We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing. Loved it!”

The Happy Ranch Horse Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Happy Ranch Horse Farm is an international standard horse riding stables that offers countryside trail rides, 1-3 hours through villages, rice fields and to Buddhist temples on gorgeous Cambodian horses and ponies. An eco-friendly way to get an inside look at true Cambodian life, peacefully exploring remote areas on our healthy well trained horses. We have suitable horses for all ages and all experience levels, from first time riders to advanced. A quiet way to explore areas only accessible by horseback. Open from sunrise to sunset. We also offer horse cart rides through the local villages in Siem Reap, Angkor. Please book directly with us to avoid disappointment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing. Loved it!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I did a two hour ride with the Happy Ranch Horse Farm. I loved this activity as it was a little different than what most people would do on a holiday. It was a great activity to do on our last morning when we didn't have time or a pass to visit Angkor Wat on a fourth day. The staff was excellent. We had a lead horse and guide and another staff member walked with us beside the horses to make sure everything went smoothly. If you get a chance and want someone else to accompany you, one staff member, Dara (English name Star) was really nice and funny! The horses are well treated and loved by the staff. The ride through the countryside was beautiful and was a good opportunity to see some locals outside of the touristy center of Siem Reap (especially the cute kids who all shouted hello as we passed!). The owner greeted us afterwards. They will provide you with water, a helmet, and a fanny pack to put your things. This was one of the best activities I have done while on a holiday anywhere. Definitely recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank laura_yarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    159
    23
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vradal, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ride through the countryside”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had booked a 1 hour ride and as I neared the farm I saw this beautiful, well kept area where the animals have lots of room to move around with beautiful fields and a nice stable. My horse for the day was Aba and he gave me a wonderful time riding through the villages. My guide whose name I don't recall was very nice and he answered all my questions I might have on life in Cambodia etc. Everywhere I looked there were people smiling back at me and children waving. If (when) I'm coming back to Siem Reap I'd definitively go for another ride. The horses are well kept with tack that fits them and I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun and a great organization.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A wonderful way to spend a couple of hours in Siem Reap. The horses are well treated, and the ranch seems to offer gainful employment to many locals. My wife and I were very impressed with the whole business. We had the opportunity to meet the owner who welcomed us graciously and seemed to be working hard to build a successful business that gave back to his community. Our ride itself was very pleasant. The guides were knowledgeable and tailored the tour to the skill set of the riders. I would definitely recommend this activity to anyone spending a couple days in Siem Reap. As a tip, I'd recommend riding for no longer than 3 hours at a time (even the guides comment that longer than this is too long for them). In addition, pick a morning time to start your ride. Riding in the afternoon gets quite hot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vmiccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As my son says..."I love it"”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was one of the best parts of the trip for our family. The kids loved it the best and wanted to do it again. The horses were in great shape and well taken care of. I will suggest you time your rides with the sunset, you will love it. Initially couple of guys were walking alongside the horses of my young kids, as the kids became more confident, they let my kids control the reins. Kids were very comfortable and actually welcomed it. We rode Balau, Geranimo, Silver, and Diamond.

Overall I highly recommend it if you want to do something off the beaten track (literally)!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SriTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Had a wonderful time”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I booked a 3 hour temple ride. It was my second time at the ranch and we had a wonderful time. The horses are well cared for and the facilities are modern. The staff clearly know what they are doing and genuinely love their jobs. The horses have wonderful dispositions and are well trained. The ride is a wonderful way to view the countryside. We even wrote a blog about our day. http://lookeastlookwest.blogspot.com/2014/01/happy-ranch-siem-reap.html It was one of the most content and happy days I have had in many years.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank teblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Ranch Horse Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Happy Ranch Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing