We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Excellant location”
Review of Viroth's Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viroth's Villa
Ranked #6 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

i stayed for 3 nights at Viroth's with my husband whilst visiting Siem Reap. The location is excellant for walking around the town and as its down a side street is very quiet. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Only criticism is that the mattress was pretty hard so not the most comfortable bed. The swiming pool area although small is very relaxing and we also enjoyed sunset cocktails at the roof top bar. a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 529 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed at Viroth's for four nights with my husband and daughter while visiting the nearby temple ruins. The rooms were somewhat simple, but they were clean and comfortable. We appreciated being within easy walking distance of the restaurants and markets but just far enough away to be out of the center of the tourist frenzy. The roof top patio and breakfast area is lovely and peaceful, and breakfast was tasty though a bit limited. Though it was not a priority for us when choosing a hotel, we REALLY enjoyed the pool. Even in January, Siem Reap is sweltering. One word of warning, the shower is clearly visible from the bedroom, so if you need more privacy, this might not be the best choice for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltadenaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Point form is the best for me to express my view...
* Rooms clean but very basic.
* No Fridge
* No Tea Coffee Facilities
* No chairs in room (expect for one seater bench
* One mini / tiny bar of soap / even smaller tube of toothpaste that didn't last the day
* No bathrobe
* No bath
* No Slippers
* No razor available / even a disposable
* No welcome drinks or welcome at all.
* Inability to arrange ANY transportation except using their own drivers at 50% more than usual. All transportation even airport pick up at inflated price (like 100% cost of arranging it yourself)
* The need to order breakfast the night before (as they have no kitchen on site and have to ship your order in the next day from their restaurant 150metres away).. Expect to be asked to give a time that you are prepared to be ready for breakfast so they can arrange it to be packed and shipped it.

Main points.

Be very very very skeptical of ANY place that has great photos on their website, AND;

* Makes it a mandatory 50% up front payment on booking. That may be acceptable elsewhere but in Siem Reap it is not the exception... IT IS UNIQUE!
* Has a policy that has no refund of said deposit i cancelled with 1/2 month of due date.
* Is an establishment that is managed without the owner(s) being on site (from what I can see)... Arrogance of staff was offensive!

Try elsewhere people... Look at the photos taken by others rather than relying on what their website shows.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristopherJB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent four nights at Viroth's. It was perfection. The staff was attentive, the rooms (and beds and pillows!) immaculate, the pool spotless, the showers hot, the drinks cool! The drivers they have for day trips to the temples and sights were wonderful. We even went back for help we could not get at another hotel when we returned to Siem Reap a week later (Viroth's was full). The place is small (seven rooms) so feels like your own big house (albeit with a spa and bar on the roof - good things). Maybe NOT a place for young kids though. While a modern place, it if far from scrubbed clean of Khmer culture - it feels lush, tropical, refined, and authentic. Their restaurant around the corner is pretty good too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TvdBout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A beautiful hotel on a quiet street in Siem Reap (about a 5-10 minute walk from Old Market area). The rooms are gorgeous and very clean, as is the lobby area and top floor/breakfast area. Staff are friendly and helpful.

If you get up early to explore the temples before sunrise, they'll pack a breakfast for you to take.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huanggang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Small, friendly, quiet, clean and near the center. What do you want more? The rooms are big, the beds are comfortable. When arriving, you feel welcome. Next time I'll go back to this wonderfull place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

An amazing hotel where the staff couldn't be more friendly. The location is nice and quiet, but still only a 5 minute walk from town, which is perfect for a good night of food and drinking, but a good night sleep after
Would love to return here and will suggest you go too!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#5 of 361 in Siem Reap
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#7 of 361 in Siem Reap
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viroth's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viroth's Villa

Address: #14, Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $109 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viroth's Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Friends and Patrons, We wish to inform you that Viroth’s Villa will be closed for renovation from 1st April, 2017 until further notice. We appreciate your patronage in the past and look forward to serving you in our renovated Villa in the not too distant future. With best wishes for 2017, the Management ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing