We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpfull for customers and children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sala Bai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sala Bai Hotel
Ranked #131 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpfull for customers and children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I spend 4 perfect days. Service and room were great. Restaurant is not expensive and amazing. And i help sala bai school in the same time so what could be better? Thanks for mao who helped me so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieuthaikoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
compiegne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

All is perfect !

PRICE, Smile of the staff and student. Room is really clean.

I am strongly recommanded you this hotel and restaurant !!!!

Different menus (continental or asian)

The suit is really nice if you want to have a treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristof1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Sala Baï is more than just a charming and affordable guest house: it really is a great experience. An amazing staff, friendly, always smiling, with a true desire to learn and to do well.
Keeping in mind that a night at Sala Baï is a real opportunity to support an amazing cause.

Also, try the amazing lime juice !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceA_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

All profits are used by the NGO to train young undepriviledged Cambodian. So sleeping there is a good deed. But NOT only! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean and cosy. It is very good value for money. Buy the cooking book! a great souvenir to bring back from Cambodia!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteB_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband I dined at Sala Bai today for the first time. It is a lovely restaurant, gorgeous staff and great food and drinks. Definitely try their signature Lime Drink. Presents well and tastes great, very refreshing for a hot day in Siem Reap. We ordered the Asian Set Menu. Absolutely so much food we are bursting, delicious, well presented and it is so wonderful to be a part of seeing young people given the opportunity to rise up out of poverty. This is the best component for me eating here. The food is a 10/10. The service is excellent and well done to the volunteers who are training the next Generation

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sala Baï is actually a hotel & Restaurant School, founded in 2002 by the French NGO Agir pour le Cambodge. It is exclusively meant for young Cambodians coming from underprivileged families. Students get vocational training in 4 or 5 fields of hospitality.

Staying at the guest house for 4 days allowed us to watch first hand how the school is run and gave us the opportunity to meet the staff, both locally and from France.

Friends & we were given 2 small air-conditioned rooms which were serviced and kept meticulously clean. The staff there is wonderful. We enjoyed our stay at Sala Baï because what we had exceeded our expectations and because it made us feel that our support would go towards a great cause. If I go back to Siem Reap, I shall make this affordable guest house / school home again.

Service and menu at the restaurant downstairs for breakfast & lunch were excellent. We found the location superb as access to the city centre was a short walk away..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Ombeline, Public Relations Manager at Sala Bai Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comment Jill ! I am so happy that you liked the project and enjoyed the experience here.
It was a pleasure to have you 3 at the school, and to see you enthousiasm and smiles early morning ! I hope you had a safe trip back home, and that we will have a chance to see you again at the school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a simple house converted in a hotel school for training the students.
The 2 or 3 rooms are large and clean ,very simple furniture in cane ,old fashion TV ..
No B/F over the WE and expect to pay extra for B/F in the week.
When we arrived, though our confirmation was confirmed by the french girl incharge of Communication....there was no record of the reservation.....good for the communication skills!
One Cambodian teacher came to receive us and was very helpful afterwards.
For a cheaper price, we got a much better price for a lovely room with beautiful bathroom,bed and linen with attention to details and swimming pool in the heart of Siam Rep.(Apsara centropole hotel). Excellent B/F

Room Tip: look for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Ombeline, Responsable relations publiques at Sala Bai Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Madam,
I am very sorry, but you never confirmed your booking and said you would "drop by to see if we had a comfortable double room" in your last email (in French, "nous passerons voir si vous avez une chambre double...confortable). Indeed, you can find hotels with swimming pool in the city for the same price. You seem to have forgotten that you came to a training school for underprivileged young Cambodians, luxury is not the point, but helping is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#140 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#91 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#134 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Advaya Residence
Advaya Residence
#62 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Bai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Bai Hotel

Property: Sala Bai Hotel
Address: Wat Svay - Tonle Sap Road | Close to Wat Svay Primary School, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sala Baï School was created by the French NGO Agir Pour le Cambodge. This Hotel & Restaurant School opened its doors in 2002 and trains each year - totally free of charge - more than 100 young Cambodians from underprivileged families.This year again, 108 new students have got the chance to practice in real conditions every week days at the Restaurant and 7 days a week at the Hotel.They are highly motivated, dynamic and eager of learning.Come to meet them and support as a guest our program! The training hotel has six guest rooms availaible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sala Bai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing