We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Good value Hostel”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hostel was well-located in Siem Reap. We were met from the airport by the Hostel's tuk tuk driver. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The private rooms were clean and quite large with a balcony and with welcome A/C. Each bed had a 'safe' beneath, so worth taking 2 padlocks to secure them (although the hostel did sell them). Free internet access and a lovely pool. The road outside is busy, but this just added to the general ambience of the city and I never tired of watching the bustle below. Buffet breakfast is included in the price of the private rooms and consists of fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juice, tea or coffee and pancakes. For a litlle extra you can have any combination of cooked breakfasts. Really enjoyable and would recommend this hostel. We were 2 mature couples. We were the oldest there, but didn't feel too out of place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    197
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
35
117
503
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We arrived from Phnom Penh by Mekong Express, and arranged a free tuktuk pickup from the bus stop. The roads around the hostel were flooded, but we got in fine.

Location is pretty good; not that far from the old market. If not for the flooding, we would be renting bicycles or just walking into town. Tuktuk rides into town was $1, and during heavy rain at night it will be $1.50 to $2.

Breakfast is included, and they have a selection of cereals, pancakes, fruits and hot drinks. The bar at night is quite decently priced too.

Only drawback was that there was no wi-fi connection in our room. We had to go outside the room to get in range.

Room Tip: If wiFi is a must in the room, check with the counter to ensure your room has a strong signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonGTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesiemreaphostel, Manager at The Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thanks for your review! We have routers on every floor of the hostel and all rooms should have access, we have contacted this guest to establish where they were having trouble with the connection and will rectify this problem immediately. We have a super-fast internet fibre-optic connection and wi-fi availability and speed is a priority for The Siem Reap Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great experience staying at Siem Riep Hostel. First of all, location was good - only a 5 to 10 min walk to main city area (believed it's called pub street?) with restaurants/pubs/cafes. The rooms were pleasant, spacious and better than I expected of a hostel. My only gripes about the room were that the furniture were a bit old, air con could not be adjusted (except to switch on/off) and the floor was a bit sandy. But given that this was a hostel, I would still rate the rooms well above satisfactory. Service from staff were almost always impeccable, and they spoke pretty good english. Even the Tuk Tuk drivers were great companions to have during our travels. There's a nice chill-out area at the lobby beside the pool, so if you are tired from all the travelling, you could just spend a lazy afternoon or evening there. The happy hour prices at the in-house bar was a great perk too.

Room Tip: Bring sandals or flip flops (since the room is a bit sandy) and you will find flip flops really hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for nearly a month as was volunteering in a nearby village. They give discounts when you are volunteering. Staff are so friendly, spent a lot of time chatting with them. Facilities are amazing, a pool for that price is great, and food is really really good. Clean big rooms, strong aircon, separate shower, big lockers, cleaned everyday, I loved my stay here. only two problems are ba computers, but wifi is strong, and lack of communication between stff if you are changing a booking or have some request. Great stay! Great location! :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmoconno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

i stayed in this hostel for two nights with 3 friends and we loved it! we had a private room between the 4 of us which had two single beds and one double but this wasnt a problem. on arrival the staff were extremely helpful and spoke good english. the food was good however we had to wait a while for breakfast on the first day as there was a power cut which is quite common. the swimming pool is great and there is computers available for use free and also wifi. we booked ourbus tickets thru the hotel which saved us money on a tuk tuk to the bus station and they were very helpful when the bus didnt turn up on time,calling to find out where it was. the location was great, only a 5/10 minutes walk to pub street and other bars and restaurants as well as the night market which is a must see! overall a great stay and would go here again if i am ever in siem reap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganroberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Spacious double/triple rooms, clean, friendly staff, nice swimming pool inside, breakfast just fine for the few box it cost you, good laundry service next doors,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place feels like a haven away from the obligatory hassle and grit that are part of Cambodia's charm. Cheap drinks, nice pool, good food, great place to meet people before you head out on the short stroll to pub street. Had a little too much fun and left some belongings behind when we left and the owners got them to me safely in Australia for free! I was reccommended this place by a friend and will pass the word on!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#19 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 356 in Siem Reap
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 278 in Siem Reap
2,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 278 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Hostel
Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing