We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but bad location and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #168 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (2 adults+2 kids) spent 3 days in Palm Village Resort.
Overall, it is a positive experience: the rooms are clean and comfortable,
resort settings are very nice and quiet, and kids loved the swimming pool.
Never had the feeling that the resort was full,
while all bungalows were (supposed to be) all occupied.
The food is good but service is incredibly slow (>1h for a basic dish!) and tables from the dinner are cleaned the next (early) morning only. This in particular gives a bad look to the swimming pool, which is surrounded by dirty tables and empty beer bottles after 8pm. Also as many others have pointed out, avoid this place if you don't like dogs. The owner has 2 or 3 of those, who spend their time wandering under tables during meals.
Note also that the resort is half way between Siem Reap and Angkor, which in the end is no advantage, as you will have to take a tuktuk any time you want to go out (3$ 1 way to SiemReap, more to Angkor).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanValjean_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've just spent a lovely week at the Palm Village. We were 2 grandparents, 2 parents and 2 kids. All is just perfect at this resort out of the hustle of the city and very close to Angkor Wat and other temples. 2 things though: If you order food, then please order in advance (they have special order slips), for otherwise it will arrive quite late. But that's the Cambodian way, I guess and it didn't really matter too much. What was more bothersome though were the 7 (smallish) dogs which ran around on the resort. They are not too aggressive or bothersome, but at one point early in the holiday they chased our 5 year old daughter who of course got an awful fright. We used it as a learning point and after a few days our children actually had learned to stay calm and take control of the situation, so in the end it was not too bad. Yet we were not the only ones. Another day at 7 in the morning another boy was chased and woke us up yelling. So if you're not one for dogs, perhaps do reconsider. But if dogs don't bother you, then we would strongly recommend Palm Village.

Room Tip: you could ask for a room close to the pool, but basically all rooms are rather close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freka1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Some previous reviewers of this resort have moaned about the following, "muddy road to resort", "pack of wild dogs bothering guests", "uninvited guests in the pool" (frogs), "far away from town".

I think the problem is two-fold:
1) People don't do their homework (locate the hotel on a map, etc)
2) People expect five star when it's a three star (in this case, the US$55/night price tag should be a hint).

So let me just set the record straight: Palm Village Resort is a few kilometers from town, so expect muddy and bumpy roads (until you hit the main road) and a 15 minute tuk tuk ride to go to the city centre. Due to its rural location, expect to hear (roosters) and see (frogs) some animals. The dogs are a pack of five or so cute munchkins and they are nothing to fear, just a little barky.

The saltwater pool was nice and we enjoyed a swim after tempelling all morning. We had the fan-powered family hut which comprised of three beds with mosquito net. Clean and simple but just what we needed. The kids (2 and 5) got a kick out of watching tv in bed!

We enjoyed beautiful breakfasts with fresh fruit, baguette, omelette and some awesome wake-me-up coffee. The Khmer food is also good for lunch and dinner but you have to order two hours ahead.

We also tried massage ($15) and the energising one was very good.

Note the huts are huts, therefore sound on the outside is very audible on the inside. Ear plugs are strongly recommended or else you won't be on good terms with that rooster a 3am....

Palm Village Resort is very good value and just 3km from Ankor Wat and the other amazing temples. You will have a great time here as long you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyAtLargeinSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Picked us up from the airport, friendly driver. The roads are bumpy and muddy (wet season) in the village where the resort is located, however, don't expect tarmac roads all the way. It's located just a few km from Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. A tuk-tuk to town is about 10mins, USD3. We hired their bicycles for USD3 each for a day and cycled to the temples. The signage is poor, there's no lighting on the paths at night and they don't give very good directions, so finding your way around is tough. We used GPS and a good dose of luck. if in doubt, opt for a tuk-tuk guide, it's about USD 15.

We booked the bamboo room. The room itself was pretty nice, clean, with fruits in the fridge, small tv with cable, clean bathroom with hot water, two chairs outside to sit in and admire the greenery. The plugs are two-pin so bring an international plug with you. They cleaned and made the room every morning.

The highlight of this place was the FOOD. The Khmer food takes a while to prepare (40-60mins) and we were there in low season (only 2 other couples were there), but it's well worth the wait! just order in advance. Over 2 days we had Khmer noodles, Salted fish coconut milk w fresh veg, banana blossom salad, sour beef stew, amok fish. it was amazing!!! it's about USD 3.5-5 for each dish. Also, they were really accommodating when we asked them to pack our breakfast at 5am in the morning so we could cycle out to the temples to catch sunrise.

The receptionist was really nice, she helped us book our bus tickets to Phnom Penh even though it wasn't their recommended bus operator. We had seen a cheaper ticket in a local tourist booklet and asked her about it. She proceeded to call the office, get a price and book the tickets for us.

Downside - the pool has quite a number of uninvited guests. I guess baby toads are a feature of the wet season. We still took a dip and it was refreshing, just a tad bit weird. We opted for a massage on the last day and it wasn't fantastic, but still relaxing all the same.

Note - the place has 4 or 5 resident dogs, all pretty small and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nxifxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well off the main road and along a quiet country lane, mid way between the city centre and Angkor - about 5km from both - this wonderful family run hotel provides a perfect retreat from the noise and dust and hustle and bustle of Siem Reap.The tropical gardens are quiet and enchanting and full of follies and statues and the bamboo bungalows are arranged around a beautiful swimming pool which is so welcome after a day exploring Angkor. Our bungalow was clean, comfortable and well appointed and overlooked the pool and the terrace area where the excellent breakfasts are served. Staff were warm and friendly and the management is low key but efficient. The hotel will organise chuk chuks (and a car plus driver for sights further afield) at much lower prices than you'll probably end up paying if you haggle with the guys parked outside the city centre hotels; for a few extra dollars the young man we had was quite happy to wait for us till 11.30pm when we had dinner and drinks in town. And when we did eat at the hotel, the home cooked Khmer dinner was authentic and delicious, especially the Amok dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilesMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a clean hotel with excellent food we had good food every day. The garden is a delight to walk and relax. The pool a good place to start with a breakfast and swim. We found the staff always helpful. Would love to come back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trilby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff and owners are just amazing. I was sick and they really did look after me. However, the rooms are dusty, the place is miles away from civilisation, the food is so-so and also expensive. Being between nowhere, one has no choice but to eat there are venturing out means a tuk tuk of 5dollars to town and the fear on finding the place at night. There are at least half a dozen dogs left loose which don't hesitate to attack the guests if one tries to venture out of their rooms from midnight to even crack of dawn. The fans are oddly positioned surprisingly to ensure that the breeze doesn't come on the bed.

If you want to be away from the hustle of the city, superb. Rest, go for a place closer to civilisation. The good stars are only for the staff and service alone.

Room Tip: If you want a secluded place for your honeymoon, don't mind a bunch of crazy dogs, go for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#180 of 384 in Siem Reap
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#60 of 384 in Siem Reap
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
#187 of 384 in Siem Reap
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#85 of 384 in Siem Reap
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#61 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#78 of 384 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Village Resort & Spa

Address: Phum Trapaing Ses | Khum Kouk Jork, Siem Reap 234121, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#124 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $46 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Village Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a quiet district of Siem Reap town, near the famed Angkor Wat temple, Palm Village offers you a unique accommodation with great hospitality, delicious Khmer cuisine, and relaxing massage & spa. Stay in one of the 20 exquisite bungalows and Khmer bamboo houses, made from local palm wood and bamboo furniture, and surrounded by green lush tropical garden. Whether you plan to have a short break, a family outing, or just to unwind from your hectic work, come to stay at Palm Village for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palm Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Village Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Palm Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing