We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a safe , clean , comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a safe , clean , comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed 1 day in a private room , then 10 days in the female dorm. As I was working as a volunteer , michelle , the manager, mentioned the volunteer rate , wich is 4 dollars / night .
Very cheap for that kind of hostel.
the pool is clean and indoor, so don t get sunburn , and actually quite chilled perfect for the hot season in Cambodia.
I enjoyed also the staff , very friendly . One day my friend had to take the bus to bangkok, but the bus didn t showed up . so one of the staff called the company and fixed an other pick up somewhere else . He asked his mate to bring my friend to the pick up behind his motocycle. I have to mention that it was 2 am in the morning . Very helpful

don t forget to have a 50 cents draft beer during the happy hour , it is always nice to get tipsy at the bar with the others residents hehehe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    190
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
108
483
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Had my first email ignored when trying to organise my pick Up so chased again a few days later. Got a quick response then and in fairness the driver was a gent, waited for me even though bus late.
Checked into dorm but sheets were dirty. Asked for them to be changed which wasn't a problem to them. They didn't seem surprised that the sheets were dirty or apologise. Then went to bar and ordered noodles. Got served noodles that definetly came out of a plastic carton- couldn't believe it!

Tried to order a bike next morning and staff were not very helpful. Suggested I go down the road and get one for 2 dollars a few doors down on the left even tjough the hostel has bikes! Did this and then notice a shop further down on the right renting bikes for 1 dollar!
Bar has no atmosphere and the water in the pool is so dirty you can't see through it.
Breakfast is extra. Does look good though.

Have stayed in a lot of hostels I'm Asia and cleanliness wise this is the worst. Wouldn't stay again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish2012121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesiemreaphostel, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Sometimes in dorm rooms, other people in the dorm may crash out on the wrong bed after cleaning, which is what has happened in this case. Of course the staff were quick to rectify the situation as it is unusual.
- The pool is cleaned every day by professional pool cleaners - the best in Siem Reap. When salt is added to the pool it can be become cloudy, this is part of keeping it hygenic.
- You should have tried the breakfast, all you can eat for $2, definitely the best value in town. And yes, we sell instant noodles from the restaurant as a cheaper alternative to our authentic Khmer food and hamburgers etc, as sometimes guests don't want to spend the money.
- When the Hostel bikes are booked by other guests (as was the case in this eg) we refer guests to ride the White Bicycles, which do cost $2 which goes to a charity to buy bicycles for Cambodians in need.
As this reviewer points out, the staff will always help when there is a problem.
Thanks for staying at the Hostel, hope you're having a fun adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

clean dorm rooms, nice little bar with good food (and will provide beer pong cups!), a well-kept pool (very uncommon for hostels, and so welcomed with the siem reap heat!), and extremely professional and polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anto_sydswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I pass by here on the way home from work and stop by for a beer or two. Happy Hour kicks off at 6pm, great cocktails and free popcorn! They have an indoor pool which is good for the really hot days here. Haven't been upstairs to the rooms, but the downstairs bar/restaurant are great! Nice staff too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place could charge more than the $6 per night they do and it would still be well worth the money. The 6 bed dorms are cleaned regularly, the sheets changed on a much more frequent basis than I would ever dream of doing back home. The swimming pool is phenomenal after a day out in the Cambodian heat and happy hour from 6-9 around the bar, serving cheap beers and $1.25 (good) cocktails is perfect. Combine this with Cambodian travelers being the best I've come across, especially in Siem Reap and my stay was amazing.
Cannot say one bad thing, cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielPryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was probably the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. Aircon in the dorms was great, outlets and lockers in the room, clean, quiet, lots of spaces to hang out, they make your bed every day (this was a bit odd actually), bar has cheap beer, good food but a bit pricey, computers you can use for free, and best of all - SWIMMING POOL! I went swimming a couple of times a day while I was there, so nice and refreshing. $6/night for a dorm (low season price) doesn't include breakfast like my guidebook said, but you can have breakfast for $2.

The staff were really nice, but not the most helpful. When I tried to ask about some sights nearby they didn't know much about them, and when I wanted to rent a bicycle I couldn't because they couldn't find the keys. I also had to change rooms after my first night and then my key didn't work. But despite all that I would stay there again - aircon, swimming pool and meeting lots of people made up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor - all those stairs get tiring, and when they say Floor 3 it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I loved this place. It has a great pool, nice rooms, it's clean, great facilities. I met some awesome people here.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabellaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#80 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Hostel
Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing