We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool was the best part!”
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Lodge
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pool was the best part!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After an extremely hot day of travelling, I jumped in the pool and it was so refreshing in the hot humid climate. I would not stay in Siem Reap with out air conditioning or a closeby pool. Thankfully lotus lodge had both. The room was a fair size and the ac was strong. Wifi was good everywhere and nice speed. Good place overall.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Saddie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    101
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
47
156
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights mid February. Despite what the taxi driver from the airport said about it being SO far from town it isn't far at all - about 10 minutes by tuk tuk. We really enjoyed having somewhere to stay that was quiet and out of town, but from where we could easily get to the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap. As other reviewers have said the hotel provide free tuk tuk during the day and there are always drivers at the front if you want to go into town in the evening (they come and pick you up too). We really appreciated the peaceful and relaxing environment when we got back to the hotel. Our room was spacious, with a very comfy bed. We had aircon, but only used the fan. The bathroom was a bit small, but perfectly functional. The pool and bar area are lovely. Yes, there could be a few more sun loungers, but it was so good to be able to have a swim after 8 hours of temples!
Breakfast is basic, but it is plenty given how much the hotel rates.
The staff around the hotel are really friendly and helpful. They arranged all our trips at very favourable prices. They even packed us a breakfast on the day we went to Angkor Wat for sunrise. We had a lovely tuk tuk driver - Lai - who drove us everywhere during our stay. We'd certainly stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights. We were collected from the airport.
At the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly staff and a much welcomed refreshing drink - nice touch!
The room was very spacious, modern, clean, with a/c; a changing area and modern bathroom with great shower.
The hotel has a swimming pool and a bar/restaurant area.... food was very good, both western as well as Khmer. The fruit shakes were delicious too and at happy hour 4-6pm they''re included.
They also have a pool table and darts board etc so really nice atmosphere; suitable for families, couples and singles -everyone seems made to feel very welcome.
Location (although 1.6miles from the centre, it meant it was quieter and away from the dust filled town centre). It's the right side of Siem Reap, so you're actually closer to both Angkor Wat and the Rolos group. The hotel provide free tuk Tuks to the town centre 9-3, they also can arrange tours and transport to the temples etc. We hired their tuk tuk driver Mr sophy who was very cheery and pleasant (despite getting up to drive us to the temples at 5.30am on sun morning!)
The hotel also have bikes you can hire; we did that one day to do "grand tour"temple route.
Being quite fit people, we were able to run from the hotel go the green square in the town, with no problem.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there (could easily have stayed longer!). Thankyou to all the staff who really make the atmosphere so pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights, initially only booked in for 2!
Great resort 10 mins from night market. Good sized rooms, we only had fan room which was fine, situated down pretty little pathways. Lovely pool, maybe could do with few more sunloungers.
Friendly, helpful staff. Basic but sufficient breakfast. Very good food menu!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just want to start off by saying this was the experience we needed. I have been to Siem Reap three times in the past and have always been caught up in the tourist trap of down town and pub street. Lotus Lodge is actually situated out of the downtown core away from all the bars, massage parlors ext, which at first seemed like a minus but after staying here I was reminded what I came to Cambodia for, to get away from all that.
Because of where the hotel was we found out about a local fair called 60 road which was something else. There where zero tourists there and we really had an amazing time being with Cambodians away from the hustle of pub street.
There are free tuk tuks to town during the day which was nice. We enjoyed the rides as it gave us a chance to watch the city go about its business. All tours where arranged at the front desk including our taxi to the boarder once our stay was up.
The pool area is by far the best aspect of this hotel. It is a little haven away from everything. There where lots of different places to lounge depending on your mood and the Angkor Wat head really added to the Cambodian feel. It was a no hassle place of our own to relax away from the chaos of the city.
The rooms where nice and the air conditioning worked great, what more can you ask for. I loved how the walkways to the rooms where outside and lined with palm trees and other exotic plants. Again it really added to the feeling that we were far away.
The food was okay with the chicken amok being the best. As far as drinks go, their fresh lime juice did wonders on a hot day. It was great to come back to the hotel after a tour and have everything there, so we didn't need to go out in search of a place when we were tired.

One thing I wish they advertised better was their massage service to your room. we only found out about this on our last full day there and we loved it. We had a couple massage in our room which was amazing, and then after we went for drinks by the pool.
If your looking for a quiet place that is off the beaten path but accessible this is it. I feel like I have cheated myself in the past by staying downtown by the bars and not seeing what the rest of the city has to over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If your looking for a place to chill and relax then you will probably enjoy it here. Its away from the busy town of Siem Reap but not too far away. And they offer free tuk tuk trips to the city. The pool is very nice and relaxing area. We had a superior room type and it was sufficient with a/c, hot water, tea and coffee, and bottles of water each day. The price is quite reasonable and the value is good. We enjoyed our visit and would come back again if we returned to Siem Reap again on travels. The managers Veronica and Mitch were welcoming to us and helped answer our many many questsions we asked them! We would recommend you ask for rooms in the 100's section of the hotel as the rooms are apparently newer condition there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Oh, don't be fooled by the pretty picture of the pool area on the website! This little lodge is lovely, in theory, but we were enticed by the picture and the price and other amenities. But they're nowhere near a top rating, despite the TripAdvisor certificate they display on the reception counter.

The problem, from my wife and my perspective, is the maintenance. Management is either not making enough money at the current rate to maintain the property or they're making money but just choosing to not put it into the upkeep of the facility. A small staff is one thing, but the showers at the pool had not been cleaned recently, the toilets in the restaurant area were unclean and had no toilet seats, many tiles from the pool were loose, the air conditioning didn't work in our room, and there was mold in our bathroom.

The staff is lovely, attentive, kind, responsive, and probably too small. For example, the same women who helped bring towels to our room (forgotten by housekeeping) also was doing some gardening in the front circle and occasionally posted to the front desk.

Breakfast is badly presented--two fruits, toast, and oatmeal and juice--with some unfresh crepes if you're lucky. This place might be worth it for $5/night more if breakfast were better, but they have a long way to go before we will return.

Room Tip: Make sure your air-conditioning works and your bathroom is to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 356 in Siem Reap
494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#187 of 356 in Siem Reap
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#135 of 356 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#143 of 356 in Siem Reap
573 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#69 of 356 in Siem Reap
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Property: Lotus Lodge
Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! THE LOTUS LODGE IS OWNED BY JAVIER SAINT PIERRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing