We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanei Boutique Villa
Ranked #137 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The area and the hotel is nice, but the rooms are a bit dark. We were not too impressed by the food in the restaurant, but the staff is friendly and helpful. Pool area was nice and clean, but way too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    235
    57
    26
    18
See reviews for
110
170
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I spent 4 days in tanei and I would say that I had enjoyable time there, had time to rest and relax, the swimming pool is good but a little bit small, but the staff they were all friendly and helpful, for the money that I paid it was worth it, good location as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I spend 3 weeks in tanei, my room was so big with ac fridge and tv and a balcony perfect for the night.
Swimming pool is a little bit small and if it's full not enought hammocks for everyone.
Staff friendly and helpfull.
The bad point for the breakfast not so good and the same everyday...
The good point 5 minuts walking to pub street, old market and riverside.
The food correct but you can eat outside for better and cheaper.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylaMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff is really helpful and friendly 24 hours a day.
The atmosphere in this hotel is really nice and peaceful. The outdoorpool is perfect to relax after an exhausting temple visiting day.
The restaurant in this hotel offers cool drink whole day long and breakfest, lunch, dinner as well as Snacks.
Every morning you get two drinking water bottles for free.
Breakfest buffet with nice variety is included. When visiting Angkor Wat for sunrise you get breakfest for take away too.
Helpful to find transportation possibilities to any place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinaerhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuco, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was ok. The swimmingpool also good but there were no enought space outside, no chairs or anything. The towels were really old and nasty.
The breakfast was ok.
The room was good, but smell sometimes.
We find a big spider (the size of my hand) in the courtain next to the bed... Really scary!
The staff really nice but they dont speak too much english so it was a little bit hard sometimes to ask for something...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Fernanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Other than a not so great wifi connection, this guesthouse was fantastic- especially for it's price. There is a small but sufficient pool down stairs, it's a short walk from pub street and the Buffet breakfast was great- just make sure you get in earlier rather than later. Our rooms were cool and quiet and the staff were very accommodating

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikisixtraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've not stayed in Cambodia / or a budget guest house before so had very little to compare it to. First impressions, very kitch and homely. Was impressed with the free airport pick up and drop off, free coffee in reception, wifi, stand alone computers and the place was gorgeously decorated. Big wooden stairs, black and white tiled floors, great pool area ( compact but incredibly handy) lovely little walkway up to the hotel ( they were building it as we were there).

We got our room 204 but it was weirdly situated and had no windows!! i tell a lie it had a window but it looked out onto a corridor - so we had to keep the curtains shut to stop people looking in. So i gathered this is what you got with budget, it had a fridge tv air con shower and hot water ( we had no problems with that) but after two days it did my head in not having a window because we had no idea if it was dark or raining ( which it was!) so we asked to be moved. Thankfully we got offered the vip suite on the top floor for an extra $10 for 2 nights which was fine by me. The vip suite was lovely! lots of space, windows and a brand new tiled bathroom and bath. So i really cant complain!
Its in a great location, a little bit out of the way of all the noise but only a 2 minute walk back to the night market and pub street.
Staff were really friendly and helpful - we also get free bike hire so we took advantage of that and cycled around siem reap on the first day.
Breakfast was simple tried to cater for most nationalities, fruit, tea, coffee, toast , omelettes , rice etc.
The lunch and snacks were top notch, had the spring rolls and stir fried chicken and ginger - very good value for money, and the happy hour was a bonus as it lasted from 12 - 10pm!
The pool area got really busy in the afternoons after everybody was back from their temples tours!
Atmosphere was really chill and i would go back there tomorrow.

Room Tip: Maybe not 204 if you like natural sunlight and windows! the 4 vip rooms look out over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank works4thejollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tanei Resort & Spa
Tanei Resort & Spa
#99 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#106 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#130 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanei Boutique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanei Boutique Villa

Property: Tanei Boutique Villa
Address: 017 Steung Thmey Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia (Formerly Tanei Guesthouse)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#70 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#79 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#98 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tanei Boutique Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanei Boutique Villa is ideally located at a good location a quiet road a few minutes walk from the fantastic cafes/restaurants & bars of Siem Reap City Centre. Free buffet breakfast and pickup from the airport. Bus and boat station. Nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Phsa Chas( Old Market) market is just a few minutes walk from Tanei Boutique Villa, 10 minutes from International Airport and close to down town, which a great place to go shopping, A easy 15 minutes to a magnificent Angkor Temple in the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanei Boutique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanei Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing