We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem off the beaten track.”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #211 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed June 17, 2009

In March I visited Siem Reap for 10 days with a charity to work in the local community, and was lucky enough to stay in this beautiful hotel.
My heartfelt thanks go out to all the staff at Lotus Lodge who made our stay relaxing at the end of each long day. We were welcomed by friendly faces on a daily basis and the staff were all very helpful and attentive. And, on more than one occasion the bar was opened for us on our return from an evening in town, and the staff were happy enough to serve us into the early morning!
The hotel was beautiful, a true hidden gem that had everything we could ask for, despite being a little out of town. (Even this wasn’t a disadvantage as Tuk-Tuks were only $3 from the town centre to the hotel.)
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone who's travelling to Siem Reap in the future.
Thank you once again for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 390 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

We visited the Lotus Lodge in August and we had the best stay ever. It is a beautiful lodge, very central location, and with a personal touch. Everything is clean, people are so friendly, etc. We want to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

As others have noted, the hotel is difficult to find. You must ask the taxi driver to call the hotel to get directions (they will also pick you up from bus terminal). The good part is that the people were very friendly. The problem was that many of them were unable to answer questions. Most were young and looked like they were being trained, so you were likely to get several different answers to the same question. Lily was very helpful and knowledgeable, but she was being pulled in too many directions at once while trying to solve problems and answer questions. I never talked to the her husband, Andre, though I did see him talking to other guests--he seemed to keep a low profile and didn't look like he enjoyed interacting much.
The hotel is relatively new and is located in a rather depressing area--lots of garbage (as everywhere in Siem Reap) and located down a dirt road, so you really didn't want to walk anywhere because it was so dusty. Within the walls of the hotel, everything was clean and carefully watched over.
The structure of the hotel makes it very noisy (echo chamber) if anyone is outside talking or inside talking loudly. One couple complained that a child cried all night and kept them awake--they were not happy. Our room backed up to the kitchen area which stayed noisy late and began early. So I suggest earplugs.
Finally, the most annoying part is that they turn off the electricity in your room every time you check out (turned in key) to go somewhere. So why bother providing us with a mini fridge if we can't keep anything in it? We bought some drinks and cheese to keep in the room and it turned into a smelly mess. They constantly had electric problems--the system just couldn't keep up with the demand.
Overall, I liked the place, but I think I would try some place new next time--some place with more convenient access to stores, etc. (although I doubt I'll go back to Cambodia--it's still just too depressing).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasMaogao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We really enjoyed staying with Andre and Lily and their wonderful staff. The rooms were absolutely OK and the pool area was very nice. The distance from town was both a blessing and a pain, at least it was nice and quiet here - wouldn't want to be anywhere near pub street!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirandaR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Came here based on tripadvisor reviews. Not disappointed. As others have commented, the staff are great, the atmosphere is easy going. The staff, and Andre and Lily the owners were very hospitable.

It is a bit farther from the center of town, but do you really want a hotel on Pub Street? (If so, you're welcome to it). Anyway, the hotel supplies bikes which are a better way to see Siem Reap than the tuk-tuk's. And as others have pointed out, if you do want to go into town, the hotel can drive you in (book early). I liked the pool, the bar, the breakfast and the tower.

Lotus Lodge is an excellent midrange hotel for those whose backpacking/roughing it days are behind them but are not expecting overpriced 5-star facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed 4 nights in Lotus Lodge. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was quite acceptable even if the bathroom was basic. Location is a bit far from Siem rep and you will need a Tuk Tuk to move around. Pool and restaurant are okay. Lotus lodge's restaurant is not expensve compared to the restaurant , you will find in town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Me and my wife stayed at Lotus lodge for 5 nights back in February.The hotel is about 3 km away from town center which is about 10 min ride by tuk-tuk or you can use the free evening shuttle provided by the hotel - this was very useful (make sure you sign up for free shuttle by afternoon daily otherwise it gets full quickly).

The best part of the lodge was the staff.They were very friendly and helpful in every aspect. we were treated like family and provided us with great memories and lasting friendship.

We agree with some other reviewers regarding the rooms.There was not enough lighting in the rooms and the bathroom was too small and dark. I wish they improve in this area because otherwise it was a pleasant place to stay. Breakfast was decent and they also had nice menu for additional meals throughout the day.

The owner also runs his own tour company so you can arrange your tours with them after arrival. I would recommend researching other tour companies for the best choices.
The hotel front desk can also arrange tuk-tuks on demand for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
1.3 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#137 of 361 in Siem Reap
721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#109 of 361 in Siem Reap
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SiZen Retreat & Spa
SiZen Retreat & Spa
#96 of 361 in Siem Reap
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 361 in Siem Reap
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $26 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing