had a slight problem with dust mites with one of the comforters but got that settled pronto. We stayed, all 5 of us, in their triple sharing room and paid about USD 13 per pax. Reasonable enough for a room with its own bathroom and AC.

The location is great, really close by both the Old Market, Pub Street and the Night Market as well. All amenities are within walking distance and there were really no problems with getting all modes of transport outside of the place. If you're a backpacker, single or in a group, this guest house is frequented by many backpackers from everywhere so making friends is very easy here.

The only thing that might be a problem is the fact that they have a crocodile farm instead of a pool at the back of the building. We had quite an adventure one night while hanging out at the billiard table (another plus point) when there was a splash at the garden pool and we clearly heard the distinctive rantings of a young crocodile (outside the closed vicinity of the crocodile farm, I should add). Did we imagine it? Maybe.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Every day there was a new unwanted visitor in my room:

Day 1: Red Beetle
Day 2: Flying Cockroach
Day 3: Gecko (although she was cute)
Day 4: Large, large ground dwelling cockroach #2

Other than that, I stayed 4 nights here. The room was very large, and had a queen size bed, and the sunset was stunning. The floor manager was drunk one night starting from about 6pm. My sheets were not changed once, and I had to ask for toilet paper and soap.

The neighborhood was also extremely noisy. They claime to offer room service, but when I ordered food and asked them to bring it up.. their reply was "can you wait it'll be ready in one minute.. you can take it with you." I waited in the restaurant for 15 minutes before I took my own meal to my room

I really really really really do not recommend staying at this sleezy, cheap hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deftgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Please DO NOT book this guesthouse, only in case you prefer to be ripped off for your worst nightmare ever coming true.

Only the location is OK and you can indeed make an internet reservation.

When we arrived they tried to tell they were overbooked (keeping our payments).

The room was the worst I'd seen in years; dark yellow linen (supposed to be white but wasn't changed for ages), asked for another room or clean this one; two eleven/ twelve year old girls were asked to clean which of course did not work out.

Complaning was not taken serious at all. Yes I tried my best and kept very pollite.

Cockroaches all over the place. Most places in this hotel have never been cleaned at all.

Did not dare to try the breakfast. You probably won't too.

There are about 40 crocodiles (up to 8 feet) living in the backgarden; you can imagine the smell.

Stayed here for 4 days (134.- dollar).

PLEASE DO NEVER GO HERE!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

I spent 3 weeks traveling through Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. In traveling the Angkor Voyage Villa was the ONLY accommodations that I would NOT recommend.
The staff including the owner were rude and were not helpful. They arranged a tour guide for us to Angkor Wat and we do not believe the tour guide was an official guide of the Temple. Though he wore the right clothing, his knowledge was rudimentary and his English was horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank acupunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Positives first: Internet reservation available. Friendly staff, the atmosphere makes you feel at 'home.' Close to Pub Street and the market but far enough so that noise level is low. Tours can be arranged by staff.

Inconsistencies: rooms. We booked three rooms. The single room was dark, the toilet didn't work well, the shower drain gets clogged up and after I have called for service, it still didn't work, so I did not bother anymore. There are no shower curtains so .... The double rooms are fine but they had different bathroom setups. Make sure you see the room first. The rooms are not thoroughly cleaned especially behind the bed and the nightstand. Mosquitoes in the room. In reserving tours, make sure you ask them specifically how much each would cost because they had different rates for tours but they don't tell you unless you ask and they don't tell you the add-ons.

I'm not sure if given a chance that I would stay there again given the number of guesthouses popping up all over the place. The staff definitely tries hard to please but somehow it's not enough to make the stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RangerCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank anne-laure m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#128 of 361 in Siem Reap
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#69 of 361 in Siem Reap
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#57 of 502 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Premier Inn
Golden Premier Inn
#107 of 502 in Siem Reap
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Central Prestige D'Angkor
#52 of 502 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Empire Boutique Hotel
Angkor Empire Boutique Hotel
#272 of 502 in Siem Reap
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Voyage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Voyage Villa

Address: 161 Sok San Street | Svay Dankum Commune, Siem Reap 1234, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $14 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE EAST MEETS WESTS...... We are a budget guesthouse, but we believe our service is first class. We want to give our guests the Asian experience, but also satisfy them with the Western expectation of cleanliness and efficiency. All our customer service staff speak good English, and are always available to assist you, in any way to make your stay with us enjoyable. Through our guesthouse we also support some village schools who teach English for free to poor children, and we also support our staff, by finding them sponsors so that they, and their families can have some financial assistance when and if necessary, and also to assist them to go to university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Angkor Voyage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Voyage Villa (Our Best Western Guesthouse) Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Voyage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing