We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amatao Tropical Residence
Ranked #84 of 284 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great retreat”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a wonderful spot; secluded, peaceful and charming. The service is incredibly attentive, and Naomi goes out of her way to make sure that your stay is everything you want it to be. Stéphane, although at work during the day, finds time in the evening to relax and engage with you over some fine cognacs, which he knows rather a lot about!

I organised a three day weekend with 7 adults and 3 children to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. We were greeted with a chilled bottle of Moet en Chandon, and this set the tone for the rest of the stay. We ate that night at Nest (amazing - will write a review on that shortly!), the next morning Naomi arranged for a van to take us to Angkor Wat, and after a late lunch in town, we came back to the resort to relax before dinner.

The birthday dinner was organised and catered by Naomi's team, and included two traditional Khmer musicians to serenade us through the early courses. Rain notwithstanding, it was an excellent meal, elegant surroundings, and a beautiful musical backdrop. The cognacs and digestives that were ingested after the meal were generously provided free of charge, and Naomi and her husband Stéphane (she from Japan, he from France) sat with us longgggggg into the evening as we talked and laughed and enjoyed the company of close friends and family in such tranquil surrounds, happy, full and increasingly inebriated!

The following day was a trifle slow, but we all made the most of it, with more tours of surrounding temple complexes.

A slightly sour note was struck on the final night when the tuktuk drivers arranged by AMATAO decided to take us to where they wanted to take us for dinner, rather than where we wanted to go - a pity that one of the three nights there was spoilt in this way - but when we finally arrived back at the resort, tired hungry and cranky, Naomi organised for the kitchen to cook up some food, and the distaste of the experience was put to the side.

So, in summary, the vibe was great, the food was great (have to organise in advance), the service was great, the kids loved it, we loved it, there was a rather charming and sweet farewell ceremony for us, and I can't say enough good things about it.

Ideally book out the whole resort (only 4 rooms) and relax with a small group of close friends. Put price considerations to the side - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiceoflives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We still remember for the most wonderful period which we served all of you with chatting & drinking & etc. except for the unfortunate raining. We do hope that your life is going much better & happier, though we have found that all of you are most happier & having fun together all during your stay with us! :) Let us know if you come to Siem Reap, we are most pleased to chat with the new cognac & new fusion dinner or etc depending on your demands! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent three perfect days at Amatao. Service is unique and they take care of every single need. Friendy, amazing food, great rooms, wifi, great staff, took care of our tour needs and also spent time finding out what we wanted to do before we arrived. one of the best places I have ever stayed anywhere. expensive but worth it. Naomi and Steffan the owners are great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoSigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We still sometimes listen your exceptional musics through youtube site & all the period with us reminds us clearly! Thank you very much for your precious time with us even though you are very busy for your business. We do hope to welcome you back, next time with all your family (your lovely kids together)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My family and I spent four very special nights in December 2011. The owners Naomi and Stephen went out of their way in making sure our stay was a pleasant and memorable one. A home away from home in many respects. For example, Amatao does not accommodate many guests at a time (in our stay we were the only ones), but even more so in the genuinely kind service we received from everyone. A feature which speaks volumes and one that is often lacking in other high end resorts. Although many mornings we would be out before 5 to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat or to participate in a running event, we would come back feeling as if we were coming back to own private oasis. Our dinners would take place in different locations within the gardens which were beautifully lit with pleasant music and delicious food. I couldn't think of a more appropriate way to conclude our day. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB1272011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Sincerely would like to say "Thank you very much for you to have given the greatest moment to serve all your family, until now even after about 2years all our AMATAO family remembers clearly for the period which you stayed with us! Hopefully all of your family also still keep your oasis period with us as one of your wonderful memories. We do wish for welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Amatao is owned by a very charming couple, she is Japanese and he is French. There are only 3 residences on a 3000sqm piece of land and the owners like to allow one booking at a time to pay full attention to their guests. The experience at Amatao is far from the traditional hotels where you spend a lot of time signing bills... You really feel at home or at least you wish it was yours. The staff comes from the village nearby, despite the language issue they are like Cambodia, very touching. Highly recommended for those who prefer to feel at home in the country side rather than feel in the hotels & resorts type.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BangkokMikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are the person who would like to sincerely say "Thank you very much for your most ideal comments & advices for our further luxury & unique components of our property!" Over 2years already passed, some parts have been changed & also further constructions going on for forever AMATAO. If you have a chance to visit Siem Reap, we are most pleased to welcome you back anytime, this is your 2nd peaceful tropical home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My wife, our then four-year-old son and I spent four nights at Amatao in January 2011.

If you enjoy staying at places off the beaten path, but still want a high level of comfort, then Amatao will fit you perfectly. Amatao is located in a village outside of Siem Reap -- far enough away if you like seclusion yet a short tuk-tuk ride away if you want to go into town. With no more than two or three sets of guests there at the time -- and frequently with your family being the only guests there -- staying at the Amatao is like staying in your own personal villa. Inside, you will find a beautiful garden, comfortable surroundings and warm friendly service. You will find delicious breakfasts (which are included with your stay) and dinners (which we paid extra to have). You also will find your two wonderful hosts -- Naomi and Stefan -- who go the extra mile to make sure you (and especially your kids) are having a memorable stay. We appreciated their subtle attention to detail, including, for example, the purple balloons on our son's chair after he had mentioned that purple was his favorite color in casual conversaton.

The place is not perfect. The hot water takes a long time to get warm, the internet connection is slow (if you need to work while traveling), and you will find other minor blemishes if you want to nitpick. Amatao is also expensive compared to other places in Cambodia -- though no more so than any high-end hotel there. None of those imperfections, however, overshadow the uniqueness of Amatao. We had a wonderful stay, we would highly recommend Amatao to other travelers, especially those with young children, and we would stay there again on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenjuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMATAO-Naomi, Owner at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your precious review and comment. For hotwatter & wireless, now we have new systems. So please do not worry, anytime we are most welcoming all your family. Hopely next time your kids could have time to enjoy for swimming. You were the first guest for our new suite, Botanical Lodge Suite. In fact we have a plan for another lovely suite in the end of this year. You would love to be the first guest again for this lovely room? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaams-Brabant
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We really loved our stay in Amatao and cherish some unforgettable moments. After our two weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia, spending also 4 days at the beach side in a lovely resort, our 4 children concluded that they had the best time in Amatao! Even whilst spending 1,5 out of 2 days visiting temples :-)

The children loved the exclusiveness of the pool, allowing us to use it until late night, and they also loved the wonderful garden with all its different rooms and enclosed places.But what they adored even more was that every morning, Naomi came to get them and offered chocolate milk while they draw pictures. They even did simple origami and Lotus flower folding.

As for us adults, every detail had been arranged for us (driver, guide, transportation, dining out, ...), which made our life really easy during our stay. Great! We were also very happy with our wonderful suite. We used the explorer room for the children, which was more than sufficient, but knowing how the suite looks like, I advice everyone to take the latter.

We also adored the meals and the willingness to adapt to every of our whims: as Naomi saw that we were really interested in Khmer food, we even got 2 times real Khmer breakfast! And it tasted really good.

But what was really touching is the super personal service you get from both Naomi and her staff - they will do the utmost to make you have a perfect stay and to make you feel home away from home. The way we were hosted our last dinner next to the fountain, with 2 musicians and a table apart for my husband and myself, funny hats for the kids and all ... really took my breath away.

We can absolutely recommend this place as a full worthy alternative to all 4 and 5 star hotels in Siem Reap as Amatao offers the same advantages, but in a private and personalised setting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMATAO-Naomi, Owner at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely comment and let us have the great opportunity to use our international body language to communicate with your sweet kids. We really had the enjoyable moment to play with them in themorning before the breakfast. Let us send the biggest kiss to them! :) Next time, let's stay more nights to enjoy all our facilities for your total relaxation and refreshment! See you again when??? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had four soothing days in the Amatao in March 2011.
The lovingly developed garden is an oasis to return to after an exhausting day exploring the temples. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated.
Entering this oasis, you are part of an extended family.
Naomi and Stefan make you the centre of attention, and provided Instant access to local knowledge which saved us heaps of time in working out where to go and what to do.
The kids are doted on, loved the pool and the cats, and Mum and Dad were actually able to relax.
Great food, great attention to local ingredients, great wine, Cognac and cigars!
Thoroughly recommended.
Peter

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterqazwsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely stay. We surely never forget all your family, especially for your kid's lovely painitings & unbelievable clever questions to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Phum Baitang
Phum Baitang
#23 of 356 in Siem Reap
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#39 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,211 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,087 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,628 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 356 in Siem Reap
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatao Tropical Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatao Tropical Residence

Property: Amatao Tropical Residence
Address: Svay Prey Village, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 284 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amatao Tropical Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Private Holidays Villa with full facilities, not only Swimming Pool/ Spa/ Tea House/ BBQ Terrace/ Pergola/ Tropical Garden, but also Wine Cellar/ Restaurant/ Bar. On the other hand in this splendid landscape there are only 4rooms with each different unique designed & individually located for each guest's total privacy/ comfort/ relaxation. Book for our full property to get full benefits with your own private usages for all these facilities, and make your holidays exceptional & unforgettable experience! Our experienced chef wait for you to be your own personal chef as well! Let's plan for your anniversary party or wedding party or surprising flash mob for your treasured person! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amatao Tropical Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing