We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff ever!”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best staff ever!”
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Lotus Lodge was a fabulous hotel. It's a 5-10 minute tuk tuk ride from the middle of town ($3) and tuk tuks are always aplenty even during high season. Great pool and poolside dining with really good food and an extensive menu. The staff gave us the most amazing service we've ever had. Whatever we wanted they booked for us, and handled all the details. They were gracious and helpful at all times, even when I had to make phone calls to the West in the middle of the night and kept them up helping me. The quiet was well worth not staying downtown. We stayed a few blocks from Pub Street for part of our stay and were kept awake until 2am every night. We are in our 30's with no kids and like to party, but 2am EVERY nite was too much. The Lotus Lodge was very quiet. The Internet connection and computers in the lobby were invaluable. Plenty of cable channels and remote controlled air conditioning were also part of the deal. Thanks Lotus Lodge we love you!
-Nicky and Bart

Remember all of Siem Reap has mosquitos so bring your bug spray!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the road it's on
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky_and_Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Having read a negative response about hotel from the Nov 10, 2008, has seriously begun to worry – at the time of reading I already reserved room. However after arrival it was found out that all told by negative review is lie from beginning to end!

Undoubtedly, from all hotels in Indochina and in the Middle East where I could visit, this the best!

After arrival we were met by general manager Andre Ruys, very pleasant and polite person. He has shown us hotel and has invited to welcome drink.

At first sight the hotel seems an oasis of cleanliness among surrounding structures. All territory seems very clean, in a small pond small fishes float, and the pool is filled by pure water. In cool water of pool it is pleasant to bathe after day excursions, and the hotel gives beach towels and chaise lounges.

Rooms in a fine condition, with good sound insulation. In each room there is a conditioner, the fan, the TV, a refrigerator.

At restaurant it is possible to order dishes of khmer kitchen, prepare it is very tasty. The excellent breakfast-buffet in the morning is given. There is juice, fruit, pancakes, sausages, the omelette, etc.

Personnel renders the every possible help. In hotel there is a special assistance on work with clients – Lim Lily, perfectly speaking English. With her help we have specified all details of visiting of Angkor interesting us, and also have ordered the car with the driver under the good price. And for the next day we take a bycicles, provided by hotel fo free.

I am absolutely happy with stay in hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vazlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at Lotus Lodge for three nights recently and found it lived up to the glowing reports of other reviewers. The kindness and interest of the staff in the guests who come from a wide range of countries was outstanding. My son and I were feeling poorly at the end of our trip throughout the region and were cooked special broths and helped with medicine. The Lodge is not in the noisy centre but is ten minutes outside with a free shuttle in and out of town in the evening. Rooms were large and comfortable and we had a fridge and TV. The pool was new and well looked after and the eating area nearby was great for having a drink or snack around the pool. Security was great and it was quiet and peaceful at night. It was a real Khmer experience - no plastic high rise hotels in sight, and all this for an incredibly cheap price!
The Lodge welcomed families and there was a wide range of age groups and nationalities.

  • Liked — Great staff and owners - very professional as well as caring
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days in a nice bungalow and we liked the green and quiet surroundings, the nice food and the pool. The owner and his friendly wife are very enthusiastic about the Cambodia and can give you lots of tips of what places to go.

You can use bicycle for free, so it is no problem that the lodge is a little bit outside the city center.

Apart from running the lodge they are involved in running an orphanage located in Phnom Penh (www.colt-cambodia.org).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Lotus Lodge is a place with hotel quality for a low price. It's location is an oasis of tranquility, a 10 minutes drive away from the crowded city center. Striking is the kindness of the staff and their intrest in their guests.

The 36 (non-smoking) rooms are situated in 3 parallel tropical lanes of 12 rooms and are equiped with all the necessities: AC, fridge, bathroom with hot water and spacious beds with good matrasses. In front of each room there is a small terrace with a bench.

The lodge has a nice swimming pool with beds and parasols, with a bar alongside, next to the restaurant. There is also a pool table (for free).

The quality of the (Khmer) food in the restaurant is outstanding.
Breakfast is included and offers you toast, pancakes, jam, eggs (boiled and scrambled), fruit, coffee, tea, baguettes, milk and juices.

All in all a great place to be!

  • Liked — The friendly, familylike atmosphere
  • Disliked — The very slow internet connection
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pluizig98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Friend of mine and I stayed in Lotus Lodge for 3 nights from December 4th. We were amazed how nice and polite are all the employees in the lodge. They have booked a tuk tuk dirver, a guide, a car driver, even a buffet dinner with Khmer dance for us. It is like an all inclusive resort. You pay everything on the end, including your expenses at the restaurant. The rooms are basic but very clean. We had a deluxe room and we paid 35US$ per night. Room had a fridge as advertised. I had stomach problem and when Lilly heard about it, she immediately gave me some Chinese medicine, and special soup first (without charging for it) and my stomach was OK after 30 minutes after taking pills she gave me!
Every member of the stuff was so nice too. I travel lot, but haven't had this kind of the welcome treatment anywhere in the world like I had in the Lotus Lodge!

  • Liked — Friendly stuff and everything was very clean
  • Disliked — Short bumpy road
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MirkaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2008

With the slowdown in world travel you have more options than ever when selecting lodging. But if you are going to Cambodia and Angkor Wat is in your plans the Lotus Lodge is hard to beat. For $20 a night ($25 with aircon) you get not only a great room with sat TV and a fridge, free bikes (the best way to see the ruins), a pool (great after the bikes), free pick up from the bus, and shuttle service to the old market, you get Andre and Lily, the owners. They will do everything possible to make your time in Cambodia unforgettable.

You can book at more expensive places but you will be wasting your money. This is the real deal.

  • Liked — Price, service, location
  • Disliked — Nothing was wrong
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John61Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 356 in Siem Reap
494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#187 of 356 in Siem Reap
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#137 of 356 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#144 of 356 in Siem Reap
573 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#69 of 356 in Siem Reap
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing