We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timer in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden TaKeo Guesthouse
Ranked #78 of 483 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Timer in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have recently spent 2 weeks in the Siem Reap at the Golden Takeo Guest House.
My stay here was very comfortable in quite rooms only a few km from the city centre. The rooms and guest house in general are kept clean by the very friendly staff. They take pride in serving their guests and nothing is a trouble for them. Whilst there I encountered some difficulty in traveling arrangements and staff went out of their way to rectify it and also confirmed and tracked that I had safely reached my destination.
Very impressed this family run business and I will be back for sure.
Noel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    38
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
83
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Golden Takeo is fantastic - great accommodation at an affordable price, a really helpful owner and in a fantastic location close to town and tourist attractions. The upstairs balcony is a great place to relax and the food is excellent. You are welcomed and treated like a long lost relative and the rooms are spacious and clean.

Do it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My 5th visit and we will return whenever in Siem Reap. Each year it continues to improve. The rooms continue to be clean, comfortable, and maintained beautifully. Breakfasts are enjoyable. The upstairs garden balcony is a delightful place to sit and the fish spa is a great place to relax. No need to pay for it in town. Prom is very obliging and nothing is too hard for him.
Read my other reviews as this guesthouse just keeps on getting better. Will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Over the past 3 or 4 years my wife and i have stayed at the Golden Takeo owned and operated byProm and his adorable wife Mao.
I have just booked another couple of nights and i really can't wait. Prom and Mao treat you like one of the family. They are just great they are young and a lot of fun.
Great location quite yet close to town. Tuk Tuk available driven by the best Tuk Tuk driver in Cambodia TeeTee. Nothing is to hard or inconvenient for these operators.
its not the Ritz but its the best valued hotel in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We've stayed a number of times when in town and having stayed at other places around the country it does maintain a consistently high standard which I think is reflective of it being a small family place. Each person is known as an individual rather than a customer. I am biased from having stayed here regularly but I stay here regularly for a reason. It never dips in performance and I can leave some things here when travelling out of town. Menu has improved a little as well with a wider selection of breakfast too - hate omelettes at home, devour them here!

Always clean, always good fun and always home. This is a budget family run guesthouse, do not expect a bunch of roses every day. Do expect a warm friendly smile and a friend in all the staff and an impeccable (even OCD) cleaning performance! It's clinical. Stay here.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are brighter and airier, but slightly more expensive. Downstairs are certainly cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Golden Takeo was ok to us, we stayed 4 nights. However for $16 each night, we expected a little more. The rooms were just ok. Bathroom is merged with a shower and this was a bit annoying. Breakfast was pretty good. We used the driver, Aum, quite a bit and he's a friendly guy, and the prices are reasonable. Overall, it was acceptable but not sure I would stay again if I ha the chance. Felt like there are some better options for just a few more dollars. Not bad for budget... Just expected more considering all the good reviews on TA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest guest houses in south east Asia! Friendliest staff Around and perfectly clean rooms!

The owner helped us with everything during our stay, organising pick ups, tuk tuks, day trips, information on buses and even booked our onward travel for cheaper than any other place!
He even made our breakfast early 2 mornings so we got something to eat on our trips! Really nice roof terrace with free fish spa!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAnnable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Krorma Yamato Guest House
Krorma Yamato Guest House
#287 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#24 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sam So Guesthouse
Sam So Guesthouse
#74 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#34 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#12 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden TaKeo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden TaKeo Guesthouse

Property: Golden TaKeo Guesthouse
Address: #123, Wat Bo Road, Wat Bo Village | Sankat salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome to your budget Siem Reap Guest House, only 10 minutes from the Angkor Wat Temples. You can have spacious clean rooms from 7$ for a single room with attached bathroom and 8$ for double room with attached bathroom to 17$ for an air-con twin beds room with attached hot-water bathroom. See more details about the rooms of the Golden TaKeo GuestHouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden TaKeo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Takeo Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing