We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with great customer care,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #189 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place with great customer care,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lotus lodge is a Beautiful place with great customer care, and more so nearer to most the ancient and interesting touristic sites in Cambodia. we advice any one if you ever have a family or business trip to this great country, try consider this lodge, you wont regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semujju T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The good --> beautiful pool, lovely gardens, free bikes, 2 free bottles of water in the room each day, free and reliable airport pick up.
The not so good --> man at front reception couldn't speak English, couldn't answer any queries and couldn't give directions. Location is down an unlit road, far from the city centre and main temples. Although not in a typically unsafe area, the location made me feel uneasy alone there after dark. The safe in the room didn't work (even after staff came to try to fix it). The sheets were clean but old and stained. The breakfast was very average considering the price tag, bread with jam or cereal with warm milk. One morning I arrived a little later than normal and there was hardly anything left. The atmosphere was lacking, not a place to stay by yourself or if you're keen to socialise or meet new people.
For $25/night you could do much better in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had an amazing time at the lotus lodge in Cambodia! The grounds were immaculately kept and the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. I would definitely return again! We travelled their at chinese new year and it was definitely a trip we will never forget!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh996144907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am a HUGE princess, so when my boyfriend told me he wanted to go to Cambodia after visiting Thailand I thought he was joking. We went in January and were picked up by a Tuk Tuk at the airport and it brought us to the hotel. I was relieved - the staff were very nice, the rooms were clean and the pool was SO refreshing. The bar was great too - just what we needed after a day of travel. We saw some beautiful sights and I just loved the people I met! Looking back I'm happy we picked the Lotus Lodge - if I'm ever in Cambodia again I will be staying at the Lotus Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalieCollingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautiful place, very friendly staff which was very accommodating and friendly, I felt very welcomed when I arrived and throughout the whole trip. The hotel was clean and the rooms were great, it was a nice to place to stay after a long day visiting all the temples. The gardens and decor were absolutely gorgeous and something people need to experience. The buffet food was also surprisingly great and had a solid menu! Overall experience was excellent and I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glossop
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I deceided to choose this hotel due to the reviews prior to booking and more so the fact they had a pool.

We arrived in Siem Reap and were greeted by a tuk tuk which was arranged by the hotel which I thought wow good service for the money we had paid so thought start as we mean to go on!!! As we were travelling to the hotel and eventually went down a dirt track I thought oh my god where are we going it was in the middle of nowehere.

We arrived at reception and greeted by the reception staff (name not known) he was friendly but seemed to have too many things to do and not able to do them

We were given a room and it was 40 degrees when we arrived the room was stiffling hot and the air con wasnt working just a fan in the room not acceptable so we asked them to put the air con on which they did. The room was basic but clean and no coffee making facilities or hairdryer. I checked the bathroom out and the shower area was filthy. The shower didnt look like it had had a clean in months. The toilet roll was emptyand it smelt musty in the bathroom. The curtains in the room just about closed and after a long and hot journey just wanted to cry. Not what I was expecting.

We had planned to stay three nights but decided two was going to be enough as felt that the service was poor and this was before we sat round the pool. The pool area could be lovely but the showers are dirty, the towels appeared to be reused without washing and the chlorine in the water was over powerful and to top it all constant noise from next door who were obviously doing building work so when you want a relaxing time round the pool forget it.

We had planned to get a tuk tuk to Angkor Wat for the sunrise for 0530 and when we got to reception it hadnt even been done. The night staff hadnt read anything in his book to organise even down to two breakfasts to take with us only getting one and when we opened it butter and jam for bread and nothing to spread it with!! You are better off sorting your own tuk tuk driver at the doorrather than relying on the night staff. We eventually got the night receptionist to sort the tuk tuk and got to Angkor Wat which was amazing tuk tuk cost $7

The only part of the hotel that the service was good was the bar and the food and that was only as we were too tired to venture out on our first night after a long journeywe ate in the hotel

Siem Reap town with all the markets is a great area to go for food and shopping and we got a tuk tuk there for $4

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueschoey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Lotus Lodge for 3 nights in November 2012. We were very excited to stay here but unfortunately, the hotel did not live up to our expectations.

There was someone to pick us up at the airport on-time when we arrived in Siem Reap which was very nice. We got to the hotel early in the morning and to our surprise our rooms were just about ready and we were happy to be able to get our luggage in our rooms before our tour left that day. During the three days we spent at the Lotus Lodge we were usually up very early to leave and explore the temples and would return mid-afternoon. It was really nice to have the wonderful pool there to cool off and relax when we returned and we were usually the only people in it. The waitstaff at the bar was usually quite slow, but at least the beer was cold (and cheap!) and the people were very friendly. The rooms were adequate, our friends had a few cockroaches in their room, but it's Cambodia so it wasn't that much of a surprise. Our shower floor was decorated with stones which visually was very pretty but hurt your feet (which are already sore from exploring all day) while you showered which was a bit odd. They will turn off the ac during the day which isn't a big deal but unless you request it, they will also turn off your fridge so make sure you don't have anything in there. So overall the hotel was fine. Nothing amazing, (except for the pool) but good enough for the price.

The bad part was when we ate at the restaurant the first night. We were tired and very hungry by the time we got there (around 6). Waitstaff was very slow with drinks and ordering our food even though we were one of only 2 tables, but we were in beautiful Cambodia so we shrugged that off. Plus watching the geckos around the pool-side restaurant was very entertaining. We finally got our food after over an hour (our friends got there meal well before my husband and I were served our meals). So luckily for them, they were finished eating when our meals were brought out. We ordered the volcano special or something like that, it was supposed to be Khmer bbq, sounds good! We we were surprised when a big plate of raw meat came out and even more (unpleasantly) surprised when a small hotplate came out to cook our food on. When it was turned on, cockroaches came running out of it and we all jumped up from the table as they ran everywhere, all over the food. Our waitress didn't seem concerned at all as we were jumping around trying to avoid the mass of roaches crawling everywhere and began killing them with her shoe. The waitress took the hotplate away and you could hear them in the kitchen banging on it, to presumably remove the rest of the bugs. And then to our surprise she brought it back out. Well since my appetite was long gone, I explained to her that we did not want that and would pay for our drinks but we weren't going to pay for that meal (even though it was cheap, but still...roaches!). She seemed very concerned and confused that we would do that and said she would get her boss. Michael was very nice and explained to us that although they are constantly cleaning and treating for cockroaches, it's nearly impossible to keep them away being that it's Cambodia and the weather is perfect for them. He did not charge us for the meal and apologized again. We completely understand the situation and appreciated not having to pay for the meal we did not consume. However, since this hotel is not very close to town and we were exhausted from our very early flight that morning and did not want to have to leave, we still needed to eat. 2 hours later (it's now after 9pm), we finally got some food (french fries and a grilled cheese!). The waitstaff unfortunately didn't make any effort to make up for the fact that our first attempt at a meal was completely ruined by roaches. We even saw them cart out that same hotplate to another customer about an hour after the ordeal. Needless to say, we did not eat at the restaurant during the rest of our stay. We did ask for a breakfast one morning to-go since we were leaving very early to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat. We were given containers that had sat under the counter all night which included a piece of bread, a hard boiled egg, dried out deli ham, and a cheese of piece in plastic. It was gross and instead of attempting to eat it, we ate at one of the nearby restaurants after sunrise. We actually gave our food to some local kids and (fed some of it to the monkeys too which they LOVED).

Another disappointing thing that we experienced at Lotus Lodge was the massages that they offer. Three of us order "4-hands massages". We thought for $2 more, why not!? Well, only enough girls showed up for 2 of us, so we went to my room and we got massages in our beds which was more than awkward. The girls laughed and chatted the entire time in Khmer while my friend and I just prayed that the whole thing would be over soon. They also kept sneaking back into the bathroom (there is a curtain separating that area) and it was where I had stored all of our luggage, so it was very disconcerting the entire time because I couldn't see what they were doing or why they kept going back there. Needless to say, It was the farthest thing from relaxing. I know that the massage services are outsourced so it's not necessarily something that Lotus Lodge should be docked for, but it was still the service they endorsed so I thought it would be a little more professional.

Overall, the pool and the cheap beer made up for a lot of the hotel and restaurants pitfalls. If I were back in Siem Reap, I probably would not stay here for the reasons listed above and due to the fact that it is not very close to town (our tuk-tuk drivers never knew where to go to take us back).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekanabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#129 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#122 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#80 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Samatika Villa Boutique
Samatika Villa Boutique
#219 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#148 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Siem Reap Riverside
Siem Reap Riverside
#163 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing