We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family in Siem Reap Jan 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #140 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family in Siem Reap Jan 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children (ages 4 to 13) and stayed 5 nights. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room we had - it was essentially two bedrooms accommodating us all quite comfortably. The rooms were simple, but clean and nicely decorated. The only issue with the room was that shower water flowed at somewhat of a trickle, but this was nothing to put us off the stay.

Location was in a quite side street which is a definite plus. You could walk into town, but a 5 minute tuk tuk ride at USD 2 was easier and a bit of fun. Tuk tuks were readily available at the front of the hotel.

Pool was good for cooling off after a day out exploring.

Artwork was interesting on all the hall way, lobby and restaurant / bar walls. A highlight of each day was walking up to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast. (Elevator didn't work - no problem for us, but if you can't climb a few flights of stairs it may be a concern). Breakfast food was good and the rooftop situation pleasant. We tried dinner there - it was good, but there are more options in town with prices a bit better.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, without being excessive. This added to the overall relaxed mood which we found very much to our liking. It took us three days to work out the correct time there! Very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    217
    58
    21
    5
See reviews for
62
145
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel during our recent stay in Siem Reap. This hotel was suggested to us by Hanuman Tourism Agency since the Hanumanalaya hotel was booked. Overall the hotel is fine. We were in Cambodia for the sights and not for a resort experience. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were fine, the beds were adequate and the room had good AC and also a safe. The staff was very friendly. The rooftop restaurant had a good ambiance (except for Salsa music which seemed out of place) and I enjoyed their free breakfast. Even as vegetarians they had enough food for us. On one day when we had to leave before their breakfast opened, the ladies setting up the tables let us take some of the food for a picnic brunch. My only problem was that the elevator was not working. This seems to be a frequent complaint of this hotel. My father-in-law really struggled with the climb everyday and since the breakfast was on the 6th floor, staying in a lower floor did not seem to help. Also, the manager (French???) did not really seem to care - he said the company that was to fix it is based in Bangkok and was not prompt in coming and he shrugged. I think if the elevator is out, then the hotel should offer a discount for those nights. Other than that, the hotel is in a good location.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but there is a laundromat around the corner that will do laundry for about $1.50 a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgarimellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Hotel is very clean..big spaces for my family and we enjoy the environment around..very convenient to shop around...nice people working there..good service..and the price is not too deal too..Everyti

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family a I stayed for 5 nights, The rooms were spacious and clean , the roof terrace nice for sunset drinks and the service ok. We did encounter a few problems..the hot water is dangerous - sometimes scalding when in the shower , not a good thing if you have younger children. The lift is not working and being on the 6th floor was a bit of a climb - i saw some guests struggling with this workout . The plug in our shower was stuck on arrival and took some effort by staff to get out - we were unable to use the bath for the remainder of our stay. We lost power three times during our stay and were told by staff that maybe we did not have the key in power outlet properly - this was not the case. The pool area is not inviting and very small, only has sitting area for 4 people and is not very inviting anyway. To top things off on departure the staff could not understand that i used a signature on my credit card and not a PIN resulting in being charged twice on my card. I am still trying to sort this out as the hotel has said they only charged once - my credit card details tell a different story!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ddelane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The rooms are ok, they have all the ameneties which you expect with a simple 3 star hotel. They call themselves boutique, which they are not. The roofterrace is nice (drinks are overpriced, only during Happy Hours they are ok). The buffet breakfast is too simple, its served on the roofterrace. Very small swimming pool area. They should fix the elevator (during my stay of 4 nights it broke down one time). Staff is friendly but not really professional. I didn't have to pay for the overnights by myself because it was included in a 3 weeks trip (so can not judge price/quality comparison).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's not the first time I go to Cambodia, especially in Angkor.
I've been really disappointed by the level of this "boutique hotel" compared to the price we paid in a wonderful hotel 4* during my previous stay in 2010 (with my "ex-girlfriend")
The hotel is not so bad, clean and spacious rooms and staff very friendly but overall is very basic and you can get much, much better if you take your time to check all the comments and prices on internet.
I think this kind of hotel is dedicate to groups or families but if you are looking for something more "local" or romantic, choose another one.
It's also very noisy in the morning but usually it's because everybody want to go early to the temples.
If you stay only few days for a romantic place it's not the hotel you need.

Hasta la Vista!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gonzalo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay D, General Manager at Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Clients,

First of all, we are very sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us.

The 3 stars rating mentioned in tripadvisor had never been given by our hotel. Despite the fact that we have already informed them, no action has been taken yet by tripadvisor. We are not a 4 or 5 stars hotel. Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel is a boutique-hotel of 42 guest's rooms and therefore a star rating is not really adapted for our property. As small hotel, we have the possibility to offer a personalized service and make you feel at home. We can do almost everything...except controlling the weather:-). Also do not hesitate to ask us some question while making a booking to avoid any disappointment.

We do remember you and I had personally greeted you during your stay here at our hotel. After having made a small meeting with my receptionists, nobody remembered that you had reported to us the noise (noisy in the morning from the restaurant) and the others problems you have encountered. We are very sorry and if we knew it from the beginning we would have been able to propose you to stay in another room as we were not fully booked at that time or even helped you to find another hotel without charging you any fee.

Most of our customer they are very enjoy our breakfast at the rooftop and panoramic view also they could taken the fresh air and sunrise as well.

At Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel we always try our best to satisfy our clients. Seeing an average or bad review make us feel unhappy. In your case it's even more unfortunate because you have stayed with us and most of the problems you have mentioned could have been solve if you had informed us immediately while you were here.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Hay Daramony

Claremont Angkor Hotel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staff were so very friendly and helpful, front desk, restaurant/bar, cleaning, all were so very helpful and polite.

The room was spacious and clean, we were on the fifth floor and while we couldn't hear any room noise from the hallway, we could hear chairs scraping along the floor at breakfast. We were not especially bothered by this, the noise woke us around the time we wanted to be up regardless, however I suspect a room that was not directly under the restaurant would be free of this issue. The bed was a little firm but after what we had been sleeping on in Thailand it was a welcome comfort. The hot water system took a little to learn, but the tub was perfect for a relax.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, very large sizes, and very prompt. They were changing the menu the day or so after we were leaving so recommending the Lok Lak is more than a little pointless, but it was devine! Breakfast had a huge variety which was almost the same each day, however as I like to take my time trying a different thing each day, the only way I noticed was because I was glad the thing I wanted to try next was back again each day.

I prefer that the hotel is a little away from the main entertainment district, even more so as we were on our honeymoon. However Claremont is a $2 tuk tuk from pub street, and only a 20min stroll along a fairly pretty river walk.

The pool was so very refreshing after a long day at the temples, and the free pool table in the air-con was a great way to unwind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspowerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#126 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#83 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.3 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 0017 Phum Wat Bo | Sala Kamreuork, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Claremont Angkor Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#98 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claremont Angkor is a charming boutique hotel located in central Siem Reap, 6 km from Angkor Wat and about 50 m from the riverfront. It features a rooftop restaurant overlooking views. Guests enjoy access to the hotel's outdoor swimming pool. Free WiFi is available in rooms and public areas. Enjoying a convenient location, Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel is only a 15-minute drive from Siem Reap International Airport and a 10-minute walk from the Night Market and Pub Street. The property offers complimentary pickup services from the airport or Borei Sieng Num bus station. The modern rooms come with cable TV channels and a safety deposit box. A minibar and tea/coffee making facilities are also provided for guests' convenience. Guests can work out at the fitness centre or request for a massage. For convenience, the hotel offers a 24-hour front desk, ticketing services and a tour desk. Hot meals are served at the rooftop restaurant & Bar, which overlooks the peaceful river views. Drinks can be enjoyed at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Claremont Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing