We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness and Tranquillity”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #207 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at Lotus Lodge for three nights recently and found it lived up to the glowing reports of other reviewers. The kindness and interest of the staff in the guests who come from a wide range of countries was outstanding. My son and I were feeling poorly at the end of our trip throughout the region and were cooked special broths and helped with medicine. The Lodge is not in the noisy centre but is ten minutes outside with a free shuttle in and out of town in the evening. Rooms were large and comfortable and we had a fridge and TV. The pool was new and well looked after and the eating area nearby was great for having a drink or snack around the pool. Security was great and it was quiet and peaceful at night. It was a real Khmer experience - no plastic high rise hotels in sight, and all this for an incredibly cheap price!
The Lodge welcomed families and there was a wide range of age groups and nationalities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SydneyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 390 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days in a nice bungalow and we liked the green and quiet surroundings, the nice food and the pool. The owner and his friendly wife are very enthusiastic about the Cambodia and can give you lots of tips of what places to go.

You can use bicycle for free, so it is no problem that the lodge is a little bit outside the city center.

Apart from running the lodge they are involved in running an orphanage located in Phnom Penh (www.colt-cambodia.org).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Lotus Lodge is a place with hotel quality for a low price. It's location is an oasis of tranquility, a 10 minutes drive away from the crowded city center. Striking is the kindness of the staff and their intrest in their guests.

The 36 (non-smoking) rooms are situated in 3 parallel tropical lanes of 12 rooms and are equiped with all the necessities: AC, fridge, bathroom with hot water and spacious beds with good matrasses. In front of each room there is a small terrace with a bench.

The lodge has a nice swimming pool with beds and parasols, with a bar alongside, next to the restaurant. There is also a pool table (for free).

The quality of the (Khmer) food in the restaurant is outstanding.
Breakfast is included and offers you toast, pancakes, jam, eggs (boiled and scrambled), fruit, coffee, tea, baguettes, milk and juices.

All in all a great place to be!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pluizig98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Friend of mine and I stayed in Lotus Lodge for 3 nights from December 4th. We were amazed how nice and polite are all the employees in the lodge. They have booked a tuk tuk dirver, a guide, a car driver, even a buffet dinner with Khmer dance for us. It is like an all inclusive resort. You pay everything on the end, including your expenses at the restaurant. The rooms are basic but very clean. We had a deluxe room and we paid 35US$ per night. Room had a fridge as advertised. I had stomach problem and when Lilly heard about it, she immediately gave me some Chinese medicine, and special soup first (without charging for it) and my stomach was OK after 30 minutes after taking pills she gave me!
Every member of the stuff was so nice too. I travel lot, but haven't had this kind of the welcome treatment anywhere in the world like I had in the Lotus Lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MirkaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

With the slowdown in world travel you have more options than ever when selecting lodging. But if you are going to Cambodia and Angkor Wat is in your plans the Lotus Lodge is hard to beat. For $20 a night ($25 with aircon) you get not only a great room with sat TV and a fridge, free bikes (the best way to see the ruins), a pool (great after the bikes), free pick up from the bus, and shuttle service to the old market, you get Andre and Lily, the owners. They will do everything possible to make your time in Cambodia unforgettable.

You can book at more expensive places but you will be wasting your money. This is the real deal.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank John61Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Very quiet location outside of Siem Reap. Free bicycles at your disposal. In the beginning, it seems far away, but it is an amazing relaxed place. You always can look up the crowds …
Comfortable bungalows set in a nice garden, great swimming pool, library and bar. The restaurant serves delicious Cambodian food and Western snacks.
The Dutch owner and his Cambodian wife make your holiday as an unforgettable experience; together with their superb staff. Excellent tourist and tour information

Stayed: November 2008
Thank GlobetrotterMechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

I just read a 1 star review of the Lotus Lodge and I cannot disagree more with the reviewer. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Lotus Lodge and were overwhelmed by how genuinely nice the staff was. When they found out that we were from the Philippines they trotted out the few Filipino phrases they new, obviously to try to put us at ease. Conversation was hardly a problem though, as almost all the staff spoke conversational english.

The staff (including Andre, who welcomed us as soon as we entered the lodge) were also very helpful with planning out the details of our trip, and unlike other places we've gone (indeed, even within the Philippines), we felt absolutely no pressure to book an expensive tour. All the options were laid out for us and we just had to pick and choose what we liked. Even before we arrived, through emails we were able to arrange for a pickup at the airport with no hassles whatsoever. I suppose it's possible that we could have gotten cheaper tuk-tuk rides and stuff, but the efficiency and comfort of having the hotel set everything up for us was greatly appreciated, and their tuk-tuk drivers were very friendly as well. The staff always went the extra mile, such as when they found out that our flight was early in the morning. They said that since we wouldn't be able to have the buffet breakfast, they'd pack some for us, without us even having to request it!

They have a very nice little pool and sunbathing area as well, with some faux ruins to highlight the "angkor" mood. It's a shame we'd forgotten to bring bathing suits and didn't have much time in siem reap, as the pool looked very clean and inviting.

The rooms were as we saw them in the hotel website. Unfortunately we forgot to take pictures so you'll have to take our word that they were clean and the bathrooms were pretty large too. With an enlarged area that my girlfriend loved because it let her arrange her clothes and toiletries just the way she wanted it.

There are a few things keeping me from giving them 5 stars, one of which is the incredibly bumpy road leading to the lodge. While this is hardly their fault, it does still detract from the lodge somewhat. Mr.Sophea, our Tuk-tuk driver to angkor wat, joked that we were getting a free massage. While the humor wasn't lost on us, we certainly could have done without the road. There was a bit of a leak in the bathroom and I had a few minutes figuring out how to work the shower heater, but otherwise it was smooth sailing. I wasn't too keen on their pillows either, but really I'm just a fussy sleeper, and in the end I got enough sleep anyway.

I highly recommend the Lotus Lodge for families, couples looking for a romantic getaway, and maybe older people as well. If my parents ever think of going to Siem Reap I would definitely recommend the Lotus lodge to them, especially since for $35 you get free buffet breakfasts and a free trip to the night market (for deluxe rooms I believe).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ryansumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#151 of 361 in Siem Reap
502 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#187 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#88 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#140 of 361 in Siem Reap
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angkor Heritage Boutique Hotel
Angkor Heritage Boutique Hotel
#153 of 361 in Siem Reap
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $19 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing