We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in good location”
Review of Viroth's Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viroth's Villa
Ranked #7 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Viroth's is a small hotel about an 8 minute walk from the centre of Siem Reap old town. Staff are very helpful and keen to assist. Rooms are a good size, modern and clean and very good value. WE had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 529 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We couldnt have been happier with our stay at Viroth's. The staf fwere amazing, the rooms were immaculate and modern and the grounds were gorgeous. The location is perfect, walking distance from all the attractions but far enough away to feel secluded. The pool was lovely to come back to after a hot day at the temples. It was excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here closer to town for 3D/2N recently. It's low season, so I was the only guest the entire time. The place feels like a modern house, with a small courtyard pool (not good for laps, but nice to splash in), a quaint bar upstairs, and a dining area. Free breakfast was good, simple and adequate. Not as extensive a free breakfast spread as at the Pavilion D'Orient, but good enough, and nice croissants. They had a readily available tuk tuk driver, Mr. Ra, who was reliable and made getting to the ruins and out in the evening very easy. Would definitely go back to this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: Room #7 is very nice, good corner location and view over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Rooms were very comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful, noise level at night was very low, and the breakfast on the roof was delicious and relaxing (with a fantastic soundtrack to start the day). The pool area is a little awkward because it is right next to the front desk but it got the job done. The hotel management really got all the small things right, I kept saying to myself "I should remember this detail in case I ever want to open a hotel". I think overall this is a great choice for the traveler that wants to spend their day exploring and their afternoons/evenings relaxing in a top notch atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesserodyssey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed our visit to Viroth's. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor + Mr and Mrs Smith reviews, photos of the property and location. It's on a side street across the canal from 'old town' but easily accessible by foot or tuk tuk ($1 from town)
It started via email with Saay, who confirmed our bookings and arranged our airport pickup. We went for Room 3, which is great if you like to walk out the door and straight into the pool....not so great if you require complete privacy (go for Room 7); we booked a package with transfers, drinks, dinner, massage...about $100 per night (great value)
The room is sparkling clean, bright and open....like others have mentioned, the lack of a fridge is a downside but one worked out with room service ice.
We arranged English speaking guides, drivers, dinner reservations with Saay...all went off without a problem. We went for a car and driver to see the temples which was a bit anti-green but so nice given the heat. Breakfast was served up on the roof terrace...go for the noodle soup which is bright, fresh and gives you the energy for temple exploration (you can get eggs anywhere)...Overall, service was excellent, location was choice and the overall value was tremendous...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneybywayofNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Fantastic Hotel with excellent helpful service/staff and funky minimalist rooms. Giving us a picnic breakfast was particularly appreciated for the day when we left early.
The nearby Viroth's restaurant was probably my favourite restaurant in SE Asia.

Hotel Negatives:
- No fridge in room (so no way of keeping water cold)
- No speakers/mp3/ipod dock in room
- Very faint smell of sewerage outside, eg around pool

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerXYZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is so much more than a B&B (and I think the title is actually wrong). Viroth's is a small boutique hotel very centrally located to the hussle and bustle of siem reap town and obviously well situated to visit Angkor Wat. There are only seven rooms in the hotel so you are treated as very special from the moment you arrive. Our concierge, saay, was so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, whether it was booking drivers, guides or restaurants or just giving advise on what to do and where to go. There is a lovely pool to take a dip in and there is a roof bar and cafe where you can have breakfast each morning and a drink in the evening. The hotel is not luxury - but it is very clean, very well appointed and extremely relaxing and pleasant. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only addition I would recommend for them would be to put a mini bar in each room as we kept having to ask for ice buckets to keep our drinks cold - but that was never a problem. Overall this was exceptional value and a much better experience that staying in a large impersonal resort-style hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which opens onto a private-ish courtyard next to the swimming pool which was really lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 365 in Siem Reap
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#13 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#5 of 365 in Siem Reap
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viroth's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viroth's Villa

Address: #14, Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $117 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viroth's Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Friends and Patrons, We wish to inform you that Viroth’s Villa will be closed for renovation from 1st April, 2017 until further notice. We appreciate your patronage in the past and look forward to serving you in our renovated Villa in the not too distant future. With best wishes for 2017, the Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Viroth's Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing