We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! All backpackers should stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! All backpackers should stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I was told about this place before I came to siem reap as people in Phnom Penh were staying here, I thought I would check it out for one night... So I emailed them to check availability, and the receptionists emailed back in 10 minutes to confirm my room was ready, and to say she had reserved...! I came off the bus from Phnom Penh, and a tuk tuk driver had my name written on a piece of paper and was ready to take me to the hostel! Didn't have to mess around after an 8hour journey! When we arrived at the hostel.... There was no charge for the tuk tuk??? Free pick up!!! The receptionist took my bag to my room and showed me around! I was so shocked!!

My dorm was so big, with 6 beds, air con and a fan! My bed was unusually comfortable, and the first night I met some amazing people in my room!

I arrived at about 6pm , and was a bit hot, so I went down stairs ordered myself a 50cent beer and jumped in the pool!

Food was amazing, and good value! With western and local foods!

They have tuk tuk drivers at the hostel so you know you won't get ripped off when you book one up! Very nice and calm!

It's about 5 minute walk from pub street and was perfect for the nights we went out and had to walk home at 4am!

2 guys who manage the place were so friendly and always around to give advice! And pretty much planned my trip for me to go to Battambang... So greatful!
Oh and it's always nice to go into your room when it's been cleaned.... Especially if there are men staying there!!'


All in all.... Amazing place, was meant to stay here for 1 night, 1 week an 3 days on and I'm still here!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbyskilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Libby, It was a pleasure having you here. Thanks for the kind words, particularly about our tuk tuk drivers & staff. They all strive to make sure you really do have the best experience possible here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    190
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
107
483
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wow, this hostel is good, everyone is friendly and English fluency. The location is great, just 5m walk to famous Pub Street and if you are afraid going at night, there are always Tuk Tuk (supported by the hostel itself) waiting for you. The hostel also arranged tour, bus and Tuk Tuk drivers for me (free pick up when i arrived to Siem Reap). An ambient bar next to the pool has two long tables where you can sit chatting, sharing your stories with other travellers. The negative side is about the dorm room. High bunk bed and very close to the fan (so dangerous if u get drunk and climb up). The upper bunk bed also lack electricity socket so i have to charge my phone at other bed. Overall, this is a good place to stay when u backpacking to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesiemreaphostel, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your input. We had a look at the fan situation and agree that some of the bed ladders are too close. We are moving the beds around to correct this during our current spring cleaning efforts, though I may add no-one has ever had such an accident here.
Next time you visit, expect the rooms to be 100% as well as the same friendly vibe and good times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

comfortable private rooms with well working air conditioning. clean but not sparkling bathroom. the staff is extremely helpful and kind, although the food at the bar is a tad overpriced, but everything is in siem reap. nice pool and very cosy bar. loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrigitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Before i say anything about the rooms let me tell u I got robbed here. It was totally my fault in that I was staying in a dorm and forgot to lock the locker... so, I can't even blame the hostel, it might have been another guest...

However, it must be added that regardless of having forgotten the padlock the hostel itself is not very secure. The dorm doors don't lock automatically behind u and more often than not someone forgets to lock the door, allowing anybody to just walk in and do as they please...

That having been said, I must add the hostel has a good staff, the people working at the restauran were all very friendly. and the front desk was helpful too. Can't say much about the people cleaning because I don't think I ever saw them!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesiemreaphostel, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We at the hostel really value your input, as your good times are our business. We aim to provide a cut above the usual grind of backpacking in the region. It's immensely satisfying when guests enjoy their stay. Alternatively, its disappointing when we are not seen to be providing the experience a guest is looking for. As for the security issues mentioned in your review, We think it's only fair to mention that we provided you with a locker which you chose not to use. it's also worth mentioning that the hostel has reception staff on duty 24 hours a day to stop people just walking in off the street, closed circuit television monitoring & rules that inhibit outsiders from being in guest's rooms & dorms. This is for the safety of all our guests. It's unfortunate that you lost property whilst here, but we feel its not a fair a comment to say that " anybody" could " just walk in and do as they please".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jining, Shandong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I totally recommend the Siem Reap Hostel. For the reasons being: friendly and helpful staff, people in the reception are always very very keen to give you any information you need; awesome private room, I don't know how the dorms are so I can't speak on their behalf. I stayed 5 nights in a private room and I have nothing to complain about. Comfortable big room, with fan and air cond. TV, clean sheets every day, and a balcony. The common area is excellent! Good music and food. Price: U$15 a night with breakfast included. In addition, they have the best tuktuk driver in town: Phara So! This man is amazing! Happily he will take you around Angkor Wat and even further if you wish. I must say that Phara So provided me an unforgettable experience in Cambodia due to his friendliness and recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iury_Paz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was staying in a 6 bed dorm for 4 nights and found the staff to be courteous, but the dorm to not be of the standards I expected from the reviews and feedback I've had from other travellers. The "security box" is not very safe and the rooms smelled of humidity (not considering the bathrooms that were worse). It is clean, although not the cleanest and I expected this hostel to be better than this. It's not far away from the central market where you find most of the restaurants and places to buy some souvenirs.

Room Tip: Avoid the dorm, maybe the rooms are better....I could not tell, but better to take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joachim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driess_and_Gus, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here, Joachim, if you come back through some day, please come and check out the current condition of the Hostel. I think you'll be impressed.

Since this review was posted, all our dorms have been repainted and brought back to the highest standard.
Extraction fans have been repaired where necessary and drains cleaned, so no more humidity.
Security lockers have been reinforced and general security around the Hostel upgraded.

Cheers

Gus and Driess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff is very eager to help. Downstairs is very cool. Good music, food, and people. 30 m bike ride from Angkor. 10 m walk from pub st. I would stay again. The sheets were not the cleanest, nor was the shower. But definitely not the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atellegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#2 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#80 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#76 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#4 of 249 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#9 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Hostel
Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing