We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The word 'love' isn't strong enough...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Ranked #47 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
1 review
“The word 'love' isn't strong enough...”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed in loads of places in SE Asia in the last couple of months, but this place was easily the best. Very comfortable, clean rooms complemented by excellent, friendly staff who make your stay enjoyable and memorable. If I knew anyone was going to siem reap, I'd just say 'don't bother looking anywhere else.' This place offers a 4* service at 2* prices. I felt at home in many ways and everything was so easy. I would say enjoy your stay here, but I know you will.

Cheers Mark

(a lad from the city of steel)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomhodge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    87
    38
    25
    16
See reviews for
2
74
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good value for the money and good location. Free pick up, though mine didn't arrive. Good breakfast menu. Super friendly staff. Bathroom require attention, no holder for shower attachment and wires from walls, assume dead not live. Quite few mossies in dorm and no bed cover. A/c not the best but there is also a fan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Footsteps2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a run in with a big scam, we were recomended downtown siem reap hotel and it was brilliant! The staff spoke great english and were really friendly and accomodating! The owner mark made us feel very welcome, he was very knowledegable about the local area and helped us with transport and visas for our next stop. The hostel is very central to siem reap, the hostel also set us up with a few days at a local swimming pool which was a relaxing break from the heat. The rooms were really clean and laundry was cheap. Thanks for a great stay, wish we could go back!

Room Tip: Paradise room was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owner Mark is a nice guy, helping you in every way he can. We stayed there for 2 nights at first and had a good room for a good price. When we left and already went on our motorbike to another place we realised we didnt got our passport and it was still at the hotel (they keep you passport during your stay) The solution from Mark was we could stay another night for free which is a great solution. Thanks for the stay Mark, and good luck with your new pool you want to build.
Also a good location, just 5 minutes walk from the center, and some nice local restaurants next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Quiet and nice location, but still very central. Mark the owner is fantastic. He is honest and willing to help you with everything that you need and wonder about when in Cambodia. Good value and very tidy and nice twin room that we stayed in. Possibility of going to another friend hostel to use their swimming pool free of charge is a plus too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Don't know where to start with Downtown, there's so many good points! The owner, Mark, is so helpful. He got in touch before we'd arrived and warned us about scams to look out for when crossing the Cambodian border from the Thai side. When our tuk tuk drivers ended up dropping us off somewhere that wasn't the hostel, he arranged a free pick up. We were a group of 8 and stayed for five nights in a mixture of dorm rooms and private rooms, which are both good value (A/C is an extra $5 per room). If you want to visit the temples, the hostel arranges tuk tuks for you for the day, starting from sunrise if you wish. Staff are really friendly and know the area well. Also, you can use the swimming pool of a nearby hotel for free (just purchase a drink there). Oh and they have a nice little terrace upstairs, as well as a courtyard with chairs, pool table and a small bar. Overall, if you want a comfortable, cheap and easy stay, i definitely recomment Downtown!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great place to stay in Siem Reap, very affordable with the best hostel rooms I have seen In Cambodia. I stayed for a week while dealing with a stolen passport and the hospitality was great from the owner and staff. Excellent for English speaking travelers as the owner is an expat with great knowledge of the area and can set you up with whatever you need without having to question whether or not you're being ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdntrvlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#53 of 268 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 268 in Siem Reap
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#31 of 268 in Siem Reap
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 268 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#28 of 268 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 268 in Siem Reap
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

Property: Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Address: #0396 Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly WatsUp)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean rooms, secure property, reliable and trustworthy service- that is our guarantee. Downtown Siem Reap Hostel is a hostel with high standards, but with Backpacker and Flashpacker prices. Staffed by a mix of Western and Khmer staff, our success is driven by and primarily due only to the sheer dedication of the Khmer staff employed here. They speak excellent English, serve with a smile, and are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. British owned and managed, and established in February 2011, Downtown Siem Reap Hostel has become one of the most popular hostels in Siem Reap, and now with a newly built swimming pool, bamboo gardens, and extra rooms, we are able to accommodate and serve 70 guests per night. Our kitchen is open from 7.00am serving a mixture of food from a cheap Backpacker Menu with all eats under $2.50, through Thai and Khmer food and Western favourites - something for all budgets. Our breakfasts have always been a big hit, with set-breakfasts including tea/coffee and juice from $2.50. Our accommodation includes 6 and 8 bed AC dorms, 4 person AC dorms with ensuite bathrooms, fan and AC ensuite twin and ensuite double rooms and a recently completed dorm boasting 2 ensuite bathrooms and floor to ceiling privacy glass walls. Please be aware that there will be a 10% Vat on your final bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing