We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Ranked #47 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DONT NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

To start with, when my friends and I arrived off our night bus at 11:45pm we were told they'd over booked our room. We paid a £9 deposit 2 weeks ago for 2 double private rooms, both if which we were told were booked up. The receptionist then told us that it was because they were sick so couldn't leave and therefore he couldn't email us to let us know. So were were given a dorm room. It was just us in there so we settled for this. I can't tell you how infested with Mosquitos the room was!!..my friend also found BED BUGS in her bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!..the worst place by a long stretch where we've stayed. The room was dirty, the sink was blocked, or never know so many bugs and Mosquitos to be in on room and then the bed bugs. Only one bed out of the 4 were okay, so the 3 of us all bunked in together. Cut a long story short we were then kicked out of our dorm the next day and forced to move into our private rooms, we were only staying 2 nights but wanted to leave. However we were told we'd have to pay for the room anyway. They do have a pool, however my friend sliced her foot on a broken tile getting out!!!!..loads of missing tiles and the water is dirty. We've all travelled all over Asia and South America and were were seriously unimpressed with this place!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phea09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh1009, Owner at Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, although it is the worst I have read since I started this hostel 4 years ago.

I was actually away on holiday when you stayed here, but can say that staff have broken many protocols judging by your review.

Firstly, we honour all bookings, and will book you into an adjoining hotel at no extra cost if we are overbooked, or cannot honour your booking for other reasons.

Secondly, we never force guests to stay with us. If a guest has booked nights with us, and chooses not to stay, we have a policy not to charge.

Thirdly, we'd never move a private room to a dorm unless the guests were in full agreement.

I am sorry that you have not been dealt with in my absence according to our policy.

Finally though, we do not have bed bugs- if we did, I would deal with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    87
    38
    25
    16
See reviews for
2
74
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stay in this hostel for 4 night.
The best thing is they got a pool there and look beautiful during the sunny day. we rent a room for two so we got our privacy area . You might have to prepare your own towel and toothbrush.(You can borrow from the staff but they don't have it enough for everyone) Hygienic of the hostel is normal at least we didn't see any rubbish on the corridor . But all the ppl have to remove the shose when they get in the hostel . You can have breakfast next to the poolside under the sun (please ask the staff for the menu). They got a little bar next to the pool selling beer and happy brownie at night (please try it !) . We ask the staff about the overnight bus back to the bangkok they will suggest us take the morning one (more safe for girls). hostel location is fine because we still have to walk around 3 mins to the main street. one thing remind is the green area next to the pool have mosquito . if you don't wanna get bite please don't stay too long.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiroko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

- Dirty bathrooms
- helpless staff, don't speak English.
- 1 plug for a 6 bed dorm !!!
- noisy bunks
- Dodgy air conditioner, either too hot or too cold
- bad managing system "everything on tab"

In the other hand,
- great pool,
- good location
- and party atmosphere
- that's it

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Elmini85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh1009, Owner at Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
You stayed for 1 night, but something must of pissed you off big time that has no relevance to your complaint here.

Firstly, all our 4 bed and 6 bed dorm bathrooms are cleaned a minimum of 4 times during the day, twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon. Sure, if someone trashes the bathroom in the evening or night, then they need to clean it up themselves- no mothers here to do it for you after hours.

Our tab system is a system designed for those who wish to use it- 99.9% do without any complaints. Other guests can just pay for consumption as they go along.

All AC's function without problem- sure you need to have windows and doors closed, otherwise the room cannot be cooled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks while my girlfriend recovered from a stomach bug that we'd caught from being too stingy and staying in terrible places and eating terrible food. The British owner runs the place like a British hotel which is very refreshing after 5 months on SE Asia where the standard of customer service is terrible. The food was all well prepared and very clean as you could see looking into the kitchen and made with fresh ingredients that you could see arriving every day. The rooms are comfortable and it's really close to town. The staff are so friendly and not at all lazy as you experience in many of the family run local places. Great poolside bar, we'll stocked, good music. Awesome pool which is much needed after the heat of siem reap. Best hostel we stayed in on 18 months of travel and that was even with one of us being really sick! Tanks to the owner Mark and all the staff for an excellent stay. Sorry it's took me a year to write this but remember the place from time to time as somewhere I owe a good review and just got round to it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimoncrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Downtown Siem Reap Manor, down the street from the hostel. This hotel provides an alternative to the hostel environment, while still creating a friendly, social atmosphere. Alex runs the poolside bar and is an incredible host- well informed, friendly, helpful. The owner was incredibly accommodating. The pool was amazing, towels provided and food and drink is one order away. The rooms were clean (a little hot!) and ours had a spacious balcony. To get here at night I was not a huge fan of walking down the dark road, but it was a very short walk and ok with a friend. I felt safe knowing the gate was locked at night but an attendant provided 24 hour access. I would, without a doubt, recommend this place for backpackers or travelers on a budget. It was my favorite part of Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erical2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We originally booked a 1 night stay through booking.com and ended up staying for 15! The English owner also owns a hostel a few streets down and runs both with great professionalism. The rooms are big with the best shower in South East Asia. Cable TV is offered and the beds are super comfy. There is a pool which always seemed to be open and cleaned either every day or second day. The food was also delicious, especially the chicken wrapped in bacon with rice and salsa!
The only negative was the house cleaning wasn't done daily and unless we asked for it it didn't get done. As we were there for 15 nights this was something we thought was slacking but overall it was a fantastic stay.
We would definitely book this hotel again if we ever return to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with a pool room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roza182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the hotel as I was meeting some family and it was really nice, pleasent, quiet, good pool, lovely staff, etc... also went to the hostel for pie night and bbq night, both really good. Not as mental as the other hostels, but then again the manager at the other hostel not naming names was a complete knob head.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#53 of 268 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 268 in Siem Reap
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#31 of 268 in Siem Reap
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 268 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#28 of 268 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 268 in Siem Reap
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

Property: Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Address: #0396 Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly WatsUp)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean rooms, secure property, reliable and trustworthy service- that is our guarantee. Downtown Siem Reap Hostel is a hostel with high standards, but with Backpacker and Flashpacker prices. Staffed by a mix of Western and Khmer staff, our success is driven by and primarily due only to the sheer dedication of the Khmer staff employed here. They speak excellent English, serve with a smile, and are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. British owned and managed, and established in February 2011, Downtown Siem Reap Hostel has become one of the most popular hostels in Siem Reap, and now with a newly built swimming pool, bamboo gardens, and extra rooms, we are able to accommodate and serve 70 guests per night. Our kitchen is open from 7.00am serving a mixture of food from a cheap Backpacker Menu with all eats under $2.50, through Thai and Khmer food and Western favourites - something for all budgets. Our breakfasts have always been a big hit, with set-breakfasts including tea/coffee and juice from $2.50. Our accommodation includes 6 and 8 bed AC dorms, 4 person AC dorms with ensuite bathrooms, fan and AC ensuite twin and ensuite double rooms and a recently completed dorm boasting 2 ensuite bathrooms and floor to ceiling privacy glass walls. Please be aware that there will be a 10% Vat on your final bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing