We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Ranked #18 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

If i go back to siem reap i will stay here again for sure. The owner and the people working at downtown are very friendly and helpful, the food is great and the rooms are clean. There's a pool which is totally needed a hot day in siem reap and there's showers with hot water. I'm really happy with my stay here and recommend it to all young backpackers out there

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pellii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, excellent location lovely pool area and great out door space , rooms and bathrooms aren't the cleanest (bra and pants hanging around that didn't belong to anyone in the dorm ) also my boyfriends sheets hadn't been changed from the person before, we arrived really late so he just slept in my bunk and told them the next morning (didn't seem that bothered) later that afternoon we came bk and still not been changed so I ended up finding a cleaner who was lovely and really helpful. Also no main light in the room.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank blubell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh1009, Owner at Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write the review, and in reply I'd like to add that we consciously do not have main lights in dorms, as dorm users arriving back in the middle of the night wake all those sleeping. As you aware, we have individual reading lights on each dorm bed, and a private locker under the bed with power points to charge phones etc.

My housekeepers have specific instructions not to touch private belongings in the dorms. Rather than complaining on the internet that someone had forgotten a bra in the dorm, why not just inform our very helpful housekeeper that you've already had contact with, to kindly remove it as it has been forgotten, she did after all help you change your sheets, which they are always available to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while backpacking through Cambodia.

Pros

+ clean rooms
+ friendly staff
+ price
+ great bar

Cons

- no hot showers
- no security boxes in the rooms
- no "pool bar"... Its more like a bar near a pool
- A/C not working properly

Overall it's a clean, cheap hostel with lots of young people. However, it did not have hot showers nor safety boxes in the rooms as described.

6/10

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Max-Krawinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

After long days touring the temples I couldn't wait to get back and take a dip in the pool. It was wonderful. The atmosphere here is great. Our room was comfortable and clean. The food here was good too. We really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnydayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel located near the old market and a few minutes walk from the pub street. The staff is friendly and always eager to help. They help you with the trips, the bookings of the next locations and much more.
We stayed in the four bed room with bathroom ensuite. The room was really clean and spacious. Most importantly the sheets and the bed were clean as well.
As for the facilities outside, the pool is clean and the bar has reasonable prices (beer for 35cents during the happy hour). I can definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MeisterMumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in Downtown and it was awesome. Although the facilities are great (clean room, hot showers, lockers, pool, bar, restaurant) it's really the staff and the atmosphere that make this place such a gem. Owned by an English expat, the staff are a mixture of locals and long term travellers, everyone is friendly and social and go out of your way to help you. The other backpackers were awesome and most nights were spent around the bar drinking and trading stories.

Would recommend this place to any backpacker planning on visiting siem reap, you won't want to leave!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 333ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, the staff is very kind (especially Paul the kiwi bartender) delicious food and drinks! We love the Spangle juice (ask at the bar) also a good location and if you want a tuktuk or some information, they always help you out. And don't forget the swimming pool, it's 24/7 open. We stayed 2 days longer then we supposed to do.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank lilianheijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#180 of 365 in Siem Reap
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 305 in Siem Reap
2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 305 in Siem Reap
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#66 of 305 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#49 of 305 in Siem Reap
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 515 in Siem Reap
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

Address: #0396 Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly WatsUp)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $25 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel is a hostel designed for the social backpacker. Grab a beer, chill by the pool and swap stories with dozens of other backpackers as you recover from the mayhem of the night before. The hostel has recently come under new management OCTOBER 2017 (some of Ireland's biggest party promoters) and after a total refurbishment we are business as usual. Downtown Siem Reap Hostel is one of the original hostels in Siem Reap since 2010 and has hosted over 35,000+ backpackers. We are a purpose built, 74 bed hostel located beside the old market, only a couple of minutes walk from Pub Street, so you’re right in the heart of the action! Our bar and pool are open 7 days a week, complete with a variety of crazy events including gender bender pub crawls, pool parties and the craziest game of bingo you will ever come across. Our innovative restaurant space, EATYARD features 5 different cuisines; we've got BBQ, South East Asian, Stone Baked Pizza, Vegetarian and some tasty western food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing