We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for cheap luxery....”
Review of Golden Mango Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Mango Inn
Ranked #13 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are looking for cheap luxery....”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We found this place via Trip Advisor and you can often tell the good ones as they have many good reviews. Lets face it most of the time people only go on the internet to complain, that said I tend to do neither. Even if I have a good experience or a bad one I generally can't be bothered, however, I am waiting for my bus to leave the Golden Mango and in truth I think I would have written a review about this place even if I was at home.

When you first enter the place they sit you down with a drink, take your bags and talk you through your stay. How far town is, how far the temples are, where you can get a Tuk Tuk from etc. The young lad that sat us down was so softly spoken and polite and you think 'nice lad' then you realize that everyone is like that. Most Cambodians are genuine, polite and humble people and all the people that worked at this hotel were no different.

So to the stuff that you want to know:

How was the room: Clean with air conditioning. It is not overly glamourous but do remember we are talking two star!

Is it close to centre: there are hotels closer but this is close to the Temples (40 minutes on a bicycle is you fancy it) but they offer a FREE Tuk Tuk to town anyway!

Swimming pool: Very Clean and warm (even in the rain) with a nice fountain and almost infinite pool feel.

The Food: Cheap (3-4 dollars a meal) and of a very good standard, Cambodian and Western if you please.

What else: we had massages, they did our washing, they booked our bus tickets, they organised bikes for the temples (free) and Tuk Tuk's for town. There was literally no issue that was too big, the hotel is clean and beautiful throughout set within border of leafy palm trees.

We paid $18 a night, which is not overly cheap but for what you get it certainly is!

Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieljameshill_dh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    227
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
330
162
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Golden Mango Inn is really the only place I'd stay when I go to Siem Reap again. The rooms were great; clean, spacious, closets, AC, etc. The pool looked awesome, but I got a nasty sunburn and wasn't able to take advantage of that particular amenity. The food there was alright, but I prefer street food and Siem Reap has some great markets and restaurants to get a more local flavor. The staff there were really welcoming and helpful. Among the great staff there was one amazing standout, our tuk tuk driver, Siv (pronounced See-u). Siv was the reason we stayed at the Golden Mango twice while in the country. He is amazing- informative, friendly, funny, always smiling, always in a great mood. He would even help us out when we had to go into stores where english wasn't spoken and help translate for us, and put in a good word so we wouldn't get gouged on price. Siv was an invaluable guide to Siem Reap. Anyway, back to the hotel. My wife and I booked a couple massage through the front desk. If you aren't used to Khmer-style massage, then be forewarned, its not an entirely relaxing experience. Afterwards its relaxing and you feel good, but while its happening its a very physical and involved process. Golden Mango is a great hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The value is off the charts. The real gem of this place though is the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boone406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great option for Siem reap. Only a 5 min tuk tuk ride to the town centre which is provided free by the hotel! 5* service for a small hotel (reception gave a very warm welcome and comprehensive introduction to the hotel). The staff were all really really nice, whatever time of day you spoke to them and couldn't do enough for you. Would highly recommend. Very clean and exceptional value for money and a friendlier welcome you could not ever want. i wouldn't hesitate to book this if you are coming to siem reap. Pool too!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigworldtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Large room with a large pool. For sure, one of the best deals in Siem Reap. Great atmosphere and very good prices at the restaurant. Free wifi. Free tuktuk to go to downtown. Breakfast included. AC in the room worked perfectly and without noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afort88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff was very helpful and trustful (our wallet forgotten and kept a full night at the counter!). The room was very clean.
Different options possible for breakfast.
Not in downtown but they give you free ride to there.
The guide they booked for us was awful but not sure they can do something about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Mango recently during our trip through Cambodia and it was a great experience.

First off, the hotel location is, well, crap. It is down a back alley off the main road through Siem Reap, but they do a great job to make you forget this with the garden, pool and beauty of the guesthouse. The service was great and they are always willing to help, I left my blackberry charger in phnom penh and they were more than happy to charge my phone for me at the front desk. They also held our passports for us as the room did not have a safe.

The breakfast that was included was surprisingly good. We had expected toast and fruit but instead they gave us a menu with five options (pancake, eggs and sausage, fried rice, etc.), each that filled you up for the morning quite well.

It is about a 10 minute tuk tuk ride into the downtown area of Siem Reap and they have tuk tuk drivers that will take you there for free and pick you up later to take you back ($2 for the ride back). The only issue with this is that you have to come up with a definitive time when you will be ready to go back and sometimes it is nice to just wander and not have a specific schedule that you have to stick to.

The staff also helped us with our travel plans to Siem Reap from Phnom Penh and recommended we take Giant Ibis bus, this was a phenomenal recommendation. The bus was brand new and featured great air conditioning, a snack and terrible movies the whole way for $13.

So we also asked them for help in booking our way onto Poipet on route to Bangkok (we were going to take the train from Aranyapriphet) and unfortunately their recommendation was terrible. I'm not sure if there are any good buses that go to poipet but save yourself the hassle and just find a minibus. It will be quicker and much more comfortable than the 1980s bus we were stuffed onto, whose air conditioning was not working remotely well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am currently staying at Golden Mango, as soon as I walked in the door to check in i was greeted with smiles and a great attitude, the rooms are spacious and very clean, they are made up every day. The food is great, the only thing i can fault is that the restaurant is outside, and i was eaten alive by mosquito. in the rooms the air con stays on with out need of you key card, its great you don't have to come home to a hot room after a long day.
The bed is a little un-comfy and a little noisy but you get use to it.

The pool is a good size and great for the afternoon swim.

Can not fault this place after staying here for 4 days and don't expect any different for the rest of the 8 night stay i have ahead of me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaitlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.1 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#36 of 344 in Siem Reap
469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 344 in Siem Reap
4,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 344 in Siem Reap
3,545 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#6 of 489 in Siem Reap
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Mango Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Mango Inn

Property: Golden Mango Inn
Address: 0658, Route #6, Chongkaosou Village, Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Mango Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 24 exclusive private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Mango Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Mango Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing